A brave and unusual girl named Serafina lives secretly in the basement of the grand Biltmore Estate amidst the splendor of the Gilded Age. Serafina's pa, the estate's maintenance man, has warned her to keep herself hidden from the fancy folk who live on the floors above, but when children at the estate start disappearing, Serafina and her friend Braeden Vanderbilt must work together to solve a dark and dangerous mystery. This page-turning thriller from Disney-Hyperion is a #1 New York Times Bestseller, has been on the bestsellers list for more than 50 weeks, and is already being taught in over a thousand classrooms nationwide. It also won the prestigious 2016 Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize for "representing the best in Southern literature." A blend of history, mystery, and magic, this new series has become a favorite for both adults and young readers (8+). Be sure to watch the book trailer in the media section below.
"Never go into the forest, for there are many dangers there, and they will ensnare your soul."

Serafina has never had a reason to disobey her pa and venture beyond the grounds of Biltmore Estate. There's plenty to explore in Mr. and Mrs. Vanderbilt's vast and opulent home, but she must take care to never be seen. None of the rich folk upstairs know that Serafina exists; she and her pa have lived in the basement for as long as Serafina can remember. She has learned to prowl through the darkened corridors at night, to sneak and hide, using the mansion's hidden doors and secret passageways.

But when children at the estate start disappearing, only Serafina knows the clues to follow. A mysterious man in a black cloak stalks Biltmore's corridors at night. Following her own harrowing escape, Serafina risks everything by joining forces with Braeden Vanderbilt, the young nephew of Biltmore's owners. Braeden and Serafina must uncover the Man in the Black Cloak's true identity before all of the children vanish one by one.

Serafina's hunt leads her into the very forest that she has been taught to fear, where she discovers a forgotten legacy of magic. In order to save the children of Biltmore, Serafina must not only face her darkest enemy, but delve into the strange mystery of her own identity.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on June 14, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484711874
ISBN-13: 9781484711873
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • annette
    annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:45 pm55 stars
    This book is terrifyingly captivating with a dark thrilling story line that will leave you wide awake at night! This book is amazingly written with great detail and many twists and turns in the plot. This is a perfect read for Halloween or another spooky night because when children go missing in the night and not even the parents know what is going on, who wouldn't be scared?
    • georgiasilver
      georgiasilverThursday, August 24, 2017 at 10:10 pm
      A seemingly stormy and mysteriously dangerous book, I cant wait to find this book out, with its interesting front cover and its intriguing words of Black Cloak. Serafina seems someone playing or having some sort of magic, and I cant wait to go along with her.
      • rah-rah
        rah-rahTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 3:09 pm55 stars
        I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVED this book. I read this one and I am reading the second one and can't wait to get the third one. There is a lot of on the edge of your seat feeling. I strongly reccomend this awesome book.
        • girlygirl1014
          girlygirl1014Saturday, July 29, 2017 at 8:53 am55 stars
          Serafina and the Black Cloak is a thrilling mystery about a young heroine who must rise up to the challenge and solve a mystery inside the walls of Biltmore Estate itself, and learn about the mystery of her own past and future along the way of the dark and dangerous path of the woods she was told never to go into all her life in order to destroy the dark force that's threatening to destroy her life and all the lives in the Biltmore Estate. 12-year old amber eyed Serafina has secretly lived her whole life in the basement of the 250 roomed Biltmore Estate with her Pa. Since she was seven years old she has spent every night lurking through the basement catching rats to keep them from traveling to the upstairs world of the " Fancy Folk" she longs to be in, but her Pa has told her to never tell her name, where she lives, and to never go into the woods. During one long night in the basement Serafina sees a mysterious black cloaked figure chasing one of the little girls from the estate. When the black cloak ensnares the girl she seems to vanish from thin air. As she goes to the upstairs world she befriends Biltmore's owner's nephew, Breaden. As more children go missing, and everyone a suspect, she must travel into the woods she's forbidden to go into in order to solve the mystery of the Black Cloak, and her own mystery of who she is and who she is going to be.
          • lees
            leesFriday, July 7, 2017 at 2:15 pm55 stars
            Serafina is a....well if i said "normal girl" i would be lieing. Serafina lived in a basement with her father, who forbid her from ever going into the forest... where frankly he found her...but she had no clue...until one day down in the basement a man in a black clock appeared.
            • iceravenclaw
              iceravenclawFriday, June 30, 2017 at 5:47 pm33 stars
              Serafina and the Black Cloak is about a girl named Serifina who lives in the basement of a castle because her father works in the castle. One day Serifina comes upon something she is not supposed to see something scary and not normal she sees a little girl being swallowed into a black cloak.
              • springchick114
                springchick114Thursday, June 29, 2017 at 2:53 pm55 stars
                This is an amazing book and since it includes mermaids, I love it. I love any books that include mermaids. I think it has a creepy touch to it and has a thrilling chill that will creep up your spine. IT is awesome.
                • levi0sa
                  levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 1:10 pm55 stars
                  I loooved this book! It was thrilling and there was a mystery. I found out about this book when we visited the Biltmore Estate. The author was there signing books which was really cool. I am happy I read it after visiting the Biltmore Estate because I could really picture it when I was reading.
                  • levi0sa
                    levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 12:32 pm55 stars
                    I looooved this book. I was a great mystery. We found it when we took a trip to Biltmore Estates and the author was there signing books. So cool! I would recommend this book for anyone that likes mysteries.
                    • readingkendal
                      readingkendalWednesday, June 21, 2017 at 3:25 pm55 stars
                      This book is soooooooooooooooooooooooo good!!!! It is about a girl who was born in the forest and does not know why. She lives in Biltmore Estate's basement. She befriends the young master and works on solving the mystery of why and where the children went with him. If you like mystery and magic read this!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      orangey2011

                      I have not read this book but i ...
                      Super Mario Adventures

                      evelyn21
                      evelyn21 wrote:

                      You should toatally read it!!!!!...
                      Fallout

                      evelyn21
                      evelyn21 wrote:

                      Super good!!!
                      Fallout