Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3233 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pineapplecelery
    pineappleceleryWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 6:25 pm55 stars
    This is a great inspirational book. Characters have lot's of personality, situations are relatable, and the graphics are outstanding! This is a definite must-read if you want to find an amazing thing to read!
    • selo4
      selo4Wednesday, May 22, 2019 at 11:09 am55 stars
      Smile is a great book, 10/10 I recommend this book. This book is about a girl named Raina, one day while she was racing her friends. She wanted to win so she stared speeding but she tripped while running. Raina didn't know how much process this would take to get her normal teeth back. During the process, while she was in High school, she had to deal with fake friends, boys, grades, and any other stuff middle schoolers have to go through!
      • applemango
        applemangoTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 9:49 pm44 stars
        This book is kind of like a true story....one day Raina is racing home from her girl scouts meet when she trips and knocks out her front two teeth. She has to survive the dentist office and find new friends because her old friends are starting to unfriend her. This is a story about friendship, a tint of romance, and other tangles...
        • 400bella
          400bellaTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 3:24 pm55 stars
          This book is about a normal 12 years old girl. On her way hoome from a girl scout meeting she knocks out her 2 front teeth. Raina goes through bulling and she is about to turn 13. She asks her mom if she is alowed to get earrings, adn she eventually says yes! She has to get braces, then she gets her earrings. Raina then starts highschool after a normal summer. Her "friends" make fun of her a lot. By the end of the year she has new friends, that she really fits in with.
          • John D.Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at 11:26 am
            Spoiler alert Smile in my opinion is a great book. it is a true story written by Raina Telgemeier. I believe that the plot is to teach people to not make make fun of people with headgear or braces. That is a very important topic. People need to know not to make fun of people because of stuff that they need. I can relate to this book because I need braces too. I didn’t always need braces either Raina and her teeth change through the story because she get braces a root, canal, headgear, and more. she falls one night going home from girl scouts. She eventually finds how to get her parents to get her things, get away with things, and let her do stuff. She wasn't always like this at the beginning` her mom wouldn't even let her get her ears pierced. Once she got her braces she could do anything because here parents had sympathy for her. I believe the author included why she needs her braces root canal and everything else. she wants us to go through the pain with Raina. All the pain that she goes through is sad but there's happy parts to. Those parts are there so the author can show you life is difficult for people with braces but it gets better. One time someone signed her yearbook and it said have a good summer vampire face. It shows you even when your sad you can get back up. I loved this book and you will too.
            • thepenguin70
              thepenguin70Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at 10:08 am55 stars
              This book was so good! I love her style of illustrations, and the plot line is both funny, sad, and suspenseful all at once. The book is a true story about the author, which makes it even more amazing. If you like this book, check out the sequel "Sisters" or all her other books!
              • thepenguin70
                thepenguin70Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at 10:08 am55 stars
                This book deserves that award and also the author's other books. Sisters is the second book in the series and Guts is the third one. FIY. I RECOMMEND THIS.
                • fade86
                  fade86Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at 10:07 am
                  I’ve heard good things about this book and it’s one of my friends favorites for graphic novel and that’s wh6 I want to read it
                  • addglitter
                    addglitterTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 5:34 am55 stars
                    This book was so good! I love her style of illustrations, and the plot line is both funny, sad, and suspenseful all at once. The book is a true story about the author, which makes it even more amazing. If you like this book, check out the sequel "Sisters" or all her other books!
                    • inmemoryofcpr
                      inmemoryofcprMonday, May 20, 2019 at 6:10 pm55 stars
                      This book deserves that award and also the author's other books. Sisters is the second book in the series and Guts is the third one. FIY. I RECOMMEND THIS.