Sal and Gabi Break the Universe (A Sal and Gabi Novel, Book 1)

How did a raw chicken get inside Yasmany's locker?
When Sal Vidon meets Gabi Real for the first time, it isn't under the best of circumstances. Sal is in the principal's office for the third time in three days, and it's still the first week of school. Gabi, student council president and editor of the school paper, is there to support her friend Yasmany, who just picked a fight with Sal. She is determined to prove that somehow, Sal planted a raw chicken in Yasmany's locker, even though nobody saw him do it and the bloody poultry has since mysteriously disappeared.
Sal prides himself on being an excellent magician, but for this sleight of hand, he relied on a talent no one would guess . . . except maybe Gabi, whose sharp eyes never miss a trick. When Gabi learns that he's capable of conjuring things much bigger than a chicken--including his dead mother--and she takes it all in stride, Sal knows that she is someone he can work with. There's only one slight problem: their manipulation of time and space could put the entire universe at risk.
A sassy entropy sweeper, a documentary about wedgies, a principal who wears a Venetian bauta mask, and heaping platefuls of Cuban food are just some of the delights that await in his mind-blowing novel gift-wrapped in love and laughter.

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on March 5, 2019 by Rick Riordan Presents
ISBN-10: 1368022820
ISBN-13: 9781368022828
12 Book Reviews
  • satwikagejara
    satwikagejaraSunday, February 14, 2021 at 7:12 pm55 stars
    Sal prides himself on being an excellent magician, but when he starts attending a new school, Gabi Reál discovers Sal's secret: he can reach into other dimensions and pull things into their dimension, including different versions of his dead mother. There's only one problem: Sal's manipulation of time and space is putting the entire universe at risk. Sal, Gabi, and their friends and family, as well as a sassy entropy sweeper, will have to work to make things right. I loved this book and cannot believe it all started with a dead chicken and a dead mother. If Carlos Hernandez had written or writes any more books, I need to read them.
    • kruzingwithk9s
      kruzingwithk9sTuesday, September 1, 2020 at 9:41 am33 stars
      Book was good. Too many not-kid-friendly jokes. Could of been better without that.
      • 123dogsSunday, July 5, 2020 at 5:20 pm
        I really want to read this book
        • cadiebug2008
          cadiebug2008Tuesday, December 17, 2019 at 2:03 pm55 stars
          WOW! This is book is so entertaining! This is a delightfully pleasant book, where Sal Vidon makes friends with overachiever Gabi. Sal, however, is capable of ripping holes in the universe, causing a hole to a random parallel dimension. No one has ever been able to see these holes- until Gabi. As the situation grows, so does the trust in new kid Sal and SCA president Gabi. This is a wonderful book, rich with culture, humor, and friendship. I highly recommend this book- and I can't wait for the sequel!!!!!
          • tabiTuesday, September 24, 2019 at 10:25 am
            it is amazing book
            • 13iamgroot
              13iamgrootMonday, September 16, 2019 at 3:27 pm44 starsFeatured
              This is a wonderful novel by Carlos Hernandez. The main character, Sal, has been sent to the principal's office once a day for the first three days of school. Now, it may sound like Sal is a troublemaker but, in his defense, the first couple of times weren't exactly his fault. However, the third time, it was because he put a dead chicken into a fellow student's locker. Yasmany, who had picked a fight with Sal, was the unlucky victim. Sal has everyone except Gabi, the very dedicated student council president, convinced that he is a very talented magician and that the chicken was all an illusion. To give Sal credit, he IS a very good magician but he also has a very special talent that no one, except his family, knows about. His talent can sometimes be helpful, but it can also cause lots of problems for Sal and his family. Sal makes some very weird (in a good way) friends that he can trust. He helps them out and they help him in "Sal and Gabi Break the Universe". This was a super awesome book and I would totally recommend it. I cannot wait for the sequel to come out!
              • lawalex
                lawalexWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 2:09 pm
                I want to read this book!!
                • chlooe
                  chlooeFriday, May 31, 2019 at 4:49 pm55 stars
                  This book is really great, and I think that everybody should read it. It is one that everyone has to read - in order to understand school drama...
                  • hope Monday, May 20, 2019 at 10:48 am
                    i agree with zzayumi
                    • zzayumi
                      zzayumiFriday, May 17, 2019 at 3:44 am55 stars
                      This is a really good book!