Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.739471
A unique story of separated twins and the unexpected consequences of their reunion.

Sunny Skyland longs to be reunited with her twin sister, Starr. With only an old photograph, taken a few days before the girls were separated at age three, to guide her, Sunny begins the cross-country journey that she has dreamed of during her ten years in various foster homes. Sunny manages to locate her twin, only to be faced with a whole new challenge.

Award-winning author Peg Kehret combines suspense and action with reflections on the true meaning of family as Sunny learns that sometimes we must let go of our dreams in order to embrace a different, better future.

Paperback, 208 pages
Published on January 20, 2011 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142418498
ISBN-13: 9780142418499
35 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • vbell6589
    vbell6589Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 6:52 am55 stars
    In my opinion, I really liked runaway twin. One reason why is because the girl has a big journey. Another reason why is because she will do anything to find her sister.  *****SPOILER ALERT*****  The last reason why is in a part she finds a big bag of money but asks anyone if it is theirs before taking it. My favorite part is she is she is adopted and she runs away to find her sister but doesn't tell her mom. You might like this book if you like mystery books. You should read this book because it makes you want to keep reading the book.
    • girl01
      girl01Thursday, September 8, 2016 at 7:02 am
      This book inspired me to follow my dreams and never to let anybody stop me.I loved how she never gave up and never turned back on any thing that came her way (tornado or the dog). Also i loved how the book never stopped engaging me. The last thing that I want to say is the first page that I read hooked and that is what engaged me to keep reading.
      • candylove
        candyloveFriday, October 16, 2015 at 5:47 pm33 stars
        Great plot, but lacks the feeling. There was a little bit of feeling, but it wasn't very prominent. It's a great story, but I don't think the interest level is grades 4-8. I think it should be more like 3-5. That sounds more accurate. It's TOTALLY not the appropriate level of reading for an eighth grader. I read this about 6 months ago as a read-aloud, and it was much, much easier to comprehend than any book (other than picture books) that I had read in the past two years. 3 stars for me.
        • 221Thursday, October 15, 2015 at 1:25 pm
          this is a really good book
          • 2213
            2213Monday, September 28, 2015 at 8:30 am
            REALLY GOOD BOOK!!!!!!!!
            • rafael1
              rafael1Wednesday, February 11, 2015 at 9:13 am
              I want to read it because i read her other story, stolen children its a good book i want to read it this one. She is a very good author.
              • lnjhsjjsThursday, November 20, 2014 at 3:31 pm
                Found this on a bookshelf and loved it! Good read! I never lost any interest. Ending is he best!
                • hbraga
                  hbragaThursday, November 6, 2014 at 7:07 am55 stars
                  I really liked the details.
                  • claym
                    Ms. ClayWednesday, October 8, 2014 at 6:03 am
                    This book is about a girls search for her twin sister. Bella thought it was good.
                    • vbecerra
                      vbecerraWednesday, October 1, 2014 at 10:55 am
                      This book is really good it is about twins that got separated when they were little and one of them wants to find the other one.