A fascinating, funny and moving Victorian novel featuring Hetty Feather.

Hetty Feather was just a baby when her mother left her at the Foundling Hospital. Hetty longed to find her real mum -- and finally her wish was granted. But just as they have found each other, they are separated again, as Hetty leaves the home to become a maid of all work to Mr Buchanan. Set in London in the 1870s, this sequel to Hetty Feather is a wonderfully evocative and original historical novel, perfect for girls of eight and older.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on October 31, 2011 by Doubleday UK
ISBN-10: 0385618921
ISBN-13: 9780385618922
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • donthavecovid19
    donthavecovid19Friday, October 16, 2020 at 8:45 am55 stars
    Brilliant read more of her books!!!
    • angie33
      angie33Friday, September 16, 2016 at 8:29 am55 stars
      Love it!If we could put more stars I would give 20 !
      • sushiaweso
        sushiawesoTuesday, March 17, 2015 at 11:08 pm55 stars
        This book is about a girl who is left a foundling hospital when she is a baby. She diesn't have a dad she just has her mum Ida and her. Once she has been at the hospital for a long time she moves to Mrs Smiths house and becomes a slave. Whenever she can she writes letters to her mum. She gets given stamps by a man who steels his memoirs book which is really important to her. She plans to set of on a trip to see her mum but she refuses to go until she gets her memoirs book back. She then steels the book from a draw in the mans office. Once she gets to see her mum she has a doctor come and see her because she has a very bad cough. She then has to go to the infirmary.
        • emeraldstar
          emeraldstarSunday, September 28, 2014 at 1:51 am
          Sapphire Battersea lives in the foundling hospital in the first bit of the story but then she moves away and goes and works at mr.Bhacanans as a maid. I love this story!
          • wow777
            wow777Saturday, February 1, 2014 at 1:16 am44 stars
            I'm reading sapphire battersea today on the 1/2/2014. It's very good and continues on from Hetty feather. If u have read my recent review on Hetty feather u will know that Hetty is in the hospital. But now she found out that one the Maids Is really her mother! Then when a mean girl found out she told the head maid and Hettys mom was kicked out. Find out the rest by reading sapphire battersea!
            • watermelon11
              watermelon11Saturday, December 15, 2012 at 9:30 am
              i read the first one and this one but i really want the third edition!
              • rara
                raraSaturday, September 22, 2012 at 5:59 am
                i didn't read it all because my mum took it back to the library when i was only halfway through!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( but im still glad iv at least read half of it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
                • mollypop1
                  mollypop1Wednesday, November 2, 2011 at 10:05 am
                  I am so excited it finally here! I am going to buy it ! Well, hopefully ! I've read hetty feather so this will be even better