Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.844581
Run For Your Life

Jessie lives with her family in the frontier village of Clifton, Indiana, in 1840 -- or so she believes. When diphtheria strikes the village and the children of Clifton start dying, Jessie's mother reveals a shocking secret -- it's actually 1996, and they are living in a reconstructed village that serves as a tourist site. In the world outside, medicine exists that can cure the dread disease, and Jessie's mother is sending her on a dangerous mission to bring back help.

But beyond the walls of Clifton, Jessie discovers a world even more alien and threatening than she could have imagined, and soon she finds her own life in jeopardy. Can she get help before the children of Clifton, and Jessie herself, run out of time?

Hardcover, 184 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ajg16
    ajg16Saturday, August 17, 2019 at 1:43 pm55 stars
    Jessie, a fourteen y/o girl has lived in Clifton, Indiana almost her entire life. When children start getting horribly sick from a disease called diphtheria. Jessie's ma tells her that it IS NOT the year 1840 it is actually the year 1990!! Jessies ma and pa had moved to a historical preserve when she and her sister where very young and have lived there since with other families. Now with the other children being so terribly sick and the medicine supply has stopped it's up to Jessie to secretly leave Clifton and find a man her Ma knew and trust to send help... Before it is to late. I loved this book! I look forward to reading part 2. Very suspenseful and exciting and dangerous through out the entire book. He ever a dull moment. Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
    • ajg16
      ajg16Friday, May 24, 2019 at 2:43 pm55 stars
      O.M.G. I have been trying to remember the name of this book FOREVER! I read it at least 6-7 years ago and recently (maybe in the last 2-3 years) I remembered this book - but I couldn't remember the authors name of even the name of the book - but the plot stuck out in my head! I can't wait to go to the library, I hope they have it!!
      • gameboy333
        gameboy333Friday, November 10, 2017 at 3:31 pm55 stars
        it is my mom's and i's favorite book #loveit a 1000000000000,00000000000000000,0000000/10 rating
        • evaizabooknerd
          evaizabooknerdThursday, June 8, 2017 at 4:11 pm55 stars
          Jessie is a normal teen girl living in Clifton, Indiana in the mid 1800s. She thought. She then finds out everyone in her village, with the exception of several all-knowing people, are trapped in an exhibit. Everyone outside visiting the living museum believe they can go freely whenever they like. Then a disease starts spreading around 'Clifton'. Jessie's family is in danger, and the mean people who founded the museum won't give them the medicine they need. Jessie has to escape and find a doctor who will help them. Will she get used to wearing pants, using a phone and automobiles? Can she save everyone in time? Or will she run out. Haddix uses compelling storytelling, plot twists and chapters that will have you gaping.
          • princessThursday, April 23, 2015 at 2:58 pm
            good bookalong with all the other Hadix books
            • 06191ks
              06191ksTuesday, March 4, 2014 at 12:04 pm55 stars
              This book was really good and left me not wanting to put the book down. It was interesting to compare life in 1840's to the twentieth and twenty first century.
              • rozeb
                rozebSunday, October 6, 2013 at 8:19 am55 stars
                This book is super good. My mom got it for me a while ago and it is on my favorites book shelf. I really like it.
                • tomboy
                  tomboyWednesday, March 20, 2013 at 6:29 pm55 stars
                  I did this for my book report (quadrama) and I read it 4 times but I still want to read it because it is so mysterious and lively. Those of you who love adventures, you're going to love this one.