The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • gummybear10
    gummybear10Tuesday, September 12, 2017 at 6:15 pm44 stars
    I completely recommend this book to any age, I like it because it describes how life really is. it shows the natural conflict between friends, and the ability to remake and make them......
    • shannento9
      shannento9Thursday, August 24, 2017 at 7:42 pm
      this book is all about dont give up and friend ship
      • gostbearSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 9:44 am
        I loved it I could read it all day
        • mamabird
          mamabirdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 4:48 pm44 stars
          It was a pretty well-to-do story. I have a 6th grader who read it in about 15minutes,my 4th grader and my 2nd grader also loved it! It's a graphic novel with a unique story line and only a couple curse words (the main character's name is Astrid, the mean girl calls her 'ASS-turd')
          • bookreviewstory
            bookreviewstoryThursday, June 1, 2017 at 6:20 am
            Amazing work of art.
            • UnderhoodiThursday, June 1, 2017 at 6:19 am
              This is one of the best books I have ever seen. Keep up the good work!
              • kittykitkat
                kittykitkatFriday, May 12, 2017 at 10:16 am55 stars
                So GOOD!
                • bossbabyjay
                  bossbabyjayThursday, March 16, 2017 at 7:22 am55 stars
                  It good
                  • harrypotter87
                    harrypotter87Sunday, February 26, 2017 at 1:12 pm55 stars
                    BEST BOOK EVER
                    • humanehuman
                      humanehumanSunday, February 26, 2017 at 11:36 am55 stars
                      this book is about a girl named Astrid who goes to a roller derby and decides she wants to be a roller girl.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      grapefruit
                      grapefruit wrote:

                      Greek mythology is one of my fav...
                      Athena the Wise (Goddess Girls)

                      Luna wrote:

                      T his book ja amazing😊
                      Middle School: Get Me out of Here!

                      science7863

                      I think this book is amazing bec...
                      Mr. Terupt Falls Again

                      Anonymous wrote:

                      Nice
                      Gravity Falls: Journal 3