Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5Q4.952038
A copy of this book may be available in the school library.
{{availability[ebookId].copiesAvailable}} of {{availability[ebookId].copiesOwned}} available
{{availability[audiobookId].copiesAvailable}} of {{availability[audiobookId].copiesOwned}} available

Based on the real-life adventures of Laura Ingalls Wilder, Little House on the Prairie is the third book in the award-winning Little House series, which has captivated generations of readers. This edition features the classic black-and-white artwork from Garth Williams.

Laura Ingalls and her family are heading to Kansas! Leaving behind their home in the Big Woods of Wisconsin, they travel by covered wagon until they find the perfect spot to build a little house on the prairie. Laura and her sister Mary love exploring the rolling hills around their new home, but the family must soon get to work, farming and hunting and gathering food for themselves and for their livestock. Just when the Ingalls family starts to settle into their new home, they find themselves caught in the middle of a conflict. Will they have to move again?

The nine books in the timeless Little House series tell the story of Laura’s real childhood as an American pioneer, and are cherished by readers of all generations. They offer a unique glimpse into life on the American frontier, and tell the heartwarming, unforgettable story of a loving family.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on February 7, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062470744
ISBN-13: 9780062470744
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hiMonday, March 4, 2019 at 3:45 pm
    Super good, but it was kinda boring and to descriptive
    • sweetcheese
      sweetcheeseSaturday, February 23, 2019 at 8:29 am55 stars
      It kinda tells how life was a long time ago
      • FunKIdWednesday, February 6, 2019 at 7:11 am
        good.
        • wiccanbat666
          wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 2:23 pm55 stars
          It just isn't possible for me to be objective about the Little House books. They were THE go to books for me as a child, and the comfort books as a teenager. This one is certainly written at a younger level, but I still loved reading about all of the work it took to run a farm
          • akjhvkwljnvTuesday, January 2, 2018 at 4:46 pm
            Hated it. To long, to specific. Though pretty long book. Im sort of impressed. Just being truthful here.
            • luna34454
              luna34454Tuesday, March 29, 2016 at 2:28 pm55 stars
              I love this book me and my family read it.😀😀
              • flag1234
                flag1234Saturday, February 27, 2016 at 8:21 am
                I am reading this book for homework
                • firell
                  firellSunday, February 14, 2016 at 7:33 am
                  (WARNING:SPOILER!)I am halfway thru, and so far it's good. It's a about Laura Ingalls Wilder moving west in the westward expansion. They have good times, bad times, almost ate times and in between times. And they almost lost jack😭😭😭! It may be a long book but it's good!
                  • lena1
                    lena1Monday, September 14, 2015 at 3:54 pm
                    I have the book so I think I should read o the computer.
                    • peach4444
                      peach4444Tuesday, June 9, 2015 at 8:51 pm55 stars
                      This is a great book I recommend it to anyone any age. The book is about two sisters Laura and Mary who travel on a wagon with their family. This is a true story even their names are real. There's Laura's great Grandma Martha Morse, Laura's Grandma Charlotte tucker, Laura's Mother Caroline Quiner, Then there is Laura Ingalls (Main Character) and Laura's Daughter Rose Wilder.

                      Overdrive Log In

                      Enter your Overdrive library credentials.

                      {{errorMessage}}
                      CancelSave

                      You have successfully checked out the book.

                      Do you want to read the book now?

                      NoYes

                      Error

                      {{errorMessage}}

                      Ok

                      Success

                      {{successMessage}}

                      Ok