Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.461156
This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. New York Times Bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff "spins words into gold [Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor winner]."

In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.

To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

A Texas Bluebonnet finalist and winner of the ILA award for middle grade fiction, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm. And don't miss Liesl Shurtliff's other fairy tale retellings: Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk and Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood.

"A fresh riff on the Grimm Brothers' Rumpelstiltskin, told with wit from the impish point of view of the troublemaker himself." —People

"Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." —Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on April 9, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0307977935
ISBN-13: 9780307977939
108 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • belle252
    belle252Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 11:15 am55 stars
    WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS Rump: The True Story of Rumplestiltskin is a remarkable story that catches the reader's attention in every way. In The Mountains, there lived a boy named Rump; well, that was not his name, His mother was dying when he was born, so she was never able to say his full name. Rump soon discovers a talent he possesses, he can spin straw into gold. While he does, the merchant takes advantage of him and makes his life worse than it was. He soon finds that the reason his mother dies was because she was trapped in magic, and he knew he was also trapped. But the real question remains: How will he get untrapped?
    • anney
      anneyTuesday, June 9, 2020 at 10:58 am55 stars
      I love fairy tales. This book is a fairy tale, so that's why I love it. This author is talented with how creative he or she is.
      • happy980Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 8:18 am
        I love this book so much! If anyone wants another story with Rumpelstiltskin in it, I recommend the Flunked series. He isn't in it for the first couple of books, but in the third (I think) he makes a very important appearance. I strongly recommend the series! I read all seven books in like, three weeks. 😁😄
        • singer05
          singer05Monday, May 18, 2020 at 9:43 am55 stars
          I read the book a long time ago but it was so good. I would recommend reading it.😊
          • trashpanda18
            trashpanda18Thursday, July 25, 2019 at 9:32 am44 stars
            i have only read like 4 chapters but i can tell this is an amazing book and that it will be one of my favorite books.
            • watercolrwonder
              watercolrwonderWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 5:00 am55 stars
              I read this book for my 5th grade battle of the books, and have read it many times since! It is such an interesting perspective on the old fairy tale of Rumpelstiltskin. All that "Rump" knows is the first half of his name, and he will only be freed from his curse if he can find out what the other half of his name is!
              • sugarbaby13
                sugarbaby13Monday, February 11, 2019 at 2:50 pm55 stars
                Its very good and I recommended it to a lot of friends and its really funny and shares a really good life lesson.
                • paintlover13
                  paintlover13Tuesday, August 21, 2018 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                  In a world where names determine destinies, the orphaned Rump does not have a chance. But when Rump discovers a remarkable talent, he is entangled in a sticky web of magic. Before long, he begins on a journey both dangerous and wonderful that may just end happily ever after... Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin is a hilarious yet heartfelt tale of discovery and growing up suitable for all ages.
                  • soyster
                    soysterThursday, August 16, 2018 at 8:09 pm33 stars
                    I found the story really intriguing. It was nice to read and I found the story sort of relaxing in its own way. It surprised me.
                    • jwarne
                      jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 4:56 pm55 stars
                      I felt really bad for Rump. I didn't want him to get made fun of for his name anymore, and I was really sad that he lost his mom when he was so little. But, it has a happy ending! So I really enjoyed it.