Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.564411

In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story with a twist of magic, a swirl of darkness, and a whole lot of hope.

Silly is used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters think she's too little for most things—especially when it comes to dealing with their mother's unpredictable moods and outbursts. This summer, Silly feels more alone than ever when her sisters keep whispering and sneaking away to their rooms together, returning with signs that something mysterious is afoot: sporting sunburned cheeks smudged with glitter and gold hair that looks like tinsel.

When Silly is brought into her sisters' world, the truth is more exciting than she ever imagined. The sisters have discovered a magical place that gives them what they truly need: an escape from the complications of their home life. But there are dark truths there, too. Silly hopes the magic will be the secret to saving their family, but she's soon forced to wonder if it could tear them apart.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on September 29, 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062352717
ISBN-13: 9780062352712
2 Book Reviews
  • olliebob
    olliebobover 3 years55 starsFeatured
    This book is beautifully written and heartbreaking. It's a wonderful story about a sweet relationship between four sisters. Their are the 14 year old twins, Eleanor and Astrid. Eleanor is firm and in charge. She can sometimes be bossy but it is nice to have someone else decide what to do. Astrid is dreamy and creative. She is sometimes super wise. Next is 12 year old Marla. She is pouty, and grumpy, and always wants attention. Lastly is 11 year old Priscilla. Silly is always feeling left out by her older sisters. Once they move to their summer home, Silly decides she will be included. Once she finds out where they're always disappearing to, she never wants to leave. These other worlds hold great fun, but also haunting secrets, and Silly wonders if she can save her sister before time runs out.
    • alexpotato
      alexpotatoalmost 4 years55 stars
      To be honest, it’s one of my favourite novels I’ve ever read in my whole life! It’s very interesting and I was hooked onto it quickly. I recommend it for tweens, and, the youngest of large families, because you will be able to relate to the main character. I’ve read this book twice just because it’s awesome!