Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 9Grades 2 - 8V4.18941

Are you brave enough for Scary Stories?

Some boys and girls were at a party one night. There was a graveyard down the street, and they were talking about how scary it was.

"Don't ever stand on a grave after dark," one of the boys said. "The person inside will grab you."

"A grave doesn't scare me," said one of the girls. "I'll do it right now. . . ."

Welcome to the macabre world of Scary Stories, where folklorist Alvin Schwartz offers up the most alarming collection of horror, dark revenge, and supernatural events of all time. Here is a selection of extraordinarily chilling tales along with spine-tingling illustrations by renowned artist Brett Helquist.

Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on July 27, 2010 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060835192
ISBN-13: 9780060835194
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • lexit
    lexitThursday, March 15, 2018 at 8:36 am55 stars
    love love this book it is so much fun to get the creeps. this book is also sometimes very funny.
    • noeltTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 7:15 am
      i love scary books too
      • ajg15
        ajg15Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 9:43 am55 stars
        I absolutely love scary stories! My dad gave me this book when I was little, and it scared me, but now I don't know why I was scared cause I love them so so much. I read the stories to my little brother and sisters and they love them to. This is an awesome book!
        • KRONOSGAMING77Thursday, March 23, 2017 at 9:41 pm
          Bruh i read this and it is soooooo unscary but in a way kinda good
          • 360 masterThursday, March 23, 2017 at 7:10 am
            they are good
            • ????Tuesday, March 21, 2017 at 5:42 am
              Not scary at ALL!!!!
              • orionaesthetics
                orionaestheticsThursday, March 16, 2017 at 4:45 pm
                Oh man.. This book was my childhood... They didn't scare me THAT much, but OVERALL I loved it.
                • john cenaThursday, March 16, 2017 at 3:15 pm
                  this is a cool story
                  • batmanThursday, March 16, 2017 at 3:13 pm
                    it is not scary at all
                    • baylenThursday, March 16, 2017 at 7:24 am
                      how do you read the books

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      sarah malone wrote:

                      I am positive this book is aweso...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdo...

                      eyemanm wrote:

                      the book is reeally good but wha...
                      Five Nights at Freddy's: The Sil...

                      mysteryturtle24

                      I picked up this book at my scho...
                      The One Safe Place

                      asianmom19
                      asianmom19 wrote:

                      I've collected all of the Dork D...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      Our Apps and Plugins