Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.217705

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!
For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
91 Book Reviews
  • mercury_dust
    mercury_dustFriday, February 19, 2021 at 3:12 pm55 stars
    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK. There, l said it. It's a great story about a girl who goes to a roller derby with her mom and her best friend, she signs up for a camp for roller skating, makes new friends, and encounters old enemies, all the while, stressing about the upcoming junior derby that she's competing in.
    • lottiestar
      lottiestarSaturday, November 28, 2020 at 6:59 pm11 star
      Honestly, I hated this book. it's just my opinion but I didn't like the way the story went.
      • tunasalmon
        tunasalmonSaturday, October 17, 2020 at 9:02 pm44 stars
        Roller Girl is a graphic novel/comic about a girl named Astrid who has spent most of her life with her very best friend, Nicole. Ever since 1st grade, they’ve been two peas in a pod, and they are almost never separated. So when Astrid’s mom introduces a junior roller derby camp, Astrid assumes that she AND Nicole will go. And she has no idea, that Nicole has apparently “ditched” her for her enemy for life, Rachel, and dance camp instead. Heartbroken and unsure of what to do, Astrid makes friends in skate camp, dyes her hair, and becomes a completely new person. She never explains to her mother that she’s been roller skating home by herself this whole time at camp, and not taking a ride home from Nicole and HER mom. She’s sure her mom will never find out. Astrid has always wanted to be a jammer and is again, heartbroken when her new friend ZOEY gets picked (who helped her dye her hair). She can’t explain how upset she is and loses another friend. And as if things couldn’t get worse, Astrid’s mom finds out that Astrid has been roller skating home and they have a serious talk about things, about Astrid becoming a teen and sharing mixed emotions with her mom, and being honest, and dangerous stuff, and yet more and more. Astrid summons all her courage and strength and becomes a new, powerful girl, picks her derby name* and makes friends again, and does an amazing job in the bout, and finally, gets an autograph from her favorite jammer. Talk about an amazing ending! This was an absolutely stunning book and I recommend this to 9 - 11 year olds, but of course anyone is free to try it! (*Astrid will play in a derby bout, and “battle” between roller skaters, you can find it in the book as well!)
        • chanestoocool97
          chanestoocool97Wednesday, October 14, 2020 at 5:16 am55 stars
          OMG I read this book it is sooooooooooo amaz!
          • vkgisawesome
            vkgisawesomeTuesday, October 13, 2020 at 8:53 pm55 stars
            I LOVE THIS BOOK! I never get bored of it! It's about a girl named Astrid and she saw an AWESOME roller derby! Now she really wants to go to roller derby camp with her best friend! But....her friend is going to a dance camp with Astrid's worst enemy!! I really like this book!
            • hedgeguin2
              hedgeguin2Tuesday, July 21, 2020 at 8:01 pm55 stars
              I like graphic novels a lot, and this is one of my favorites! It’s about a girl named Astrid, who’s been best friends her whole life with Nicole. So when Astrid signs up for roller derby camp, she assumes Nicole is too. But Nicole decides to go to dance camp with Astrid’s nemesis, Rachel, she has to find a way to go do other things without Nicole there. So begins a journey of friendship, reflecting, and happiness. I 10/10 would recommend this! It’s amazing :D!
              • pizzagirl7
                pizzagirl7Monday, July 6, 2020 at 5:09 am55 stars
                Astrid and Nicole always did everything together. But after astrids mom takes them on a trip (One of many) to a roller derby , it seems they don't like the same stuff. Astrid becomes very interested in roller derbys and wants to go to roller derby camp. Astrid really wants Nicole to come but it seems that they aren't so alike anymore. Nicole wants to go to dance camp. And made a new friend that was mean to nicole. Read the book to find out what happens!I love this book and I rate it 5/5 stars. I recommend it to all ages -Pizzagirl7💘
                • candyqween2010
                  candyqween2010Saturday, July 4, 2020 at 3:26 pm55 stars
                  omgg it is such a good book! It’s especially good if you love roller derby it’s about this girl who want to be a roller girl her friend was supposed to come with her but she didn’t want to come because she wanted to go to dance club so she had to go to it by herself there’s more stuff that happened in the book but I don’t want to tell the reader it right now you have to read it for yourself I command you to read it lol ~CandyQween2010
                  • bookfan2008
                    bookfan2008Friday, May 15, 2020 at 9:23 am
                    This was a great book! It's about a girl named Astrid. She has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But then when Astrid decides she loves rollerskating and decides to sign up to derby camp. But her best friend is going too dance camp. but at Astrids new camp she feels left out, uncertain, sad, and lonely and more. Astrid realizes that maybe she is smart and strong and can handle everything... or not?
                    • sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555Sunday, May 3, 2020 at 6:11 pm44 stars
                      In this book by Victoria Jamieson, 12 year old Astrid decided her destiny after watching a roller derby game. She wants to be a roller girl. She assumes that her best friend Rachel, wants to do it with her, but when Rachel ditches her to hang out with her enemy, Astrid is even more determined to do well in camp. But she isn't very good, and she isn't sure she will be able to play in the bout. Will Astrid play in the bout? Read the book to find out! I highly recommend this book. If you liked this book read All's Faire In Middle School. Hope you liked this book and this review! Happy Reading!