Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 9Grades 2 - 8V4.18941

Are you brave enough for Scary Stories?

Some boys and girls were at a party one night. There was a graveyard down the street, and they were talking about how scary it was.

"Don't ever stand on a grave after dark," one of the boys said. "The person inside will grab you."

"A grave doesn't scare me," said one of the girls. "I'll do it right now. . . ."

Welcome to the macabre world of Scary Stories, where folklorist Alvin Schwartz offers up the most alarming collection of horror, dark revenge, and supernatural events of all time. Here is a selection of extraordinarily chilling tales along with spine-tingling illustrations by renowned artist Brett Helquist.

Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on July 27, 2010 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060835192
ISBN-13: 9780060835194
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • lexit
    lexitThursday, March 15, 2018 at 8:36 am55 stars
    love love this book it is so much fun to get the creeps. this book is also sometimes very funny.
    • noeltTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 7:15 am
      i love scary books too
      • ajg15
        ajg15Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 9:43 am55 stars
        I absolutely love scary stories! My dad gave me this book when I was little, and it scared me, but now I don't know why I was scared cause I love them so so much. I read the stories to my little brother and sisters and they love them to. This is an awesome book!
        • KRONOSGAMING77Thursday, March 23, 2017 at 9:41 pm
          Bruh i read this and it is soooooo unscary but in a way kinda good
          • 360 masterThursday, March 23, 2017 at 7:10 am
            they are good
            • ????Tuesday, March 21, 2017 at 5:42 am
              Not scary at ALL!!!!
              • orionaesthetics
                orionaestheticsThursday, March 16, 2017 at 4:45 pm
                Oh man.. This book was my childhood... They didn't scare me THAT much, but OVERALL I loved it.
                • john cenaThursday, March 16, 2017 at 3:15 pm
                  this is a cool story
                  • batmanThursday, March 16, 2017 at 3:13 pm
                    it is not scary at all
                    • baylenThursday, March 16, 2017 at 7:24 am
                      how do you read the books

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews


                      In this heartwarming novel by R....


                      Amazing book. You never lived un...
                      The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Oly...

                      bestever22 wrote:

                      This is my life in 2 weeks


                      This book exceeded my expectations.
                      Weird But True Animals