A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York
Times
bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of
Smile, Sisters,
Drama, and Ghosts!


Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she's dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that Raina's tummy trouble isn't going away... and it coincides with her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. What's going on?

Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a thoughtful, charming, and funny true story about growing up and gathering the courage to face -- and conquer -- her fears.

Kindle Edition, 224 pages
Published on September 10, 2019 by Graphix
ISBN-10: 0545852536
ISBN-13: 9780545852531
600 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lovereading310
    lovereading310Friday, June 26, 2020 at 4:47 pm55 stars
    Guts has become my favorite book. I had anxiety issues a few years ago, and I wish I had it then. I have Raina's other books, and I am a big fan. Now, i'm going to 5th grade in a few months and I am very excited. I can not wait for her next book!
    • ravenclaw12321
      ravenclaw12321Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 9:00 am55 stars
      Raina Telgemeier is a young girl studying fifth grade. She learns to conquer her worst fear, throwing up. She also deals with other problems along the way, like her friend moving away, bullies, food, gas, therapy. Raina Telgemeier is feeling queasy as she reveals her problems and she realizes that this is normal, going to therapy and having friends move away. Will she ever get over throw up? Read to find out!
      • ravenclaw12321
        ravenclaw12321Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 8:54 am55 stars
        This book is personally one of my FAV! This is about how 5th grader Raina Telgemeier learns to conquer her worst fear, throwing up. She has an adventurous journey with not only throwing up, but also her friend moving away, bullies, food, and more. Read and find out more!
        • bookfan2008
          bookfan2008Tuesday, June 23, 2020 at 7:07 am33 stars
          This book was simply OK. I liked it but not as much as the other book she wrote. It was good but, I wasn't the bigggest fan of the plot :)
          • girlpower4ever
            girlpower4everSaturday, June 13, 2020 at 1:44 pm55 starsFeatured
            In this electrifying sequel to Raina Teglemier's narrative nonfiction graphic novels "Smile" and "Sister," Raina's back with the stomach flu. She quickly gets over it, but even though her bout of sickness has passed, Raina constantly experiences the terrifying feeling of needing to throw up, causing her to stay from home and have to use the bathroom more than usual. As her fear of puke grows, so does her insecurity about her body. Raina doesn't want to be made fun of by class bully Michelle. She doesn't want to be excluded from the girl talks in the bathroom. She doesn't want to have to meet up with a private counselor about her feelings. But she does and is, and as puberty, rudeness, secrets, and friend drama show their abhorrence, Raina realizes that the key to trumping fear is to feel comfortable in your own skin.
            • effie302
              effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 6:57 am
              this book really does relate too my friendship with my friend and my sisters life as well, huh maybe a coincidence? read the book, I think you guys will like it!
              • lolatheute
                lolatheuteFriday, June 5, 2020 at 2:20 pm55 stars
                I like this book because it is about what actually happened to Raina Telgemeier. It is an inspiring book and it is so fun!!
                • willthebest
                  willthebestThursday, June 4, 2020 at 3:20 pm55 stars
                  I really loved this book only because this is real and describes about the real life.It also teaches what you can do if you had the same problem.She described it and helped pepople know that they can make themselves feel better.
                  • i_love_cats
                    i_love_catsWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 2:58 pm55 stars
                    It just ends with "But something was definitely wrong" and then it's just over! There is no other ending!
                    • girlpower4ever
                      girlpower4everSunday, June 14, 2020 at 12:54 pm55 stars
                      That's just the preview on DOGO Books. If you buy the real book, "Guts" ends very differently and will elaborate! It has much more pages than shown on here =)
                    • swirlycool
                      swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:23 pm55 stars
                      This book is about a girl who catches her sister's stomach bug. She thinks her troubles are gone but she realizes they aren't. She is afraid of the possibility of throwing up at her school and being made fun of. Her problem gets more serious which causes her to go to therapy. This book is based on a true story of Raina Telgemeier. I rate it 5/5 and recommend it to people who have read and enjoyed her other books.