Hospitalized with the dreaded atom bomb disease, leukemia, a child in Hiroshima races against time to fold one thousand paper cranes to verify the legend that by doing so a sick person will become healthy.
Paperback
Published on June 18, 2009 by Puffin Books
32 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • carnagein_cccp
    carnagein_cccpWednesday, September 13, 2017 at 6:01 pm55 stars
    I remember reading this with my friends back in the years. The book was a little too short, but was one of the best WWII books I've read. I haven't read it in years, but I will sum it up. Sadako Sasaki. She is a girl who grew up in post-war Japan, after the bombings. She lived a mile away from Ground Zero. She contracts leukemia, and starts folding paper cranes. In Japan, it is said, that if you fold a thousand paper cranes, the gods will listen to you, and heal you. She couldn't, according to her book, only folding around 700 before becoming too weak. I remember the last line of the book, clear as day, "She never woke up." However, according to her family, she folded more than a thousand before dying. Anyway you slice it, she lives on, as there is a statue of Sadako at the Hiroshima Peace Park.
    • howdygamerFriday, March 4, 2016 at 12:37 pm
      It's my favorite book
      • dongoThursday, December 10, 2015 at 7:55 pm
        best book ever
        • dongoThursday, December 10, 2015 at 7:54 pm
          i like this book because it is abut a girl that got the otomic boom desis. and it is sad to but it is intesting. and that she neded to go to the hospital. and when some days pass in the hospital and then she found her friend there. and they where both in a wheel chair.and the kid all of his famaly died because the otomic boom. but it was only him and here uncle. so that is really sad . and then just one day in the hospital sadako hered that the beds that have wheels on them. sadako hered them and she was worring wat happend and then the doctor came and told the bad news to sadako and she was craing so hard that she went where the window was. and then since then she made 1000 paper crains and so nobody else can go to that same mistake.and sadako was only 11 years old so that really must be hard for her. and just a nother day she was really tired and she went to sleep. and she never woke up but she never got to finish the crains. but someone found them and they wanted to finish them. so scince this day the otmic boom that happend in japan gave the disis to sadako and they made a statue of her so they can remember what she did and with the paper crains they put them araund her neck so people know what she done so they hade to make a statue of her
          • ulyssardongo
            ulyssardongoThursday, December 10, 2015 at 11:27 am
            I recomend this book because it is based on a true story. I recomend this because it was very touching that Sadako got the Adam bom disees. I recomend this book because it was very hopeful because Sadako she thought that if she would fold one thousand paper crains that the gods would grant her a wish. She was going to use that wish so that she could survive the Adam bom disees. I recomend this book because it is very sad that she was going to see her friend one day and he was dead the next morning. I recomend this book because at the starting of the book she was a very good runner and she thought that almost any thing was a sign of good look. irecomend this book because the main character was very hopeful and nice. I recomend this book because it is sad when sadako dies in the hospital. i recomend this book because the main character was hopeful and very kind to others.
            • queen2006
              queen2006Thursday, December 10, 2015 at 11:22 am
              I liked it because the part where sadako was in the hospital she made almost one thousend paper crains. And i thought that it was so criated and i would like to do something creative like her. So i liked liked it because she is the only girl that i have learnd about that was so creative. and the other part that iliked was that when some people in japan did a stacheu of sadako because she died.She is also so nice ,jenores, sweet and creative to the whole world.she is also in insperasion to littlgirls.She is also some thing that has inspired me the most.Iloved this book because it expresses averithing that she has ever soferd.
              • wolf3Thursday, December 10, 2015 at 11:18 am
                This book is sad because Sadako like to run fast but the atomic bomb and she got luckimia and she need to do 1,000 paper cranes but she dies in the end of the boock
                • BluThursday, December 10, 2015 at 11:11 am
                  This book is actually really good it was sad im surprised that it's true i thought it was fake cause i never knew you can get sick by a bombs smoke and die im surprised, She had things to live for "maybe'' but i think it should be good ending not sad endings sometimes i cry if its really sad if its not sad then no sometimes people say its really sad but then when i read it its usually not sad sometimes a lot of bad things happen in japan like bombs.
                  • kaylopez221
                    kaylopez221Thursday, December 10, 2015 at 11:11 am
                    sadako likes to run and she got leukemia because the bom that happend in japan.and its a sad story and happy and she likes to do stuff for her family.and when she was kind.i like it because its sad and its not buring because this happend in read .sadako was a strong girl at all the things you say she do it.
                    • dogsnooper24
                      dogsnooper24Thursday, December 10, 2015 at 10:46 am55 stars
                      this book is really intristing.it is sadand a happy book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      livlovesdogs

                      People are not gonna like me but...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      livlovesdogs

                      It was really good especially si...
                      Illuminate: A Gilded Wings Novel...