A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York
Times
bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of
Smile, Sisters,
Drama, and Ghosts!


Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she's dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that Raina's tummy trouble isn't going away... and it coincides with her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. What's going on?

Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a thoughtful, charming, and funny true story about growing up and gathering the courage to face -- and conquer -- her fears.

Kindle Edition, 224 pages
Published on September 10, 2019 by Graphix
ISBN-10: 0545852536
ISBN-13: 9780545852531
393 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • stellaluna
    stellalunaThursday, November 21, 2019 at 7:57 pm55 stars
    Guts. We all got them, but they all function differently. Raina, the oldest out of three siblings, got some tough ones. She deals with class bullies, stomach flu, IBS, and worst of all anxiety. This is a story of Raina 4th to fifth, the ups and downs, and life.
    • yeeted_sprinkle
      yeeted_sprinkleThursday, November 21, 2019 at 9:21 am
      it talks about a girl going through some hard times in 5th grade and she has stomach problems and she is not feeling right o her parents make her a appointment with a therapist and she got diagnosed with IBS whats gonna happen???
      • Rosita-lol-biteWednesday, November 20, 2019 at 3:19 pm
        This book is very interesting😯, I don't know how Raina really feels but how she thinks it in her mind feels like a nightmare 😰
        • GutsTuesday, November 19, 2019 at 6:13 pm
          this book is totally good like the rest of these books you make and very interesting!!!🤘
          • mia7722
            mia7722Monday, November 18, 2019 at 10:03 pm55 stars
            IT LOOKS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO AMAZING
            • ticktok
              ticktokMonday, November 18, 2019 at 3:41 pm55 stars
              Guts is a really good book.It is big and just like a comic book.It has all pictures which allows you to read and see what's going on.It is also very real.There are a lot of things in that book that relates to many people's life's.For example how raina goes to therapy and how Michelle had to go to intestinal surgery.I would love to be in that book like seriously!If you haven't read this book you really should.There are other books that are just like guts that I have read.Like ghosts,drama,smile,and sisters.Just so you know I recommended this book.This book has a character in it who's name is raina.Just like the auother raina telgemeier.If I were in that book I would totally be screaming my head off of exitment.Guts is totally my new favorite book.I even did a Ticktok on the book guts.I said"This is the best book ever". Along with many other things.witch is supprising because you can only make a video for 30seconds.Buuut you guys should really read this book.And if you already have...I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!well I really hope you learned some thing and that something is...Read guts.Also just so you know I am totally not forcing or yelling at you to read guts.I am politely recommending that you read this amazing book guys.Well I going to go ✌ out.And remember give guts a try.If you do just let me know.And then you do I will follow you.Bye bye everyone and have a good day!💋
              • Cookies079Monday, November 18, 2019 at 3:17 pm
                I love this book. Is so good! I read all of the book. Is it so funny, good and helpful
                • girlforgreen
                  girlforgreenMonday, November 18, 2019 at 3:15 pm33 stars
                  This book was only OK for me. I love all of her other books, but I felt like this one was just not as good. There were some good themes and messages throughout the story, but the plot just... wasn't intriguing enough.
                  • spykitten
                    spykittenSunday, November 17, 2019 at 8:40 am33 stars
                    The first 2 books were great, but this one had a bad subject and had a good amount of potty humor. I do not recommend.
                    • pokeloverhert
                      pokeloverhertThursday, November 21, 2019 at 6:17 pm55 stars
                      Well I think it will be good! >:(
                    • Space unicornSaturday, November 16, 2019 at 6:24 pm
                      This book has such a good story line.