Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3262 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • noahmrich
    noahmrichSunday, June 23, 2019 at 7:04 pm44 stars
    This is a comic about a girl named Raina who feels that her braces have ruined her life and that she looks ugly she soon learns that her smile is beautiful just the way it is.
    • rrwwnn
      rrwwnnSaturday, June 22, 2019 at 11:22 pm55 stars
      This book was the first book in a series. I love this book so much that I read the whole series! This book is how a brave girl fights with the struggles of losing a couple of her adult teeth in an accident. I love this book because it shows that any girl can fight any battle big or small.
      • 3bears
        3bearsThursday, June 20, 2019 at 10:25 am33 stars
        Smile tells a true story of the author, which I found to be interesting, and it had me feeling what the main character was feeling.
        • I love booksTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 12:51 am
          I read it, it is so funny and nice
          • meatlover
            meatloverWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 3:49 pm
            I recommend this book because this is probably going to be the book for comic reader's.😎
            • sweetcheese
              sweetcheeseWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 2:40 pm55 stars
              This book is awesome!!!!!I checked out from the library and loved it.I totally recommend this book to any girl ages 8-15. This book showed the adventure of how Raina survived getting braces, headgear, and got her ears pierced all at the same time. The funny part is that this happens during middle school and high school. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I did.
              • milkywaylover
                milkywayloverWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 9:32 am55 stars
                it was a great book over all, I thouroughly enjoyed it Raina Telgemier is a great writer she really brings her charactors to life in her books. you can really tell she is inthousiastic about her work!
                • ryducufo-155992117798
                  ryducufo-155992117798Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 11:35 am44 stars
                  This book "Smile" is about a girl named Raina which is in 6th grade but she is not a normal 6th grader but she's not. It all happened a night after girl scouts when she was running to her house with her friend but she fell and injured her 2 front teeth. She has to go through lots of surgeries and have to wear fake teeth. She also has to wear headgear and a braces. Her siblings, friends and peers keep on telling her that she looks like a 6 or 7 year-old because she has no fronyt teeth and wears ponytails. Raina is embarassed by all of these comments and is having a terrible time in 6th grade. Theres also another thing about 6th grade she likes a boy but the boy does not pay a lot of attention for her. Will Raina be able to survive 6th grade will she have friends that do care about her? A fun fact about the graphic novel is that Raina is the..... AUTHOR!!!! I would really reccomend this book to kids and teens who like graphic novels and drama.
                  • briana119223893
                    briana119223893Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 10:08 am55 stars
                    it is cool it help you learn about your teeth and take care of it
                    • aengman
                      aengmanMonday, June 10, 2019 at 3:14 pm44 stars
                      I did not like all the blood. But it was still good. I liked that she was a girl scout! Her siblings were kinda rude.