Serafina and the Black Cloak

Book 1 of 3 in the Serafina Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.968924
A brave and unusual girl named Serafina lives secretly in the basement of the grand Biltmore Estate amidst the splendor of the Gilded Age. Serafina's pa, the estate's maintenance man, has warned her to keep herself hidden from the fancy folk who live on the floors above, but when children at the estate start disappearing, Serafina and her friend Braeden Vanderbilt must work together to solve a dark and dangerous mystery. This page-turning thriller from Disney-Hyperion is a #1 New York Times Bestseller, has been on the bestsellers list for more than 50 weeks, and is already being taught in over a thousand classrooms nationwide. It also won the prestigious 2016 Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize for "representing the best in Southern literature." A blend of history, mystery, and magic, this new series has become a favorite for both adults and young readers (8+). Be sure to watch the book trailer in the media section below.
"Never go into the forest, for there are many dangers there, and they will ensnare your soul."

Serafina has never had a reason to disobey her pa and venture beyond the grounds of Biltmore Estate. There's plenty to explore in Mr. and Mrs. Vanderbilt's vast and opulent home, but she must take care to never be seen. None of the rich folk upstairs know that Serafina exists; she and her pa have lived in the basement for as long as Serafina can remember. She has learned to prowl through the darkened corridors at night, to sneak and hide, using the mansion's hidden doors and secret passageways.

But when children at the estate start disappearing, only Serafina knows the clues to follow. A mysterious man in a black cloak stalks Biltmore's corridors at night. Following her own harrowing escape, Serafina risks everything by joining forces with Braeden Vanderbilt, the young nephew of Biltmore's owners. Braeden and Serafina must uncover the Man in the Black Cloak's true identity before all of the children vanish one by one.

Serafina's hunt leads her into the very forest that she has been taught to fear, where she discovers a forgotten legacy of magic. In order to save the children of Biltmore, Serafina must not only face her darkest enemy, but delve into the strange mystery of her own identity.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on June 14, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484711874
ISBN-13: 9781484711873
31 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • rah-rah
    rah-rahTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 3:09 pm55 stars
    I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVED this book. I read this one and I am reading the second one and can't wait to get the third one. There is a lot of on the edge of your seat feeling. I strongly reccomend this awesome book.
    • girlygirl1014
      girlygirl1014Saturday, July 29, 2017 at 8:53 am55 stars
      Serafina and the Black Cloak is a thrilling mystery about a young heroine who must rise up to the challenge and solve a mystery inside the walls of Biltmore Estate itself, and learn about the mystery of her own past and future along the way of the dark and dangerous path of the woods she was told never to go into all her life in order to destroy the dark force that's threatening to destroy her life and all the lives in the Biltmore Estate. 12-year old amber eyed Serafina has secretly lived her whole life in the basement of the 250 roomed Biltmore Estate with her Pa. Since she was seven years old she has spent every night lurking through the basement catching rats to keep them from traveling to the upstairs world of the " Fancy Folk" she longs to be in, but her Pa has told her to never tell her name, where she lives, and to never go into the woods. During one long night in the basement Serafina sees a mysterious black cloaked figure chasing one of the little girls from the estate. When the black cloak ensnares the girl she seems to vanish from thin air. As she goes to the upstairs world she befriends Biltmore's owner's nephew, Breaden. As more children go missing, and everyone a suspect, she must travel into the woods she's forbidden to go into in order to solve the mystery of the Black Cloak, and her own mystery of who she is and who she is going to be.
      • lees
        leesFriday, July 7, 2017 at 2:15 pm55 stars
        Serafina is a....well if i said "normal girl" i would be lieing. Serafina lived in a basement with her father, who forbid her from ever going into the forest... where frankly he found her...but she had no clue...until one day down in the basement a man in a black clock appeared.
        • iceravenclaw
          iceravenclawFriday, June 30, 2017 at 5:47 pm33 stars
          Serafina and the Black Cloak is about a girl named Serifina who lives in the basement of a castle because her father works in the castle. One day Serifina comes upon something she is not supposed to see something scary and not normal she sees a little girl being swallowed into a black cloak.
          • springchick114
            springchick114Thursday, June 29, 2017 at 2:53 pm55 stars
            This is an amazing book and since it includes mermaids, I love it. I love any books that include mermaids. I think it has a creepy touch to it and has a thrilling chill that will creep up your spine. IT is awesome.
            • levi0sa
              levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 1:10 pm55 stars
              I loooved this book! It was thrilling and there was a mystery. I found out about this book when we visited the Biltmore Estate. The author was there signing books which was really cool. I am happy I read it after visiting the Biltmore Estate because I could really picture it when I was reading.
              • levi0sa
                levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 12:32 pm55 stars
                I looooved this book. I was a great mystery. We found it when we took a trip to Biltmore Estates and the author was there signing books. So cool! I would recommend this book for anyone that likes mysteries.
                • readingkendal
                  readingkendalWednesday, June 21, 2017 at 3:25 pm55 stars
                  This book is soooooooooooooooooooooooo good!!!! It is about a girl who was born in the forest and does not know why. She lives in Biltmore Estate's basement. She befriends the young master and works on solving the mystery of why and where the children went with him. If you like mystery and magic read this!!!
                  • callie_b
                    callie_bThursday, June 15, 2017 at 5:37 pm55 starsFeatured
                    This book blew my mind! I was definitely not expecting this! Serafina and her pa live secretly in the basement of the great Biltmore Estate, and Serafina can never reveal her identity to anybody, as instructed by her father. But why? Serafina wonders if she is different than any other human, if she's a creature of the night. She has uncommon big amber eyes, unlike anyone she had ever seen, and this makes her question her heritage. But Serafina must put those thoughts aside. One night as she prowls the Estate in darkness (just the way she likes it) Serafina sees a man in a black cloak attempting to capture a little girl in a yellow dress. She springs into action, but Serafina is too late. With a narrow escape, Serafina is able to make it to safety. But the other kids aren't as lucky. Every night after that, a child goes missing. Connecting the dots, Serafina and her new friend Braeden make it their quest to figure out who the man in the black cloak really is and defeat him for good! And will Serafina ever find her family roots? After reading this book, I was in awe! The masterful writing of the author was a perfect touch onto this epic tale! 5 stars!! I can't wait to read the 2nd book!
                    • addglitter
                      addglitterMonday, June 5, 2017 at 5:39 am44 stars
                      This was a pretty good mystery. I would like to recommend it to any thrill lover who doesn't have the stomach for anything too crazy :D. Read this book and make sure to check out the next book in the series!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Kenny wrote:

                      i really enjoyed this book
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      stromtrooper75 wrote:

                      Calvin creates a snow goon which...
                      ATTACK OF THE DERANGED MUTANT KI...

                      klbaek26
                      klbaek26 wrote:

                      I loved the book Secret Garden!!!!!
                      The Secret Garden