Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 14, 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375969020
ISBN-13: 9780375869020
3747 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • awsomeTuesday, December 3, 2019 at 7:11 am
    it is amazing
    • Be niceMonday, December 2, 2019 at 5:03 am
      Im reading wonder at my school and everyone likes it. I love wonder and you souls do the guiz
      • chocolate168
        chocolate168Monday, December 2, 2019 at 12:14 am55 stars
        This book shows how people aren't weird, just different. I respect that.
        • viscongirl
          viscongirlTuesday, November 26, 2019 at 5:37 pm
          I really liked this book so I think you should read it. It’s a simple but addictive book and I’ve read it at least 50 times. It about a boy who’s face is different from ours and he goes to a school and all of a sudden he has real friends.
          • JenaTuesday, November 26, 2019 at 9:37 am
            It is the best book ever!
            • omoon
              omoonSaturday, November 23, 2019 at 1:23 pm55 stars
              August is so sweet.
              • ChickenuggetsSaturday, November 16, 2019 at 10:39 am
                I love this book. It was so awesome to read. I think that it does not matter how you look, and it is not fair if you are treated badly just because you look different. Choose to be nice and don't judge people.because of their appearance. Overall, this book is one of my all time favorites.
                • bookwave
                  bookwaveWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 5:42 am55 stars
                  I loved how Auggie didn't let his face defeat him at the end. His face is weird, but weird is just another word for unique. I loved the book. It was marvelous! I have already read this book three times. I recommend this book to everyone. this book shows that being different is stupendous.
                  • narutouser11
                    narutouser11Monday, November 11, 2019 at 2:38 pm55 stars
                    I hate when he has to play dodge ball but i love when he had gotten into a fight eh
                    • moonlightwolf
                      moonlightwolfThursday, November 7, 2019 at 10:56 am55 stars
                      I love this book. It is really sad that Auggie is bullied.