Perhaps the most famous love story ever written, Romeo and Juliet’s two titular characters have become more than just tragic lovers at the center of a family feud – they have become cultural icons and universal symbols for the overwhelming power of love and the cruelness of fate. There have been more adaptations for stage (including opera and ballet), film and TV than can be counted, and – unlike many writers – William Shakespeare found immediate success and acclaim with this play, which is thought to have been composed between 1591 and 1595 and performed at both The Theater and The Curtain.
Paperback, 210 pages
Published on January 10, 2015 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN-10: 1505852978
ISBN-13: 9781505852974
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • catholic
    catholicFriday, June 19, 2020 at 3:37 pm55 stars
    I love this book because it has romance! Romeo and Juliet were in love at first sight and they decided to get married! They had noticed that both of their families were enemies of each other so they secretly get married by Friar Lawrence.....
    • catholic
      catholicFriday, June 19, 2020 at 3:16 pm55 stars
      I think it is a beautiful story it has romance , action good drawings and places.
      • belle252
        belle252Friday, May 15, 2020 at 12:37 am55 stars
        This is probably the best book I have ever read, this story is about a boy names Romeo who falls in love with Juliet, basically they see each other and fall in love and after talking to each other for 5 minutes they want to get married. It sounds weird but the time this was written things like this were acceptable. But there's one problem their families hate each other and have been doing so for years. They have no one to go too except for Friar Lawrence who secretly gets them married, but right after that happens Romeo kills Juliets cousin, now Juliets family has another reason to hate Romeos family. Things get even worse as Romeo gets banished from where they live, Verona, so read this book to find out of these two lovers will ever see each other again or not.
        • siennald
          siennaldWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 2:12 pm55 stars
          OmG tHiS bOoK iS cOoL
          • olliebob
            olliebobMonday, August 27, 2018 at 8:17 am55 starsFeatured
            Okay, so this book is awesome! I just picked it up and started reading, and I fell in love! So, just a couple of things before my summary, I find it really disturbing that Juliet is only twelve! I know it's the time period and everything, but still! And Romeo is between 17 and 23, so, that's really... fun. Anyway... Romeo has this crush on Juliet, after, you know, talking to her for like, 2 minutes, so he goes to her house that night and calls up to her window, and turns out she likes him too! Except, Juliet is betrothed to the County Paris, and then there's this whole thing where Tybalt, Juliet's cousin, kills Romeo's buddy, so Romeo kills him. So then Juliet's family hates Romeo, and the Prince banishes Romeo. Now he can't be in Verona, so he can't be with Juliet. They concoct this elaborate plan, but then, as an end result, Romeo gets poisoned and Juliet ends up stabbing herself, so, kinda sad and morbid, but an awesome book!
            • nilaThursday, March 23, 2017 at 7:46 am
              i love this book to
              • Emoney64Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 11:12 am
                This book is a little interesting 😆
                • snowcrystal101
                  snowcrystal101Friday, March 3, 2017 at 7:43 pm55 stars
                  I love this book!
                  • snowcrystal101
                    snowcrystal101Friday, March 3, 2017 at 7:42 pm55 stars
                    So Romantic
                    • spider2001
                      spider2001Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 2:50 pmFeatured
                      For my English class, we have been reading Romeo and Juliet for the past month now. This play requires tons and tons of patience. It is very hard to follow, do to it being written in Shakspeare. However, at the core of this story, I feel it is a very intriguing tale that has potential. But so many times I find this story to lag on and on, and find it a little bit boring. I feel that it uses uneven story telling, and it's hard to follow what is actually happening. One thing I will say about this old as time tale is that it has excellent character development. Today, too many stories have way too many characters and they can't balance them all out. While there are instances I don't find myself invested in the story, not once do I question the characters actions. I always understand the characters point of view, and why they do the things they do. I get why Romeo kills Tybalt, and why Juliet doesn't want to marry Paris. That is perfectly clear throughout the story. I know that this play was published in like the 1500's, and that it's important to know about. However, for it's time, I feel that this was probably very advanced. So in the long run, Romeo and Juliet is something you are probably going to have to read some time. I'm not saying that I didn't enjoy it, but just too many times I find myself drifting off. It's up to you if you like it or not, however I think that it was a semi interesting story that could have been a bit improved on.