See You in the Cosmos

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 12n/an/an/an/a

A space-obsessed boy and his dog, Carl Sagan, take a journey toward family, love, hope, and awe in this funny and moving novel for fans of Counting by 7s and Walk Two Moons.

11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his brother, and his dog Carl Sagan—named for his hero, the real-life astronomer. All he wants is to launch his golden iPod into space the way Carl Sagan (the man, not the dog) launched his Golden Record on the Voyager spacecraft in 1977. From Colorado to New Mexico, Las Vegas to L.A., Alex records a journey on his iPod to show other lifeforms what life on earth, his earth, is like. But his destination keeps changing. And the funny, lost, remarkable people he meets along the way can only partially prepare him for the secrets he’ll uncover—from the truth about his long-dead dad to the fact that, for a kid with a troubled mom and a mostly not-around brother, he has way more family than he ever knew.

For fans of Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Jack Cheng’s debut is full of joy, optimism, determination, and unbelievable heart. To read the first page is to fall in love with Alex and his view of our big, beautiful, complicated world. To read the last is to know he and his story will stay with you a long, long time.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 28, 2017 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0399186379
ISBN-13: 9780399186370
15 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • 6000464Friday, March 24, 2017 at 7:36 am
    Well tje person I love is Martin Luther king jt.
    • KerryThursday, March 23, 2017 at 4:33 am
      I loved it. Such a different story and full of incidents.
      • leean2022
        leean2022Monday, March 20, 2017 at 6:05 am
        I would love to read this book it looks really good, and i love looking at the stars to trying to find the big and little dipper.
        • super10
          super10Saturday, March 18, 2017 at 6:14 pm55 starsFeatured
          This was truly a book that me see the world in a different light. It made me realize that curiosity can be the infinite answer. Plus, it was also very optimistic! In the book See You in The Cosmos, a 11-year old boy named Alex Petroski desires to travel to Phoenix, for a convention all about rockets! In the convention, he wants to launch a golden iPod into space, similar to how his idol Carl Sagan did. Along the journey he encounters many problems, like being in the middle of a love triangle, and even has to detour to Los Angeles! Alex shows an incredible amount of perseverance, and this characteristic helps him solve his problems! This story taught me that optimism can help you in life's tight situations. An example of this would be when Alex lost his dog, Carl Sagan. This turned out to be a major problem for Alex, but after a week or so, his dog was found! I would only reccomend this book to my friends in grades higher than 5, due to the mature topics covered in it. I really liked the point of view showcased in this book. For that reason, I rate it 5 out of 5 stars!
          • waterlily1255
            waterlily1255Sunday, January 15, 2017 at 8:44 am
            I would like to request a copy of this book!!
            • editor
              editorSunday, January 15, 2017 at 9:35 am
              great - you need to fill out the rookie reviewer form and send it to us
              • waterlily1255
                waterlily1255Monday, January 16, 2017 at 12:27 pm
                Thank You!!
            • pipermc11
              pipermc11Sunday, January 8, 2017 at 7:56 pm55 starsFeatured
              All Alex Petroski wants is to send his iPod out into space like his idol, Carl Sagan. He figures that recording his experience leading up to the launch would be a great way to let the future know his story. Unfortunately, sending something into space is harder than it seems, and a new notification from Ancestry.com about Alex's dad leads him across an uncharted mystery... I loved this book so, SO much! Alex was such a lovable character, and I adored his dog, Carl Sagan as well, since pretty much any dog is going to be cute! I also really liked Terra and Zed, and I thought they were interesting and unique characters that added a lot to the story. The format of the book was also interesting, since it was told through recordings from Alex's iPod, so it was almost like a digital or recording diary, which is very unique. I also really enjoyed how the book was able to tackle so many important issues while still making it family friendly and with a ring of innocence, since Alex is only eleven (though at least thirteen in maturity). Alex's situation is terrible, but I feel as if I've learned a lot from him and his experiences without even realizing it! I would definitely recommend this to older readers (10+) or to someone who's interested in science and space, because, not only is it an important read for everyone, but it's also a very intriguing, fun, and fast-paced book!
              • lrohne2005
                lrohne2005Sunday, January 8, 2017 at 5:53 pm44 stars
                11 year old Alex Petroski has a dream. He wants to launch his golden iPod into space, the way Carl Sagan launched his Golden Record into space years ago. He records EVERYTHING on his iPod. One day, Alex heads from his house in Colorado to New Mexico for SHARF, a festival for Rocket Launching. Alex brought his rocket and his iPod, which he records sounds on the train. Along the way, Alex meets Zed, a man who writes on a chalkboard because of his vow of silence, and Steve, a man who has a girlfriend that he doesn't seem to get along with. At SHARF, Alex tries to launch his rocket and iPod into space, but it did not get high. Even though Alex was planning to go back to Colorado after SHARF, he decides to go to Las Angeles after getting an email from Ancestry.com saying there was someone with his long dead dad's name and birthday. He travels with Zed and Steve to the place Ancestry.com says his dad is living. When he gets to this house, he meets Teera, a girl who has the same dad as him that he has never heard of before. In this good but sad book, Alex learns more about friendship, his family and love. I recommend this book to ages 11+. This book can be confusing sometimes because all of this is written like a recording, but I wouldn't want to change it.
                • bookqueen1o13
                  bookqueen1o13Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 8:53 am
                  i want to read this book sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo bad!!!!!!
                  • jeffdaboss
                    jeffdabossMonday, January 2, 2017 at 4:38 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Get ready to go on an adventure with the most brave boy you could possibly ever meet. Alex has a deceased dad he never knew, a 24- year old brother working in LA, a careless mom, and he is 11 years old living in Rockview, Colorado with his dog Carl Sagan. As a rocket scientist enthusiast, Alex is drawn to go a rocket convention to launch his Golden iPod like Carl Sagan launched the Golden Record. Taking his dog with him, he ventures to Albuquerque, New Mexico to the convention by train. He makes more and more friends every single day. Unexpectedly, Alex goes on an adventure that takes him back to his roots, teaches him about the grown-up world, and puts him through a difficult experience that I doubt any 11 year old could ever face. This will be one of the best books of 2017. The book deserves the glory of 5-stars.
                    • crystaldolphin
                      crystaldolphinThursday, December 29, 2016 at 11:27 am
                      want to read soooo bad

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      m1lk3y_w4y
                      m1lk3y_w4y wrote:

                      This book is second in the serie...
                      Warren the 13th and the Whisperi...

                      Puppy love wrote:

                      I love 🐕's and I have one and sh...
                      A New Beginning #1 (Magic Puppy)

                      jorazorallen94o

                      Read The Book Series it's even b...
                      Naruto, Vol. 1: Uzumaki Naruto

                      jorazorallen94o

                      I may be obsessed because I love...
                      Naruto, Vol. 1: Uzumaki Naruto