Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.5100530
Three ordinary children are brought together by extraordinary events. . .

Giuseppe is an orphaned street musician from Italy, who was sold by his uncle to work as a slave for an evil padrone in the U.S. But when a mysterious green violin enters his life he begins to imagine a life of freedom.

Hannah is a soft-hearted, strong-willed girl from the tenements, who supports her family as a hotel maid when tragedy strikes and her father can no longer work. She learns about a hidden treasure, which she knows will save her family -- if she can find it.
Paperback, 400 pages
Published on October 1, 2011 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545203384
ISBN-13: 9780545203388
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lotte_parker667
    lotte_parker667Friday, July 12, 2019 at 12:01 pm55 stars
    This book probably deserves way more than 5 stars because it was so good! If you read the Invention of Hugo Cabret or saw the movie - you would absolutely love this book. It follows the lives of three kids: Hannah, Giuseppe, and Frederick, who eventually meet each other and go on an amazing adventure. The backgrounds of these characters really interested me, and all of their motives and ideals really pushed the plot forward. The lessons that all of these characters learned by the end were really valuable, and the plot was sooo good! I totally recommend this book to everyone! Hope you love this book as much as I did! ▼・ᴥ・▼ Lotte Parker
    • lotte_parker667
      lotte_parker667Friday, July 12, 2019 at 8:19 am55 starsFeatured
      This book probably deserves way more than 5 stars because it was so good! If you read the Invention of Hugo Cabret or saw the movie - you would absolutely love this book. It follows the lives of three kids: Hannah, Giuseppe, and Frederick, who eventually meet each other and go on an amazing adventure. The backgrounds of these characters really interested me, and all of their motives and ideals really pushed the plot forward. The lessons that all of these characters learned by the end were really valuable, and the plot was sooo good! I totally recommend this book to everyone! Hope you love this book as much as I did! ▼・ᴥ・▼ Lotte Parker
      • meadowlark12
        meadowlark12Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 2:07 pm44 stars
        Three kids, one extraordinary turn of events... Guiseppe, an orphaned street musician working as a slave with a dream of returning to Italy. Hannah, a sensetive but strong hotel maid with a Father who has an infected leg. And Frederick, an apprentice clockmaker with a big secret. Frederick's project, a maid's treasure, and a stunning green violin bring the three together in a dangerous yet thrilling journey.
        • GiuseppeSunday, March 26, 2017 at 9:31 am
          This book has a happy yet sad ending.
          • jasmin99
            jasmin99Friday, September 16, 2016 at 10:30 am33 stars
            I thought it was gonna be so scary but its not
            • damian0619
              damian0619Wednesday, June 18, 2014 at 3:01 pm44 stars
              This book is one the best book in the century. If you read it you can't put it down! Amazing book!
              • damian0619
                damian0619Wednesday, June 18, 2014 at 2:53 pm44 stars
                This book is very good but it has a low Lexar reading level. Recommened for Grade 1-3. Very awesome book.
                • cnicholasb
                  cnicholasbWednesday, May 7, 2014 at 11:16 am55 stars
                  I have read this book over and over and over again because it is soo good
                  • abercrombiegurl
                    abercrombiegurlSaturday, January 26, 2013 at 12:14 pm55 stars
                    this book is really good!!! I like Fredrick and Hannah....their great for each other. :)
                    • india999
                      india999Sunday, January 6, 2013 at 8:29 am44 stars
                      I could not put this book down till i finished it! this is a book that has a clear message- find out what it is!

                      Overdrive Log In

                      Enter your Overdrive library credentials.

                      {{errorMessage}}
                      CancelSave

                      You have successfully checked out the book.

                      Do you want to read the book now?

                      NoYes

                      Error

                      {{errorMessage}}

                      Ok

                      Success

                      {{successMessage}}

                      Ok