Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.147510
They told him his uncle died in an accident. He wasn't wearing his seatbelt, they said. But when fourteen-year-old Alex finds his uncle's windshield riddled with bullet holes, he knows it was no accident. What he doesn't know yet is that his uncle was killed while on a top-secret mission. But he is about to, and once he does, there is no turning back. Finding himself in the middle of terrorists, Alex must outsmart the people who want him dead. The government has given him the technology, but only he can provide the courage. Should he fail, every child in England will be murdered in cold blood.

The first in a thrilling new series by British writer Anthony Horowitz, Stormbreaker will have pulses racing from start to finish.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on May 5, 2015 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 1406360198
ISBN-13: 9781406360196
53 Book Reviews
  • pippin_5
    pippin_5Sunday, January 17, 2021 at 9:50 am55 stars
    Alex Rider is such a page-turner series written by Anthony Horowitz!! You’ll feel like your running along with him every step of the way!! Alex Rider is definitely a relatable character too. Ok here’s a small synopsis of the series. Alex Rider is a 14 year old ordinary English schoolboy until....his uncle dies mysteriously in a car crash. He knows somethings not as it seems.... but then he gets recruited for the MI6 (British Military Intelligence) and finds out his uncle was a spy too! And Alex, may just be there secret weapon! All of a sudden he gets thrown into MANY dangerous, extreme, crazy, daredevil mission. And failure either means-LIFE. or DEATH. I definitely recommend this series too!! It’s a perfect action packed, plot twister series for teens! There is also a new Alex Rider show on Prime Video for free too! Which is based off of the 2nd book and is TV-14+. This series is a great one to lure you into many hours of fun and reading! This series should be for 5th grade and up/11+ because it does a lot of action, violence, some blood and things younger people might not understand. Alex Rider Saving the world one mission at a time Action, adrenaline, adventure Read them now!
    • donthavecovid19
      donthavecovid19Saturday, December 19, 2020 at 8:20 am55 stars
      Alex's uncle ,Ian Rider, has just had a tragic death in a car crash, or so he thinks. Alex has to live with his housekeeper, Jack. He soon finds out that his uncle was a spy, working for a spy agency called MI6, not a bank accountant. He has to follow in his uncle's footsteps and learn the important spy techniques .He has to go on his first spy mission, will he survive this dangerous, heart skipping mission?
      • zaks
        zaksMonday, November 2, 2020 at 11:46 am
        Wow this sounds like an awesome read and I would love to read this book sometime!
        • funnymal
          funnymalSunday, November 1, 2020 at 4:19 am55 stars
          This book is good for people who like mysteries and murder. The mystery is definitely a mystery that has to be solved by you
          • zaks
            zaksMonday, November 2, 2020 at 11:47 am
            I love mysteries!!!!!
          • siennasuperstar
            siennasuperstarMonday, October 19, 2020 at 8:20 am55 stars
            We have this as a class book and so far it is amazing!!
            • manahilali
              manahilaliFriday, April 26, 2019 at 6:52 am44 stars
              I loved this book!
              • manahilali
                manahilaliFriday, April 26, 2019 at 6:48 am44 stars
                I love adventurous, mystery, and crime stories. This book had it all. i really loved it and highly recommend it. Especially to teenagers. I also recommend other books from Alex Rider series.
                • manahilali
                  manahilaliFriday, April 26, 2019 at 6:45 am44 stars
                  I love adventurous, mystery, and crime stories and this book had it all. I would highly recommend this book. especially to teenagers. I would also recommend other Alex Rider books too.
                  • UnknownSaturday, March 9, 2019 at 7:57 am
                    The book is absolutely amazing. I just started 9th book. I'd say that the series are by far the best series in the world. So action-packed. Bravo Mr.Horowitz
                    • bookstory14
                      bookstory14Monday, July 2, 2018 at 6:19 pm55 stars
                      This was a suspenseful, action-filled book. You flip the pages with your heart beating every second of it. I really liked this book because the author was funny and good at making the plot thicken at the same time. My favorite part is: "Alex opened his eyes. So he was still alive! That was a nice surprise." I laughed and put it on my quote board at school, because it CERTAINLY deserves to be there! This is a good book for kids 4-8 grades. -BKS reviews