Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.899592

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She's trying to break out of prison--even though if she succeeds, she'll be the Commonwealth's most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit's grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn't know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother's whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

An NPR Best Book of 2013

Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on February 5, 2013 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312642962
ISBN-13: 9780312642969
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Mr. Mystery Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 5:16 pm
    This book is amazing and contains so many good things in it that it feels like the glamor of a lunar forces you to not put it down.
    • HaydenThursday, October 12, 2017 at 12:25 pm
      This is a great book even for a male 7th grader like me!
      • Juju_ThereaderMonday, May 8, 2017 at 1:33 pm
        Im in the fourth grade and on Scarlet page 320 SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO AMAZING
        • Nk.onyiWednesday, June 8, 2016 at 8:52 am
          Im going to sixth grade and im finally on winter!!Yay!Its super interesting!!
          • 20vg
            20vgThursday, September 3, 2015 at 7:37 am
            i just started this book and its good so far and can't wait to read more and see what happend to her grandma. :)
            • omegafox9
              omegafox9Thursday, January 22, 2015 at 12:19 pm
              love. this. book!!!
              • minecraftmoo123
                minecraftmoo123Wednesday, April 30, 2014 at 9:49 pm55 stars
                LOVE IT! ;0
                • minecraftmoo123
                  minecraftmoo123Wednesday, April 30, 2014 at 9:32 pm55 stars
                  LOVE IT! ;0
                  • Marissa Meyer<3Wednesday, April 30, 2014 at 8:35 pm
                    This book is awesome I finished Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress. I'm just waiting for Winter! Please read this book! It's awesome, thrilling,exciting, and a favorite of most people who read it. However, I recommend you read Cinder first :-)
                    • mags
                      magsFriday, February 21, 2014 at 7:13 pm55 stars
                      Awesome book! I finished books 1, 2, and 3 in 4 days. That's how much I like this series!