See You in the Cosmos

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 12n/an/an/an/a

A space-obsessed boy and his dog, Carl Sagan, take a journey toward family, love, hope, and awe in this funny and moving novel for fans of Counting by 7s and Walk Two Moons.

11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his brother, and his dog Carl Sagan—named for his hero, the real-life astronomer. All he wants is to launch his golden iPod into space the way Carl Sagan (the man, not the dog) launched his Golden Record on the Voyager spacecraft in 1977. From Colorado to New Mexico, Las Vegas to L.A., Alex records a journey on his iPod to show other lifeforms what life on earth, his earth, is like. But his destination keeps changing. And the funny, lost, remarkable people he meets along the way can only partially prepare him for the secrets he’ll uncover—from the truth about his long-dead dad to the fact that, for a kid with a troubled mom and a mostly not-around brother, he has way more family than he ever knew.

For fans of Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Jack Cheng’s debut is full of joy, optimism, determination, and unbelievable heart. To read the first page is to fall in love with Alex and his view of our big, beautiful, complicated world. To read the last is to know he and his story will stay with you a long, long time.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 28, 2017 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0399186379
ISBN-13: 9780399186370
18 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • bookqueen1o13
    bookqueen1o13Thursday, April 20, 2017 at 6:10 pm
    AAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i got a email on my computer that said i won this book i have been obsessing over this book for i long time cant wait till i get it in the mail yeeee! soooo happy right now omg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • 25vet
      25vetMonday, April 17, 2017 at 9:22 am
      i love this book
      • generalchris101
        generalchris101Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 4:41 pm
        I didnt like the point of view, but i would recommend this book to anybody who enjoys model planes or rockets.
        • 6000464Friday, March 24, 2017 at 7:36 am
          Well tje person I love is Martin Luther king jt.
          • KerryThursday, March 23, 2017 at 4:33 am
            I loved it. Such a different story and full of incidents.
            • leean2022
              leean2022Monday, March 20, 2017 at 6:05 am
              I would love to read this book it looks really good, and i love looking at the stars to trying to find the big and little dipper.
              • super10
                super10Saturday, March 18, 2017 at 6:14 pm55 starsFeatured
                This was truly a book that me see the world in a different light. It made me realize that curiosity can be the infinite answer. Plus, it was also very optimistic! In the book See You in The Cosmos, a 11-year old boy named Alex Petroski desires to travel to Phoenix, for a convention all about rockets! In the convention, he wants to launch a golden iPod into space, similar to how his idol Carl Sagan did. Along the journey he encounters many problems, like being in the middle of a love triangle, and even has to detour to Los Angeles! Alex shows an incredible amount of perseverance, and this characteristic helps him solve his problems! This story taught me that optimism can help you in life's tight situations. An example of this would be when Alex lost his dog, Carl Sagan. This turned out to be a major problem for Alex, but after a week or so, his dog was found! I would only reccomend this book to my friends in grades higher than 5, due to the mature topics covered in it. I really liked the point of view showcased in this book. For that reason, I rate it 5 out of 5 stars!
                • waterlily1255
                  waterlily1255Sunday, January 15, 2017 at 8:44 am
                  I would like to request a copy of this book!!
                  • editor
                    editorSunday, January 15, 2017 at 9:35 am
                    great - you need to fill out the rookie reviewer form and send it to us
                    • waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255Monday, January 16, 2017 at 12:27 pm
                      Thank You!!
                  • pipermc11
                    pipermc11Sunday, January 8, 2017 at 7:56 pm55 starsFeatured
                    All Alex Petroski wants is to send his iPod out into space like his idol, Carl Sagan. He figures that recording his experience leading up to the launch would be a great way to let the future know his story. Unfortunately, sending something into space is harder than it seems, and a new notification from Ancestry.com about Alex's dad leads him across an uncharted mystery... I loved this book so, SO much! Alex was such a lovable character, and I adored his dog, Carl Sagan as well, since pretty much any dog is going to be cute! I also really liked Terra and Zed, and I thought they were interesting and unique characters that added a lot to the story. The format of the book was also interesting, since it was told through recordings from Alex's iPod, so it was almost like a digital or recording diary, which is very unique. I also really enjoyed how the book was able to tackle so many important issues while still making it family friendly and with a ring of innocence, since Alex is only eleven (though at least thirteen in maturity). Alex's situation is terrible, but I feel as if I've learned a lot from him and his experiences without even realizing it! I would definitely recommend this to older readers (10+) or to someone who's interested in science and space, because, not only is it an important read for everyone, but it's also a very intriguing, fun, and fast-paced book!
                    • lrohne2005
                      lrohne2005Sunday, January 8, 2017 at 5:53 pm44 stars
                      11 year old Alex Petroski has a dream. He wants to launch his golden iPod into space, the way Carl Sagan launched his Golden Record into space years ago. He records EVERYTHING on his iPod. One day, Alex heads from his house in Colorado to New Mexico for SHARF, a festival for Rocket Launching. Alex brought his rocket and his iPod, which he records sounds on the train. Along the way, Alex meets Zed, a man who writes on a chalkboard because of his vow of silence, and Steve, a man who has a girlfriend that he doesn't seem to get along with. At SHARF, Alex tries to launch his rocket and iPod into space, but it did not get high. Even though Alex was planning to go back to Colorado after SHARF, he decides to go to Las Angeles after getting an email from Ancestry.com saying there was someone with his long dead dad's name and birthday. He travels with Zed and Steve to the place Ancestry.com says his dad is living. When he gets to this house, he meets Teera, a girl who has the same dad as him that he has never heard of before. In this good but sad book, Alex learns more about friendship, his family and love. I recommend this book to ages 11+. This book can be confusing sometimes because all of this is written like a recording, but I wouldn't want to change it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      twong
                      twong wrote:

                      Rodrick really did staying home
                      Rodrick Rules (Diary of a Wimpy ...

                      twong
                      twong wrote:

                      the party looked so fun and the ...
                      Double Down

                      twong
                      twong wrote:

                      when they were making the about ...
                      Double Down

                      foxtastic
                      foxtastic wrote:

                      I LOVE NARWHAL AND JELLY!!
                      Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt: A ...