Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.940313
A copy of this book may be available in the school library.
Capricorn Cap Anderson has been homeschooled by his hippie grandmother, Rain. When Rain is injured in a fall, Cap is forced to attend the local middle school. Although he knows a lot about Zen Buddhism, nothing has prepared him for the politics of public school.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on August 26, 2008 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423105168
ISBN-13: 9781423105169
58 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • BeetleBeeFriday, August 9, 2019 at 6:44 am
    The characters are great but the ending was to sudden and random. I felt like the plot was just based on a bullied boy that people started to like but it was so messy and random. We also got some side plots that really never had closure. I am an eighth grader and have to read this book. I finished it in two days and It could have been one but I got lazy. I would give it a higher rating if the ending wasn’t so random but the characters are lovable and I grew a connection towards them.
    • Area 51 alienTuesday, August 6, 2019 at 8:22 am
      The book was great! I was reading it for my summer reading.
      • auntieb
        auntiebThursday, May 16, 2019 at 6:27 pm55 stars
        13 Year old Capricorn "Cap" Anderson has always been homeschooled by his grandmother, Rain. They both live at the Garland Community until Rain breaks her hip while picking fruit. Cap drives her into town - yes DRIVES - and learns she will be at the hospital for 8 weeks! So he has to find a place to stay while Rain recovers. Luckily, social worker Mrs. Donelly just happens to have lived at Garland when she was a little girl and sympathizes with Cap and lets him stay with her and her daughter. But Cap doesn't fit in to Claverge or "C Average" Middle School what with his daily practice of Tai Chi (on the schoolyard), long hair, not knowing anything about TV, lockers, or dances, so he is elected president of the 8th grade........just like every other year when the biggest geek is elected to presidency. But Cap is different - he really cares. He starts learning everybody's names, and tries his best to listen and take recommendations from everyone. Just as everyone start warming up to him, there's an accident - and then Cap disappears. Leaving everyone to wonder where he went? What happened to the 8th grade president?!
        • lowkeysavage
          lowkeysavageWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 7:23 am55 stars
          i like this author and decided to read it and now it's my favorite book!!!
          • LoWkeY SaVaGeWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 7:14 am
            i'm doing a book review on it
            • LoWkeY SaVaGeWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 7:12 am
              it's my favorite book!!!!!
              • Sophia468Friday, October 19, 2018 at 5:40 pm
                This is a Great Book and it shows kids that Change is Good and that everyone is different!
                • aria123
                  aria123Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 1:42 pm55 stars
                  The Gordon Korman has the most incredible books in the world. He wrote so many books and they are so incredible. I really wish I had all of his books, I could practicly read all of them in a day. Books are the most awesome thing in the world real.
                  • AwesomeslothFriday, March 2, 2018 at 6:21 pm
                    Best Book EVER
                    • starfish112
                      starfish112Sunday, February 18, 2018 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                      awsome

                      Overdrive Log In

                      Enter your Overdrive library credentials.

                      {{errorMessage}}
                      CancelSave

                      You have successfully checked out the book.

                      Do you want to read the book now?

                      NoYes

                      Error

                      {{errorMessage}}

                      Ok

                      Success

                      {{successMessage}}

                      Ok