Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W6.0112921

The first book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

New York Times Bestselling Series

“A deliciously spellbinding series opener.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Fun, mystery, and rollicking characters.” —VOYA (starred review)

“Fluent, charismatic storytelling.” —ALA Booklist

Septimus Heap, the seventh son of the seventh son, disappears the night he is born, pronounced dead by the midwife. That same night, the baby's father, Silas Heap, comes across an abandoned child in the snow—a newborn girl with violet eyes. Who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to the Heaps' beloved son Septimus?

The first book in this enthralling series by Angie Sage leads readers on a fantastic journey filled with quirky characters and Magykal charms, potions, and spells. Magyk is the original story of lost and rediscovered identities, rich with humor and heart.

Paperback, 640 pages
Published on March 5, 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 006223692X
ISBN-13: 9780062236920
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 4usa
    4usaFriday, May 1, 2020 at 2:14 pm55 stars
    This is a magical book about Septimus Heap the seventh son of a seventh son who supposedly died as a baby! The day that Septimus was born his father left the house to get some herbs! On his way back he found a baby girl and takes her home! He later finds out that while he was gone Septimus died! They also discover that the baby girl is the daughter of the dead queen who's throne was just usurped! They raise the princesses but one day when she is in danger she goes on an adventure with her brother, the extraordinary wizard, and a young army boy!
    • glitterclaws
      glitterclawsFriday, June 14, 2019 at 5:44 am55 stars
      great book full of magic and adventure as you follow jenna and her family on a epic adventure. i loved this book great story line can't wait to read the rest of the series.
      • readerWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 11:03 am
        good book
        • lains24
          lains24Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 7:09 am55 stars
          This series is so amazing. I mean, I kind of had to stop reading the sixth book for, like, three months and have not gotten back to it, but here is the premise. Septimus Heap apparently died on the day he was born and on that very day, his dad found a baby girl that the Extraordinary wizard told him to keep. They then raised the child as their own. But did their seventh son, Septimus REALLY die? Or is he still out there?
          • megcat
            megcatTuesday, September 12, 2017 at 12:51 pm55 stars
            BEST BOOK EVER WRITTEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • aarmau
              aarmauMonday, September 19, 2016 at 1:42 pm55 stars
              Are you looking for a good book to read?? One that you are sure to love if you loved Harry Potter?? I absolutely LOVE this book!! Wizards, Princesses, Charms all of this and you are sure to love it right??? Try this book out I am positive you will love it. Comment if you loved it too!!! <3 ;3
              • chewie
                chewieWednesday, June 1, 2016 at 12:27 pm55 stars
                In Magyk Silas Heap, a wizard, finds a baby in the snow freezing. He brings it back with him when he bumps into the Extraordinary wizard. The story begins here. I like this book because of its magic and adventure.
                • fuzzle
                  fuzzleSaturday, February 20, 2016 at 4:03 pm
                  Amazing book! A perfect read
                  • imabook
                    imabookWednesday, April 1, 2015 at 5:38 am55 stars
                    I've read the whole Septimus Heap series and I absolutely love it. It is about a land with alchemists, wizards, and common people. Every single one of the books has a twist in it, and that keeps me reading even when the book gets a bit boring.
                    • candyexpress
                      candyexpressMonday, January 26, 2015 at 6:00 pm
                      I'm going to start and I'm counting on it to be awesome.