Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.217705

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!
For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0525429670
ISBN-13: 9780525429678
77 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sylvie55555
    sylvie55555Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 7:14 am55 stars
    This book is a graphic novel written by the author Victoria Jamieson. Astrid decides to attend Roller Derby Camp. And since she and her best friend Rachel do everything together, they assume they'll do this together too. But Rachel decides to go to Dance Camp, and Astrid's not sure if she can do it without Rachel. Will Astrid be able to do it? Read the book to find out! This is an amazing book and I highly recommend it.
    • PrincessGooseTuesday, July 16, 2019 at 12:41 pm
      so good!
      • applebutter
        applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 9:24 am55 stars
        Omg I love this book so much! I t shows how you can have a friend one moment and not another moment later not have any friends. This is a great book for kids of all ages.
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Monday, May 20, 2019 at 2:31 pm55 stars
          Astrid is a 12 year old girl that has a friend named Nicole .astrids mom always always takes Astrid and Nicole to places like the opera ,art gallery but this time she took them to a roller derby .Astrid was in love with it but Nicole was not into it.Astrids mom said that they could get t-shirts from the gift shop Astrid got black and Nicole got pink .during the show Astrid realised that she wants to be in roller derby.they was somebody named rainbow brite that was skating and Astrid instantly looked up to her.Astrid wanted to go to roller derby camp and she thought Nicole wanted to also.but Nicole wants to go to ballet camp and Astrid gets mad .I'm not going to spoil the rest of the book because you!need to go read it now😁I recommend to preteens and teens I rate 5/5 😁
          • zzayumi
            zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 1:58 pm55 stars
            This is a really good book! It teaches you a lot about friendship, working hard, and teamwork. This is one of my favorite books! I love it!
            • auntieb
              auntiebWednesday, April 24, 2019 at 3:53 pm55 starsFeatured
              First off I just want to thank DOGO for choosing me to win this book! I absolutely loved it! Time for the story of it! Astrid has always been best friend's with Nicole, well best friends ever since Astrid stood up to bossy Rachel and Nicole convinced Astrid she didn't have rabies. But now that Astrid's really interestin in Derby Camp and Nicole's not.......AND Nicole's hanging out with Rachel!!! Astrid's going to derby camp with or without Nicole, even though her mother thinks they're going together AND that Nicole's mom's driving her home. As Astrid makes, breaks, and re-mends friendships, she learns how to find her footing with some encouragement for her Roller Derby Idol, Rainbow Bite.
              • yellingout
                yellingoutMonday, November 26, 2018 at 2:44 pm55 stars
                it was the best book
                • officer_jenny
                  officer_jennyThursday, November 15, 2018 at 2:42 pm
                  This looks cool.
                  • kaiThursday, November 1, 2018 at 6:27 am
                    i love this book
                    • thatredheadxd
                      thatredheadxdSaturday, September 8, 2018 at 12:24 pm55 stars
                      This one's cool. There's a girl named Astrid who dies her hair blue, and joins roller derby. :)