Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7R6.051659
A copy of this book may be available in the school library.
Caddie Woodlawn, which has been captivating young readers since 1935, was awarded the John Newbery Medal for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Now it is in a brand-new edition with lively illustrations by Trina Schart Hyman. In her new foreword, Carol Ryrie Brink lovingly recalls the real Caddie, who was her grandmother, and tells how she often "sat spellbound, listening, listening!" as Caddie told stories of her pioneer childhood. Children everywhere will love redheaded Caddie with her penchant for pranks. Scarcely out of one scrape before she is into another, she refuses to be a "lady," preferring instead to run the woods with her brothers. Whether she is crossing the lake on a raft, visiting an Indian camp, or listening to the tales of the circuit rider, Caddie's adventures provide an exciting and authentic picture of life on the Wisconsin frontier in the 1860s. And readers will discover, as Caddie learns what growing up truly means, that it is not so very different today.
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on June 5, 2007 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 141694818X
ISBN-13: 9781416948186
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Mimi. rileyFriday, July 19, 2019 at 11:27 pm
    I love it very much , because it was very interesting and awesome!!!!!!!!πŸ•ŠπŸŽŠπŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜
    • reader2009
      reader2009Friday, July 19, 2019 at 9:19 pm55 stars
      This book is about a girl named Caroline Woodlawn. She is not a typical girl or as lady like as you would expect and she prefers to play outside and get into mischief. She has many fun adventures throughout the book that will interest you. Everyone should read this book!
      • olliebob
        olliebobFriday, October 27, 2017 at 12:32 pm55 stars
        Caddie Woodlawn is a Wisconsin girl in the 1860s. She spends all her time with two of her brothers, rather than her sisters. She’s friends with Indians, plays pranks on her girly girl cousin. She sometimes feels like she has to prove herself to her brothers. She has a talk with her dad and realizes she can still be strong while being ladylike.
        • tomboyThursday, September 28, 2017 at 7:36 am
          How do you read it online??????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
          • suchcuteom
            suchcuteomSaturday, April 25, 2015 at 8:38 am55 stars
            It is telling of life in Wisconsin as the Civil war passes and how the whites are scared of the Indians. There is a REALLY sad part that is in the movie but not in the book!
            • rader5
              rader5Friday, February 27, 2015 at 2:58 pm55 starsFeatured
              My friends and I read this book at our book club.This book was about a girl who is a tom boy. She does every dirty thing her brothers do.Her name is Caddie WoodLawn.Her mothers sister comes and she is like a very rich lady. She teaches Caddie to be a lady and then she wants to be both a lady and be a tom boy. This was the best book ever.
              • kell-bell
                kell-bellFriday, March 21, 2014 at 7:51 pm55 stars
                I love this book! I haven't read it all, but I read the back and it was so cool. I got interested and now I am almost halfway through. This book is a story about the life and adventures of a girl named Caddie Woodlawn. When caddie moved to the edge of the forest from Bostian, she was so weak and sick that she almost died. her sister died though from their disease- *sob* -so her father asked her mother; "please let Caddie run wild with the boys. she is so sick I don't know what else will cure her. You can raise the other kids however you like, just let me have Caddie." and Caddie's mother, who regrets it now, let Caddie run with the boys. :) It makes me happy because it is true and she is a girl in those times who is not a weak sewing girl. Count me in!
                • written_dance
                  written_danceWednesday, March 20, 2013 at 2:30 pm55 stars
                  Not as action packed as some other books, but it's sweet! Caddy is born in the age of cow-boys and Indians, so it can't not be exciting! It shows a view of what it was like to be a child of her time period. But don't worry, not boring!
                  • shasta
                    shastaSaturday, October 20, 2012 at 8:52 am55 stars
                    This book is great! It is so exciting and to actually believe that it is a true story is unbelievable! It has great suspense but it is not a mystery so it is a great combination. I would read this book if I were you!
                    • melmoo
                      melmooSaturday, May 5, 2012 at 3:52 am22 stars
                      this book was very very boring, plus i hated the narrator because you dont know who he or she is talking about!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                      Overdrive Log In

                      Enter your Overdrive library credentials.

                      {{errorMessage}}
                      CancelSave

                      You have successfully checked out the book.

                      Do you want to read the book now?

                      NoYes

                      Error

                      {{errorMessage}}

                      Ok

                      Success

                      {{successMessage}}

                      Ok