Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3116 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • realsassymay
    realsassymayWednesday, December 12, 2018 at 2:10 pm55 stars
    i want to read this book!!!
    • MajesticPonyWednesday, December 12, 2018 at 12:15 pm
      i am glad people get to be their self reading this book.
      • coolgamerboyMonday, December 10, 2018 at 10:22 am
        this book is great but kind f nasty
        • girlygamer1
          girlygamer1Friday, December 7, 2018 at 8:25 am55 stars
          This book is such a good book. Like no duhhh! This author has a very creative with its stories nad it drwing . definetly recommending it! ;)
          • marvinFriday, December 7, 2018 at 6:08 am
            it is very funny
            • ayumi
              ayumiThursday, December 6, 2018 at 5:11 pm55 stars
              It is a very good story, and I like this story. It is a good story about having braces. You should read it! I love this book!
              • mjmlol READWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 6:18 am
                Do you like the denticet?well if you do then you will like this book.One night Riana was raceing to her house and she fell head first and 2 teth fell out lukuly one of her girl scout troop leader to help her the other 2 friends raced to the door.they got her mom and took her to the denticet.A couple days she got braces.Going to midlle school was hard for her.READ TO FIND OUT MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • gabriana77
                  gabriana77Monday, December 3, 2018 at 11:03 pm44 stars
                  Super funny book! but I wish it was more about Riana than her teeth :(
                  • bookstory13
                    bookstory13Monday, December 3, 2018 at 3:43 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Just finished this book! I love it so much! I can really relate to Raina. (Besides the whole smashed-my-face-and-had-my-mouth-rearranged incident) I had to get braces. When I first touched the, my mouth exploded. Just like Raina's. I have to get headgear, just like Raina. Her dealing with it really helped me! Later when she was having boy problems, I was like "YES RAINA!" She also loves German! Can you believe it? I love this book because it's so easy to relate to and it's a true story! It's about being who you are on the inside and showing it on the outside. Don't care about what others think about you! Don't let what you are wearing affect your personality! Your friends love you because of who you are. If they are walking all over you, don't let them! This book is like a best friend I've waited my life to read. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read it! --BKS reviews
                    • bookstory13
                      bookstory13Monday, December 3, 2018 at 7:11 pm55 stars
                      Correction: When I first touched the BRACES ;) :D lol! Typo, sorry!
                    • virtual
                      virtualMonday, December 3, 2018 at 3:10 pm55 stars
                      I like this book very much because it teaches us that everyone is special. There is no need to compare who is better and who is not because everyone is different and unique.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins