Gregor The Overlander (Underland Chronicles)

Gregor The Overlander (Underland Chronicles)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.855665
A copy of this book may be available in the school library.
{{availability[ebookId].copiesAvailable}} of {{availability[ebookId].copiesOwned}} available
{{availability[audiobookId].copiesAvailable}} of {{availability[audiobookId].copiesOwned}} available
This irresistible first novel tells the story of a quiet boy who embarks on a dangerous quest in order to fulfill his destiny -- and find his father -- in a strange world beneath New York City.

When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland, where spiders, rats, cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. This world is on the brink of war, and Gregor's arrival is no accident. A prophecy foretells that Gregor has a role to play in the Underland's uncertain future. Gregor wants no part of it -- until he realizes it's the only way to solve the mystery of his father's disappearance. Reluctantly, Gregor embarks on a dangerous adventure that will change both him and the Underland forever.
Paperback
Published on November 3, 2016 by SCHOLASTIC CHILDREN'S BOOKS
ISBN-10: 1407172581
ISBN-13: 9781407172583
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Yeet_YeetFriday, July 19, 2019 at 6:38 pm
    The rating for this means it's meant for children but there are many scenes where you really question that. In the last book, there's a war, and it describes the body and how he's feeling. Literally one of the scenes has a sentence saying "They were fighting on a carpet of corpses" If that counts as children's books then I don't know what to tell you. Very good book series.
    • reader_red
      reader_redFriday, July 19, 2019 at 8:51 am44 stars
      After Gregor accidently falls through a grate in his laundry room, he reluctantly goes on a quest to find his father. All the while he must protect his baby sisters from the many dangers in this strange Underland.
      • alSunday, June 9, 2019 at 11:43 am
        exiting
        • MasonTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 7:47 am
          Amazing action packed story
          • boiWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 10:53 am
            I liked this book because it had action, but it was missing that real feeling to it.
            • vincentThursday, December 6, 2018 at 10:02 am
              The OverLander is about a kid named Gregor. Gregor lives with his mom and sister named Boots. Gregor has been wondering for awhile where his dad went. His dad went in the laundry room and then never came back. His mom and other parts of the family thinks he’s dead. Gregor thinks that his dad is still alive somewhere. One day Gregor had to go and get laundry from the laundry room. Gregor took Boots with him and they started going to the laundry room. When Gregor stepped foot in the room he started getting a weird feeling. Then suddenly everything started to shake and Gregor fated. Gregor woke up and Boots was just running around. Then Gregor realized he was in another world. Gregor started to panic. He found people, but they looked different and called themselves OverLanders. They said he was part of a legend and needed to help them. What will Gregor do and what do The Overlanders want from him? I really like this book because it teaches you to always be brave. The reading level for this book is 6-7 grade. People who would enjoy this book would be people who like adventure and mythical animals. The author is Suzanne Collins and the book was published on September 1 2003. The grade level is 4
              • Kennedy08Wednesday, September 5, 2018 at 4:51 pm
                I haven’t read this book yet but it sounds like a great one. And falling is keep nd of Viollent. I don’t care if I spelled viollent wrong can someone tell me how to spell it
                • 05cjackson
                  05cjacksonWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 4:38 pm
                  I read this book in book club at school and I have to say, this was a pretty good book. It was almost "scary" in some parts but over all, I really liked this book, and I agree with lollypopies, that was my favorite part too!!!
                  • lollypopies
                    lollypopiesMonday, December 26, 2016 at 2:51 pm
                    If you could only read one series of books per year, read this one. It adds a lot of suspense and drama. My favorite part is where Henry falls, and Gregor leaps and is caught by Ares.
                    • scooby2016
                      scooby2016Friday, September 16, 2016 at 10:34 am55 stars
                      This book series is my favorite!!! I love how mysterious it is. I hope Suzanne collins makes more books like this one!!!!!

                      Overdrive Log In

                      Enter your Overdrive library credentials.

                      {{errorMessage}}
                      CancelSave

                      You have successfully checked out the book.

                      Do you want to read the book now?

                      NoYes

                      Error

                      {{errorMessage}}

                      Ok

                      Success

                      {{successMessage}}

                      Ok