Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 9Grades 2 - 8V4.18941

Are you brave enough for Scary Stories?

Some boys and girls were at a party one night. There was a graveyard down the street, and they were talking about how scary it was.

"Don't ever stand on a grave after dark," one of the boys said. "The person inside will grab you."

"A grave doesn't scare me," said one of the girls. "I'll do it right now. . . ."

Welcome to the macabre world of Scary Stories, where folklorist Alvin Schwartz offers up the most alarming collection of horror, dark revenge, and supernatural events of all time. Here is a selection of extraordinarily chilling tales along with spine-tingling illustrations by renowned artist Brett Helquist.

Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on July 27, 2010 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060835192
ISBN-13: 9780060835194
29 Book Reviews
  • chocoman
    chocomanThursday, April 8, 2021 at 9:39 pm33 stars
    This book is absolutely terrifying and also goofy. this book has a lot of jump scares cause when you turn the page, you see scary stuff. -neji recommends
    • Ananya Mishra Saturday, September 19, 2020 at 1:14 am
      it was a amazing book 📖
      • Akemi says goFriday, September 18, 2020 at 9:16 pm
        BEST BOOK EVER PUBLISHED IN HISTORY
        • kyleelove2009
          kyleelove2009Monday, November 25, 2019 at 9:03 am55 stars
          i wanted to read the book because it is scary and it had a funny stories some of them where really scary like i wanted to hide with my friends. I would read this book if you want to be scared!
          • hollidayj12939
            hollidayj12939Monday, August 5, 2019 at 10:32 am55 stars
            its really a great book
            • gFriday, November 2, 2018 at 7:18 am
              i love this book
              • lexit
                lexitThursday, March 15, 2018 at 8:36 am55 stars
                love love this book it is so much fun to get the creeps. this book is also sometimes very funny.
                • noeltTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 7:15 am
                  i love scary books too
                  • ajg16
                    ajg16Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 9:43 am55 stars
                    I absolutely love scary stories! My dad gave me this book when I was little, and it scared me, but now I don't know why I was scared cause I love them so so much. I read the stories to my little brother and sisters and they love them to. This is an awesome book!
                    • KRONOSGAMING77Thursday, March 23, 2017 at 9:41 pm
                      Bruh i read this and it is soooooo unscary but in a way kinda good