Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8U5.666305
Nine years after Mibs's Savvy journey, her cousin Ledge has just turned thirteen . . .

But Ledger Kale's savvy is a total dud--all he does is make little things fall apart. So his parents decide it's safe to head to Wyoming, where it's soon revealed that Ledge's savvy is much more powerful than anyone thought. Worse, his savvy disaster has an outside witness: Sarah Jane Cabot, reporter wannabe and daughter of the local banker. Just like that, Ledge's beloved normal life is over. Now he has to keep Sarah from turning family secrets into headlines, stop her father from foreclosing on Uncle Autry's ranch, and scumble his savvy into control so that, someday, he can go home.

Starring a cast both fresh and familiar, Scumble brilliantly melds Ingrid Law's signature heart and humor with the legendary Wild West.

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on August 17, 2010 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803733070
ISBN-13: 9780803733077
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lpro24
    lpro24Sunday, July 29, 2018 at 2:26 pm55 stars
    It’s a great book so far. This book is very very interesting. I had to stop for a little bit to read a book for school I can’t wait to get back to it
    • happypug12
      happypug12Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 10:27 am55 starsFeatured
      The second book in the Savvy series, Ingrid mixes old and beloved characters up with fresh, new ones. Ledger Kale, our Savvy star in Scumble, dreams that he'll be fast. Not just run-around-the-block-in-five-minutes fast, but run-around-the-WORLD-in-five-seconds fast. Or at least, that's what his dad wants. But instead of the supersonic speed Savvy Ledge has been fantasizing he'll get on his thirteenth birthday, he can wreck ANYTHING man-made. He's a human sledgehammer. To make matters worse, his family decides to attend a family wedding in Wyoming. He ends up staying in Wyoming in hopes that he'll learn to Scumble his Savvy before the summer ends. With Grandma Dollop's special peanut butter jar stolen, a nosy reporter named Sarah Jane snooping around and coming dangerously close to discovering well-kept family secrets, a busted up motorcycle, and screws flying, what could go wrong? I really loved Scumble; it was a page-turner. With no shortage of messes and magic, it really packs a punch of charm and kept me glued to the pages, unable to look away, as if Sarah Jane had written it herself. I recommend this to all fans of the first Savvy book, this one is even better than the first!
      • circus
        circusSunday, February 28, 2016 at 12:33 pm55 stars
        I might read it
        • WolfspiritWednesday, January 6, 2016 at 2:09 pm
          This book was great! I have read Savvy,Scumble,and Switch! But you just need to read till AT LEAST the middle for it to get interesting, don't give up on this book NEVER
          • pandy123
            pandy123Friday, November 27, 2015 at 6:59 pm55 stars
            Scumble is the second book following Savvy, so if you didn't read Savvy, you won't understand it as well. Otherwise, this book is filled with detail and exciting plots!
            • 2213
              2213Monday, September 28, 2015 at 8:30 am
              LOL!
              • saffrared
                saffraredSaturday, May 30, 2015 at 9:28 pm44 stars
                Although this book is kind of coasting on Savvy's glory, Law has managed to pull off an amazing stunt. To write a sequel that is almost as good as its predecessor. Scumble kicks off with the taste of adventure that soon morphs into mystery. And so many mysteries! Why are the birch trees growing so fast at a wedding? Who did Robert love? And how can Jack scumble his savvy?
                • edmodo-9yzvwdgt5k
                  edmodo-9yzvwdgt5kThursday, March 27, 2014 at 7:42 am55 stars
                  I loved this book a ton!!!! If you like characters that have powers you should definently look into reading this book. if you loved Savvy, you should read this book too!!
                  • lmvblue03Wednesday, October 23, 2013 at 4:55 pm
                    ok that sounds good
                    • books247
                      books247Monday, October 21, 2013 at 7:54 pm33 stars
                      I personally diddn't like this book. I read the first couple of chapters or so and thought that it just wasn't as good as savvy.