Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5T4.640273
With this debut book of a new mystery series, Wendelin Van Draanen establishes Samantha Keyes as a crime fighter to watch. Though, actually, the book opens with Sammy watching...a crime in progress. And when the man with the wad of cash in one hand and the open purse in the other catches Sammy watching him, the chase is on--but is Sammy on the trail of the thief, or is he on hers? If the police don't believe Sammy's story about a thief with black gloves, black glasses, and a black beard, she isn't too surprised. Vice principal Caan didn't exactly believe her either when she explained that she couldn't possibly have broken Heather's nose. Well, Sammy's not putting up with this. Does she look like a liar? She knows what she saw and how hard she can hit. And somehow she's going to prove it.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on January 17, 2003 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439981239
ISBN-13: 9780439981231
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bamababy22Monday, November 28, 2016 at 5:34 pm
    If you like books that have troublemakers and drama, you will love this book! Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief will keep you guessing. In this book, Sammy is looking out the window with her binoculars and checking out what's going on below when all of a sudden, she sees someone robbing someone at the Heavenly Hotel. Sammy was now on a mission to find out who it was! If you want to go on an adventure read Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief. I give this book 5 stars!
    • bamababy22
      bamababy22Thursday, November 17, 2016 at 6:14 am55 stars
      If you like books that have someone getting in trouble a lot, than you are going to love this book! In this book, Sammy Keyes has to find out who stole the money from the hotel. She saw the man stealing the money out of her window, but didn't know who he was. To find out more, I ask you to read Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief.
      • kittylover101
        kittylover101Thursday, September 17, 2015 at 1:54 pm55 stars
        Sammy is a detective and she Is a very smart girl, Cant tell you much more because i don't want to spoil it for you but you just have to stick to the story because at some parts it can get a little confusing but otherwise this is a great book and I recommend it!
        • judymoody53
          judymoody53Wednesday, November 26, 2014 at 8:26 am55 stars
          its awesome
          • printian amiscaSaturday, September 13, 2014 at 9:33 am
            i wish i was ready a diary now because sence the summer i never read one
            • mrslawhorn
              Mrs. LawhornFriday, September 12, 2014 at 3:21 pm55 stars
              I wish Sammy Keyes was a real friend of mine, because I love how she stands up for herself and is able to always solve problems, sometimes even better than adults can! Great mystery story, intriguing characters, and lots of funny parts too. I love Sammy Keyes!
              • edmodo-bnqkxxbat4
                edmodo-bnqkxxbat4Tuesday, March 25, 2014 at 2:45 pm55 stars
                i loved this book
                • jonezyboy
                  jonezyboyFriday, March 22, 2013 at 7:23 am
                  C I have read all the books in this series and I liked all of them but I haven't read this one which right noemi trying to get a copy
                  • minotaur
                    minotaurSunday, August 19, 2012 at 1:55 pm55 stars
                    this book was really good !!!!!!!!!! my copy was a used copy from a new and used book store called Haslams.
                    • izzy272727
                      izzy272727Wednesday, August 1, 2012 at 3:34 pm55 stars
                      I read this whole series when i was in 3 to 4th grade so amazing some i think i should of read when i was older but very very great