Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.217705

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!
For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
86 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hedgeguin2
    hedgeguin2Tuesday, July 21, 2020 at 8:01 pm55 stars
    I like graphic novels a lot, and this is one of my favorites! It’s about a girl named Astrid, who’s been best friends her whole life with Nicole. So when Astrid signs up for roller derby camp, she assumes Nicole is too. But Nicole decides to go to dance camp with Astrid’s nemesis, Rachel, she has to find a way to go do other things without Nicole there. So begins a journey of friendship, reflecting, and happiness. I 10/10 would recommend this! It’s amazing :D!
    • pizzagirl7
      pizzagirl7Monday, July 6, 2020 at 5:09 am55 stars
      Astrid and Nicole always did everything together. But after astrids mom takes them on a trip (One of many) to a roller derby , it seems they don't like the same stuff. Astrid becomes very interested in roller derbys and wants to go to roller derby camp. Astrid really wants Nicole to come but it seems that they aren't so alike anymore. Nicole wants to go to dance camp. And made a new friend that was mean to nicole. Read the book to find out what happens!I love this book and I rate it 5/5 stars. I recommend it to all ages -Pizzagirl7💘
      • candyqween2010
        candyqween2010Saturday, July 4, 2020 at 3:26 pm55 stars
        omgg it is such a good book! It’s especially good if you love roller derby it’s about this girl who want to be a roller girl her friend was supposed to come with her but she didn’t want to come because she wanted to go to dance club so she had to go to it by herself there’s more stuff that happened in the book but I don’t want to tell the reader it right now you have to read it for yourself I command you to read it lol ~CandyQween2010
        • bookfan2008
          bookfan2008Friday, May 15, 2020 at 9:23 am
          This was a great book! It's about a girl named Astrid. She has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But then when Astrid decides she loves rollerskating and decides to sign up to derby camp. But her best friend is going too dance camp. but at Astrids new camp she feels left out, uncertain, sad, and lonely and more. Astrid realizes that maybe she is smart and strong and can handle everything... or not?
          • sylvie55555
            sylvie55555Sunday, May 3, 2020 at 6:11 pm44 stars
            In this book by Victoria Jamieson, 12 year old Astrid decided her destiny after watching a roller derby game. She wants to be a roller girl. She assumes that her best friend Rachel, wants to do it with her, but when Rachel ditches her to hang out with her enemy, Astrid is even more determined to do well in camp. But she isn't very good, and she isn't sure she will be able to play in the bout. Will Astrid play in the bout? Read the book to find out! I highly recommend this book. If you liked this book read All's Faire In Middle School. Hope you liked this book and this review! Happy Reading!
            • g0d0fc00kies
              g0d0fc00kiesTuesday, April 28, 2020 at 1:27 pm
              I read this book and its sooooo good!
              • Cup C@keTuesday, April 28, 2020 at 10:11 am
                This book is really good. Very dramatic and edgy. But I wish we could see her first day of middle school.
                • Unicornpup04 Tuesday, March 24, 2020 at 4:17 pm
                  I love this book! It is about a girl named Astrid who discovers a talent that she had (roller derby) and makes new friend and almost lose her best friend. At the same time she has to stand up to her enemy Rachel ! :) :)
                  • sparklepop11
                    sparklepop11Monday, October 14, 2019 at 9:13 pm55 stars
                    roller girl Is about a girl who discovers a love for roller skating it has friendship drama and action
                    • sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 7:14 am44 stars
                      This book is a graphic novel written by the author Victoria Jamieson. Astrid decides to attend Roller Derby Camp. And since she and her best friend Rachel do everything together, they assume they'll do this together too. But Rachel decides to go to Dance Camp, and Astrid's not sure if she can do it without Rachel. Will Astrid be able to do it? Read the book to find out! This is an amazing book and I highly recommend it.