Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12X6.057148
Recounts the adventures of Mibs Beaumont, whose 13th birthday has revealed her ""savvy""--a magical power unique to each member of her family--just as her father is injured in a terrible accident.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 1, 2008 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803733062
ISBN-13: 9780803733060
233 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • belle252
    belle252Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 9:42 pm55 stars
    Ingrid is an exceptional writer who brings the true art of reading and puts it in a masterpiece named Savvy. The Beaumont family has- what you can say- superpowers A.K.A. savvies. On their thirteenth birthday, they discover one savvy, and Mibs is turning thirteen. Everything is awesome- well, that is until a few days before her birthday, where her poppa gets hurt in an accident. Her mom and brother go to the hospital, but she is left behind. Now, the author adds the elect of sneaking in a delivery bus and running away from Mibs' thirteenth party. It will take more than a savvy- it will take love, hope, and determination to traverse obstacles and save her poppa.
    • herminefanhd
      herminefanhdThursday, February 6, 2020 at 9:45 pm
      I am going to read this book, and five people, including my best friend and the librarian have told me that it is a great book. Cant wait to read it!
      • unipup_dogonews
        unipup_dogonewsWednesday, February 5, 2020 at 3:46 pm55 stars
        I heard from my friends that this book is superb. It sounds super interesting and cool. I would definitely want to read this book. Does anyone even know what savvy means? Well anyways this book has the most unique title that I have ever seen. Best to book to be wanting to read ever!!
        • sreadergirl
          sreadergirlThursday, September 26, 2019 at 11:07 am
          So I have not finished this book yet and I am really only at the beginning but so far it is really good and it is about this girl and she is turning 13 and that’s when the kids in her family get their Savvy but her dad gets in a car crash the day before her birthday.
          • applemango
            applemangoWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 8:17 pm44 stars
            Savvy is about Mibs and everbody in the family...on their 13th birthday they get a special power. For example her brother Rocket has the power of electrifying things. When Mibs wakes up and she thinks that she "cures" the turtle she thinks her savvy power is to cure people and animals...when her papa gets into an accident she thinks she can cure him. However, she learns that her savvy power is different.....
            • gracesonWednesday, March 20, 2019 at 10:48 am
              Join Mibs (Mississippi)in this strong tale of finding her power. Mibs comes from one family that has savvies (powers).If your from one of the special families,on your 13th birthday you get your savvy. A few days before her birthday,her dad gets in a big accident.On her birthday she misinterprets a pattern and thinks her savvy is waking things up.In hopes of saving her father,at her birthday party,she runs away to try and get to his hospital.Later into the trip she sees that she actually has the savvy to hear people’s thoughts and feelings if they have ink on their body.Thankfully,her dad has a mermaid tattoo. You will laugh,you might cry (I almost did) and you will want to be the characters best friends.Ingrid Law truly made a amazing world with characters that are wonderfully down to earth.I would say if you like any genre of book,you should read this.
              • lightninggirl
                lightninggirlTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 9:43 am55 stars
                I read this the summer before seventh grade as a summer reading assignment. I absolutely loved the book! My librarian and I from middle school would discuss the book and during ravenous reads, our little book club, we would discuss the book. I am currently in ninth grade and I found this quiz to be a marvelous reminder of all the fun ravenous reads lunches and the novel.
                • slytherinfan
                  slytherinfanWednesday, September 19, 2018 at 2:48 pm33 stars
                  I read this book a couple of years ago, and it's amazing!
                  • ellsworth2424
                    ellsworth2424Wednesday, September 19, 2018 at 10:15 am
                    I really liked this book. I would say it's magical! It's about an entire family that have "savvy," which means special powers. The book is as adventurous and fun as the family it's about. Savvy makes you want to be part of the Beaumont family.
                    • dolphin8
                      dolphin8Friday, August 24, 2018 at 6:50 pm55 stars
                      this is a rely good book it has lots of rely good things. in fact i got my new book today this book is about magic . the characters stop going to school when they get their magic and its rely neat.