Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a
For fans of Mr. Lemoncello's Library and the Secret series, and classics like Holes and The Westing Game , here is the first book in a hilarious new series about a girl, her brother, and some super-big globe-trotting adventures.

Samantha Spinner's uncle Paul disappeared, and here's what he left:
* Samantha's sister got a check for $2,400,000,000.
* Samantha's brother got the New York Yankees.
* And Samantha got a rusty red umbrella with a tag hanging off its worn handle. The tag says "Watch out for the RAIN."

Thanks a lot, Uncle Paul.

After all the strawberry waffles, stories, and puzzles they've shared, how could he just leave without saying goodbye? And what is the meaning of that mysterious message?

The answer is simple. Sam knows in her heart that Uncle Paul is in danger. And if he taught her anything, it's that not everything is exactly what it seems. Which is why we should pay close attention to that rusty red umbrella, and never trust a monkey at a hula-hoop contest.

The RAIN is coming and Samantha Spinner is about to find herself mixed up in some super-important, super-dangerous, super-secret plans.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524720003
ISBN-13: 9781524720001
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • AydenMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:57 pm
    Want to read
    • jwarne
      jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:54 pm55 stars
      The thing I liked the most about this book was the secret puzzles. I liked that I could read the story, which was really funny, but also solve the puzzles. I love things like this, and this book did it really well.
      • ajg15
        ajg15Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 2:05 pm11 star
        Samantha uncle Paul disappears and has left Buffy a check for 2,400,000,000, nipper the new York Mets and Samantha an old red umbrella with a note that says "watch out for the rain" didn't really like the book and couldn't really get into it. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's reviews
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 2:45 pm33 stars
          Samantha, spinner and the super secret plans Samantha went searching for uncle Paul nobody had seen him for days ...............on Friday morning he made strawberry waffles and he helped everyone get ready for the day and went with them to the bus stop and walked there dog to the park and back after he got home from the dog walk he shuffled across the driveway in his orange flip-fools to his one room apartment above the garage that is the last time everyone saw him - now go read it if you wanna know the rest!There was so many clues!😝 it was ok I recommend to kids (haha) and rate it 3 stars-pizzagirl7
          • readytoread
            readytoreadFriday, July 20, 2018 at 5:09 pm44 stars
            It is very interesting. It was written by an actually game maker. So it is packed with puzzles, secret websites, and mystery. The only part I didn't like is how Nipper didn't try to get his team back, and his parents didn't even do anything about it.
            • jso6
              jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 8:15 am33 stars
              When Samantha's Uncle goes missing, Samantha gets a rusty red umbrella, while her siblings get better things. Later, Samantha's brother uses a magnifying glass and finds a map. I liked this book because it was interesting, and the plot was good.
              • applemango
                applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 5:58 pm33 stars
                The reason why, in the first place I decided to read this book is because the cover seemed interesting, I am not a cover judge but this time I just had to. This book was a fine book, and pretty fun but there was just something that was missing. I don't know if it was the plot or the dent of details or the blurry main idea but I just have to say that something was missing.
                • auntieb
                  auntiebSaturday, June 16, 2018 at 10:38 am55 stars
                  Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans is a good book where a girl, Samantha gets a old umbrella from her mysteriously vanished Uncle Paul, meanwhile her sister gets over two billion dollars and her brother gets the New York Yankees, leaving Samantha to wonder what is so special about this umbrella. Watch out for the RAIN.
                  • extrememsb
                    extrememsbWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 6:18 pm44 stars
                    Ever wanted to travel around the world? Travel with Samantha and Nipper for a journey across the globe. One day their grandfather mysteriously disappears. Her sister gets a check for $2,400,000,000, her brother gets to own the New York Yankees, and she just gets and umbrella that has a tag on it and says " Watch out for the RAIN!" She thinks that this was just unfair. Later her brother discovers some weird shapes on the umbrella. Samantha figures out that it is a map for secret underground passageways. She thinks that this would be the only way to find her uncle. Both of them travel around the world to places such as Paris and Egypt. The RAIN is actually a secret group of ninjas. The secret train they travel on is called the Magtrain. I really liked this book. It was one of my favorites. The end was like a cliffhanger that forces you to read the next book. This was one of my most favorite books!
                    • tybook2018
                      tybook2018Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 10:08 am
                      Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans is kind of like a spy and mystery book. I like the setting and the adventures that the characters take too.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      soyster
                      soyster wrote:

                      This book was nice to read. It d...
                      Book Scavenger (The Book Scaveng...

                      soyster
                      soyster wrote:

                      I enjoyed reading this book very...
                      The Door to the Lost

                      unibrowboi
                      unibrowboi wrote:

                      well you should read it
                      Waste of Space (Moon Base Alpha)

                      unibrowboi
                      unibrowboi wrote:

                      this book has the right about of...
                      A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte ...

                      Our Apps and Plugins