The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback
Published on October 13, 2011 by Books Events - Special Repackaged Edition
ISBN-10: 178081335X
ISBN-13: 9781780813356
1454 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • raindrop07
    raindrop07Monday, September 21, 2020 at 9:33 am55 stars
    Percy Jackson never wanted to be special. He just knew that there was something wrong with him. Because after he is expelled out of another private school and is attacked by a monster that used to be his math teacher, he knows something is going wrong. The Lightning Theif by Rick Riordan is the first book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. It tells the story of Percy and how he finds out who he really is, goes on a life threatning quest, dodges monsters around every corner, and finally, takes his place as a Half Blood, half god, half human among the others at Half-Blood Hill summer camp. This book is great and I would totally reccommend it! It is filled with adventure, action, friendship, trust, loyalty and courage :)
    • 123blue
      123blueSunday, September 13, 2020 at 11:27 am55 stars
      Warning, this review contains spoilers: Rick Riordan has done it once again! I love all of his books, but I feel like this one is the best. Get ready to enter his nicely written world of Greek Mythology, fun protagonists, and more. Percy Jackson is sure to blow your mind today with his witty, resourceful, and smart personality, and his amazing adventures! My favorite character was Percy, because I can easily relate to him and his problems—despite him being slightly older than me, and of course, going on a LOT of adventures. When the monsters from his Greek mythology textbooks start jumping out into real life, he is taken to a place called Camp Half-Blood...and blamed for supposedly stealing the mighty god Zeus’s lightning bolt! Now, he must go on a quest through unimaginable places to find the lightning bolt and give it back...before it’s too late. This is one of my favorite books, and I rate it 5 stars. I recommend it to people who like mythology with a sweet twist.-123blue
      • aaa57
        aaa57Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:05 am55 stars
        This series is for anyone who loves action, adventure, myths, humor, plot twists and more! If you liked the Warriors, or Wing of Fire series this was made for you, I’m in 8th grade and still love them! It’s about a dyslexic and ADHD boy named Percy Jackson, after an encounter with a Greek monster that he kills with a magic pen named Riptide he discovers that he is a Half-blood who’s godly parent is Poseidon. When he goes to a special camp for half-bloods he meets Annabeth Chase a daughter of Athena, they get sent on a quest with Percy’s best friend Grover Underwood. They must recover Zeus‘s master bolt which the Olympians think Percy stole. But they run into another problem, Percy is being called by a mysterious voice from Tartarus. Who is calling him? Who stole the master bold? What will he do? You will have to find out yourself in: Percy Jackson and the Olympians!
        • ttvangel_ogcaln
          Angel Olvera PesinaMonday, August 31, 2020 at 9:58 am55 stars
          ya have sean the move its so good
          • ranchergirl8
            ranchergirl8Saturday, August 29, 2020 at 11:56 am55 stars
            love these books, have read all of them! Percy is so funny and it has a lot of action.
            • itsaoceansheep
              itsaoceansheepSaturday, August 15, 2020 at 1:10 pm55 stars
              Loved the book and I did not anticipate all of the plot twists. I read the audio book version and it was awesome.
              • grlsrule
                grlsruleTuesday, August 11, 2020 at 12:34 pm55 stars
                I recommend this book to those who like Greek Mythology/Gods, Adventure, Comedies. The Lightning Thief is about a boy who has dyslexia and ADHD named Percy. A lot of weird stuff has happened to him. He finds out: The Greek gods are real, his friend is half- goat, his dad is Poseidon , and the lighting bolt which Zeus uses for thunderstorms is missing! Will Percy and his friends find the bolt in time? Grades 3-6
                • dogo_maniac
                  dogo_maniacTuesday, August 4, 2020 at 12:01 pm55 stars
                  This is my FAVORITE BOOK EVER. it's a about Percy Jackson a demigod who has a big destiny but he'll have to figure that out through the story as he Gets to Camp Half-blood a demigod training camp, meets Annabeth, Clarisse, and Luke. But his mom has disappeared and in the end he'll have to make a great decision.
                  • ceebee
                    ceebeeSunday, July 26, 2020 at 2:06 am55 stars
                    Zeus,the leader of the Olympians, has had his beloved master bolt stolen,and blames it on Percy Jackson, the demigod son of Poseidon. Meanwhile, strange things are happening on land too.The sky and sea are churning together, as if they were at war. And indeed they were,as Poseidon had no intentions to steal it!The fate of the world is at stake,and it's up to Percy and his friends to save it.Will they survive the terrors that lie ahead of them?Read on to find out!
                    • pinkmonkey9
                      pinkmonkey9Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 12:02 am55 stars
                      This book is really good. I recommend this book for kids 9+. if you are younger then that read it with a parent. I love all of the Percy Jackson books. This book is about 12 year old Percy Jackson and he finds out that he is a half blood and that he is a son of a god, and he has to fight off all these monsters. I would not like to be Him because he has to always be Worried that a monster will come after you and I would have to be fighting off monsters all the time and the monsters come back to life after a while. My favorite character is Annabeth, She is super cool. Sorry this Review is Kinda short but thanks for reading it, And please follow. Thank you Bye!