Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.45068
Raina Telgemeier’s #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning companion to Smile!

Raina can't wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she's also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They are sisters, after all.

Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540593
ISBN-13: 9780545540599
1146 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • eybook2018
    eybook2018Wednesday, May 22, 2019 at 8:02 pm
    This book really visualizes a true teens life l! It's so funny with the comedy and drama lurking on the corners of life. Really funny!!!
    • pineapplecelery
      pineappleceleryWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 6:31 pm55 stars
      I really like this book! Many things in this are relatable in this story. You might find yourself feeling the same way as the main character, as I did. This book really expresses experiences and relationships well, in many different ways. I would greatly recommend this book to anyone searching out there for a good read!
      • applemango
        applemangoWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 5:23 pm33 stars
        This is a book, again by Raina and she is wishing for a baby sister, which will be Amara. When the baby arrives however Raina suddenly regrets that she ever wished for a baby sister. How can they get along with so many other problems?
        • callitjoy
          callitjoyTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 5:15 pm55 stars
          I love this book because the sisters always fight like my brother. And like at the end of the book they end up not fighting with there sister. And some times we like to get along but thats very rare.
          • addglitter
            addglitterTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 5:41 am44 stars
            This is the sequel to Smile, and is also a true story. I really enjoy the author's writing and drawing style, so if you liked Smile, you will love this book!
            • inmemoryofcpr
              inmemoryofcprMonday, May 20, 2019 at 6:05 pm22 stars
              I thought that this book wasn't as good as the first one because the topic + plot was hard to figure out. I would greatly recommend the first one but not this one, sorry.
              • lovebook
                lovebookMonday, May 20, 2019 at 2:17 pm44 stars
                I did like this book because it showed the relationship that I sometimes have but I feel like it did not really show the strong bond and relationship that most sisters have with one another.
                • 400bella
                  400bellaSunday, May 19, 2019 at 6:45 pm55 stars
                  This book is about a family who went went on a road trip. The 2 sisters are Raina and Amara they like to argue A LOT. The mom, 2 sisters, and their little brother Will go on a week long car trip to a family reunion. Raina the oldest sister is excited because her cousin Lindsey will be there and they used to pretend to be sisters. Both of the sisters love art too. The mom and dad have been having some issues getting along, so in result the mom drives the kids and the dad fly to get there. This book also has a lot of flash backs to when Raina was younger. This book also shows all of the stops they take on the way. At one point they get in a really bad storm at another they are at a place that tells all about dinosaurs. When they are at the reunion, both of the sisters realize that they do not fit in, so they sit together. After a little while of feeling sorry they have a big fight. On the way home their car breaks down and the mom and son carpool with someone. The 2 girls are in the car together for a long time and they end up becoming friends. On the way back the older sister no longer ignores everyone, they all interact with each other.
                  • raindrop07
                    raindrop07Sunday, May 19, 2019 at 9:20 am44 stars
                    Three weeks. Two sisters. One car. What could happen? Raina couldn’t wait to be a sister, but when she finally gets one, her little sister, Amara really gets on her nerves. So, when her family decides to take a road trip from California to Colorado to have a family reunion, Raina is horrified to think of spending a full week in the car with her grouchy, annoying sister, and her obnoxious brother! After many casualties and experiences, the family arrives in Colorado, and Raina finds out that her cousins have changed drastically since 10 years ago, when the last family reunion. Finally, Raina is relieved to leave her cousins, but she dreads the next week of car time with Amara and Will, her younger brother…! This is a graphic novel about the true story of growing up...with a sister!
                    • lumos
                      lumosSunday, May 19, 2019 at 9:11 am44 stars
                      This funny and heart felt comic tells us all about Raina's trip with her annoying little sister and brother through pictures and speech bubbles. Raina again faces the troubles of growing up, including parent arguments and sleeping without stuffed animals. I really liked this book, as sister faces sister, they learn the true meaning of siblings <3