shiningstar's Activity (131)

  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    When the four Penderwick sisters spend the summer with their absent-minded father at the Arundel estate, they meet Jeffrey Tifton, the owner's son. When their summer adventures drive Jeffrey's mother to threaten him with military school, the sisters hatch a plan to keep him at Arundel. The Penderwicks is perfect for fans of Half Magic.
    Almost 7 years ago
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    If you want a fresh read after the Kane Chronicles or the 39 Clues series, Tombquest is the perfect solution to your globetrotting, Egyptian-mythology needs. When his mother saves his life by unleashing five ancient evils on the world, Alex and his new friend Ren must save the world.
    Almost 7 years ago
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    I received this book last year through a giveaway. This is one of the best stories that I've read in a very long time. And I know that those of you who have already read the books are probably nodding your heads and saying "well, duh, it's Harry Potter!" Honestly though, the stories are so well thought out, the characters are so original, that I can find nothing to complain about. Rowling is a master of her craft and as long as I've known this her books have tempted me. In a strange way, I've tried to avoid reading her books for years. Not because they are bad, but because I like saving the best for last and I would like to thank DOGObooks for finally giving me a chance to succumb to her stories.
    Almost 7 years ago
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    This is practically the modern version of the Westing Game, bigger and better than ever before. In the fast-paced start to this exciting series, the Cahill siblings engage in a globetrotting treasure hunt to uncover their inheritance as they race against the other heirs. With at least three spin-off series, readers will never be bored of the series.
    Almost 7 years ago
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    The Girl Who Could Fly is AMAZING! Piper McCloud and the rest of the misfit cast are so beautifully rendered. After she discovers that she has the ability to fly, Piper is taken to a training facility. There she sees wonderful and terrible things. The surprise ending is heartbreaking and uplifting at once.
    Almost 7 years ago
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    Everyone in Mibs's family gets a "Savvy," a special talent, when they turn thirteen. Before she celebrates her big day, her father is injured in a car crash and all she wants is a good Savvy to save him. Things may not unfold how Mibs imagined, but life is making the most of what you have. Savvy is followed by Scumble (which is also awesome).
    Almost 7 years ago
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    If you weren't satisfied by the conclusion to book seven in the Kingdom Keepers series, fear not, the spin-off has arrived. The gang, Finn, Willa, Maybeck, Charlene, and Philby return in the book that prepares readers for the major plot of the series... without truly getting into it. The next book should get there though.
    Almost 7 years ago
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    Miss Mo LoBeau is such a strong character. From her mysterious heritage as a hurricane baby (she washed up after a storm) to the man searching for the culprit in a murder case looking into her adoptive family. Some of the content in this book my be unsuitable for younger audiences (violence, drinking). Overall, a good mystery read.
    Almost 7 years ago
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    After he is charged with cleaning Alistair Grim's trunk, chimney sweep Grubb discovers the Odditorium. The Odditorium, with all of it's quirky characters and objects, faces the threat of Prince Nightshade and Grubb must defend it.
    Almost 7 years ago
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890 added a book review.
    After London is overcome by ghosts, Lucy Carlyle and Anthony Lockwood hunt them down. Only children are capable of detecting ghosts in this parallel city. Taking on the most haunted house in London may be their biggest challenge yet.
    Almost 7 years ago

Badges (3)

First BookCreate an AvatarWrote 10 Book Reviews

Following (4)

jed
bookworm890
stgymnast
mia30021

Followers (3)

mia30021
ashspikachu03
starshining

Most DOGO Points

RankNameScore
20508smarkitusb62 points
20509sladehannah62 points
20510sky_10162 points
20511sillysophie200862 points
20512shudabs123462 points
20513shiningstar62 points
20514shankydabank12362 points
20515shadowzoned62 points
20516selasuwiwi62 points
20517scisnmic00062 points