Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.739357

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Dear Reader,

You have undoubtedly picked up this book by mistake, so please put it down. Nobody in their right mind would read this particular book about the lives of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire on purpose, because each dismal moment of their stay in the village of V.F.D. has been faithfully and dreadfully recorded in these pages. I can think of no single reason why anyone would want to open a book containing such unpleasant matters as migrating crows, an angry mob, a newspaper headline, the arrest of innocent people, the Deluxe Cell, and some very strange hats. It is my solemn and sacred occupation to research each detail of the Baudelaire children's lives and write them all down, but you may prefer to do some other solemn and sacred thing, such as reading another book instead.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on September 1, 2012 by Egmont Books Ltd
ISBN-10: 1405266104
ISBN-13: 9781405266109
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • wiccanbat666
    wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:26 pm55 stars
    This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
    • 23unicorncat
      23unicorncatTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 8:31 am55 stars
      I JUST STARTED
      • dj huskyTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 7:56 am
        I'm about to start reading this once I finish reading the twisted ones (https://www.dogobooks.com/five-nights-at-freddys-the-twisted-ones/book-review/1338139304)
        • kitty_423
          kitty_423Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 6:55 pm44 stars
          love it
          • kitty_423
            kitty_423Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 6:41 pm44 stars
            this book is really good. if you want to read it you have to read the other ones first. it gets you sitting at the edge of the seat. i love lemony snicket's books
            • demosthenes
              demosthenesSunday, August 13, 2017 at 3:25 pm
              I just finished re-reading this book and i remembered why i love Lemony Snicket's work. In this vile novel, the Baudelaire's continue their search for their friends, the Quagmire triplets. In the previous book, The Ersatz Elevator, Violet Klaus and Sunny here about a town called V.F.D. Remembering that V.F.D. was a clue that Duncan Quagmire had given the Baudelaires, they head to that town for more clues-and guardianship. This whole town of V.F.D. becomes the orphans guardians and boss the children around giving them all sorts of chores to fill up their time with. Along with these chores, the awful Council of Elders, a horrid list of dramatic rules to follow, and living with a town full of crows, the children begin receiving notes from Isadora Quagmire about where they are hidden. Then, of course, Count Olaf enters the story creating even more of a mess for the children. . .if you are to read this story, read it with caution. . .
              • sparkie0209
                sparkie0209Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 10:33 pm
                Very interesting 😊I like this book because it has a great plot twist (and I was hooked on to this series of books )this is good for ages 9-13 but do not read this book if you want to read about happy endings (poor Baudelaire orphans!)thanks for reading this book review :)
                • marveldudes
                  marveldudesMonday, April 24, 2017 at 11:23 pm
                  i'm reading this book so far it's VERY INTRIGUING so far i love it!
                  • bookworm88
                    bookworm88Wednesday, April 19, 2017 at 10:21 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Klaus, Sunny and Violet Baudelaire are orphans, their parents died in a tragic fire and left an enormous fortune behind - causing them to have too be taken care of by a family member/guardian and Mr. Poe - and banker with an annoying cough - is in charge of finding them one. This family member/guardian that Mr. Poe leaves them with is named Count Olaf, and he is not intent on taking them in to help them cope with their loss and love and care for them, he wants the fortune they're parents left behind. In this issue book #7 the children find themselves in a village - also known as the V.F.D., were the motto "It takes a village to raise a child", isn't so accurate. The Baudelaire's find themselves in A Series Of Unfortunate Events throughout the book along with mystery and comedy to keep you entertained. I highly recommend this book to those that love a good mystery and a laugh to go with it.
                    • eyp
                      eypMonday, September 26, 2016 at 8:16 am44 stars
                      A book with much sadness in it.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins