Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7n/an/an/an/a
For fans of Mr. Lemoncello's Library and the Secret series, and classics like Holes and The Westing Game , here is the first book in a hilarious new series about a girl, her brother, and some super-big globe-trotting adventures.

Samantha Spinner's uncle Paul disappeared, and here's what he left:
* Samantha's sister got a check for $2,400,000,000.
* Samantha's brother got the New York Yankees.
* And Samantha got a rusty red umbrella with a tag hanging off its worn handle. The tag says "Watch out for the RAIN."

Thanks a lot, Uncle Paul.

After all the strawberry waffles, stories, and puzzles they've shared, how could he just leave without saying goodbye? And what is the meaning of that mysterious message?

The answer is simple. Sam knows in her heart that Uncle Paul is in danger. And if he taught her anything, it's that not everything is exactly what it seems. Which is why we should pay close attention to that rusty red umbrella, and never trust a monkey at a hula-hoop contest.

The RAIN is coming and Samantha Spinner is about to find herself mixed up in some super-important, super-dangerous, super-secret plans.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on February 27, 2018 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524720003
ISBN-13: 9781524720001
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • applemango
    applemangoSunday, June 17, 2018 at 5:58 pm33 stars
    The reason why, in the first place I decided to read this book is because the cover seemed interesting, I am not a cover judge but this time I just had to. This book was a fine book, and pretty fun but there was just something that was missing. I don't know if it was the plot or the dent of details or the blurry main idea but I just have to say that something was missing.
    • auntieb
      auntiebSaturday, June 16, 2018 at 10:38 am55 stars
      Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans is a good book where a girl, Samantha gets a old umbrella from her mysteriously vanished Uncle Paul, meanwhile her sister gets over two billion dollars and her brother gets the New York Yankees, leaving Samantha to wonder what is so special about this umbrella. Watch out for the RAIN.
      • extrememsb
        extrememsbWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 6:18 pm44 stars
        Ever wanted to travel around the world? Travel with Samantha and Nipper for a journey across the globe. One day their grandfather mysteriously disappears. Her sister gets a check for $2,400,000,000, her brother gets to own the New York Yankees, and she just gets and umbrella that has a tag on it and says " Watch out for the RAIN!" She thinks that this was just unfair. Later her brother discovers some weird shapes on the umbrella. Samantha figures out that it is a map for secret underground passageways. She thinks that this would be the only way to find her uncle. Both of them travel around the world to places such as Paris and Egypt. The RAIN is actually a secret group of ninjas. The secret train they travel on is called the Magtrain. I really liked this book. It was one of my favorites. The end was like a cliffhanger that forces you to read the next book. This was one of my most favorite books!
        • tybook2018
          tybook2018Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 10:08 am
          Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans is kind of like a spy and mystery book. I like the setting and the adventures that the characters take too.
          • nybook2018
            nybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:38 pm
            Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans is a fun book of secret stuff. When I first saw it at the library I thought it was boring. But later it turned out to be great!
            • eybook2018
              eybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 11:53 am
              Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans Is a great book that enjoy. Its full of mystery and adventure to me. Me just looking at the title tells me that this book is very interesting and fun and i really enjoyed the book!
              • awesomessb
                awesomessbTuesday, June 12, 2018 at 10:25 am33 starsFeatured
                "The Rain is coming." That is the message Samantha Spinner received along with a old rusty umbrella after Uncle Paul went missing. Her brother got the New York Yankees team, and her sister got a check for two billion, four hundred million dollars. This makes no sense, because Samantha is sure Uncle Paul would've left more behind. But not everything is as it seems. In reality, the umbrella is a map containing multiple landmarks. The mailbox outside their house is a secret passage way to a mag train (a super fast train that runs on magnets. Today, such idea has been proposed, but in Samantha Spinner's world, it is secretly a reality.). The mag train leads to many different famous landmarks where they find clues to possibly solve the mystery of Uncle Paul and why they should keep away from RAIN. This was an interesting book. I enjoyed reading this book. However, I felt sometimes the puzzles or mysteries were too obvious. It was still a good read, but not a must read. A good book for grades 3 and up.
                • bunny_ball
                  bunny_ballWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 11:03 am44 stars
                  I really enjoyed this book. The characters are fun. The kids have a weird uncle and he disappears and leaves surprises for them. Samantha thinks she got a bad surprise from her uncle but she ends up on a really cool adventure. I was always excited to see what would happen next in this story.
                  • emily800
                    emily800Wednesday, May 30, 2018 at 5:06 pm44 stars
                    This book looks really good! I'm really excited to read it! Can anyone tell me more about this awesome book? It looks really good and I'm waiting for it at my library. Did you guys enjoy it? Is it good?
                    • bobelly
                      bobellyTuesday, May 29, 2018 at 12:25 pm55 stars
                      This book was very fun because it was full of mystery and the characters liked to do some things that I do...like figure out puzzles and be active. I also liked the book because there was a little bit of danger but it all turned out good.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this novel is like a game....it ...
                      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this is very good, especially if...
                      The Fourteenth Goldfish

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      sooooooo good. my favorite book ...
                      The Unwanteds

                      unicorn992
                      unicorn992 wrote:

                      this was ok. it was really good ...
                      The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...