Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 9Grades 2 - 8V4.18941

Are you brave enough for Scary Stories?

Some boys and girls were at a party one night. There was a graveyard down the street, and they were talking about how scary it was.

"Don't ever stand on a grave after dark," one of the boys said. "The person inside will grab you."

"A grave doesn't scare me," said one of the girls. "I'll do it right now. . . ."

Welcome to the macabre world of Scary Stories, where folklorist Alvin Schwartz offers up the most alarming collection of horror, dark revenge, and supernatural events of all time. Here is a selection of extraordinarily chilling tales along with spine-tingling illustrations by renowned artist Brett Helquist.

Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on July 27, 2010 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060835192
ISBN-13: 9780060835194
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • gFriday, November 2, 2018 at 7:18 am
    i love this book
    • lexit
      lexitThursday, March 15, 2018 at 8:36 am55 stars
      love love this book it is so much fun to get the creeps. this book is also sometimes very funny.
      • noeltTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 7:15 am
        i love scary books too
        • ajg15
          ajg15Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 9:43 am55 stars
          I absolutely love scary stories! My dad gave me this book when I was little, and it scared me, but now I don't know why I was scared cause I love them so so much. I read the stories to my little brother and sisters and they love them to. This is an awesome book!
          • KRONOSGAMING77Thursday, March 23, 2017 at 9:41 pm
            Bruh i read this and it is soooooo unscary but in a way kinda good
            • 360 masterThursday, March 23, 2017 at 7:10 am
              they are good
              • ????Tuesday, March 21, 2017 at 5:42 am
                Not scary at ALL!!!!
                • orionaesthetics
                  orionaestheticsThursday, March 16, 2017 at 4:45 pm
                  Oh man.. This book was my childhood... They didn't scare me THAT much, but OVERALL I loved it.
                  • john cenaThursday, March 16, 2017 at 3:15 pm
                    this is a cool story
                    • batmanThursday, March 16, 2017 at 3:13 pm
                      it is not scary at all

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      ashton wrote:

                      i have read that book and it is ...
                      Wonder

                      jeff wrote:

                      I have unlimited wins
                      FoRtNiTe: 100+ Funny Fortnite me...

                      WINGS OF FIRE F wrote:

                      This is awesome I’ve read this b...
                      Wings of Fire Book Three: The Hi...

                      Our Apps and Plugins