Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5R4.44145
Six of the best known fairy tales are retold, with some extremely surprising twists, by the master of the comic and the bloodcurdling--Roald Dahl. Includes Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood, and The Three Little Pigs. Full color.
Paperback, 48 pages
Published on September 3, 2009 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142414824
ISBN-13: 9780142414828
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • spagetti
    spagettiWednesday, October 17, 2012 at 11:57 am
    I love Roald Dahl!!!!
    • machii
      machiiWednesday, October 17, 2012 at 11:06 am
      Book Review Revolting Rhymes The Three Little Pigs By Maximo.I recommended to 10 year old children This book has a lot of stories in it,Roald Dahl is a great author because he writes with rhymes to make it funnier and he does, he makes mistakes in spelling on purpose andhe like: Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk, Snow-White and the Seven Dwarfs, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, or Little Red Riding Hood and The Three Little Pigs. The story I liked best is “The Three Little Pigs. They go to live to the mountains and they make one house for each little pig. One was of straw, another one was of sticks and the last pig made one house of bricks. One day one big wolf wanted to eat the three little pigs so he decided to trick the pigs but the pigs were not easy to be tricked... Do you want to know if the wolf ate the pigs? Did somebody help them? What happened to the wolf? I liked the book because the characters are funny and the story makes me laugh. It is a little bit bloody too. My favorite part is the ending... but I can’t tell you what it is... I promise you are going to be laughing all the time! Roald Dahl is a great author because he writes with rhymes to make it funnier and he does, he makes mistakes in spelling on purpose and he invents words. I recommend this book to 8 and 11 year old kids
      • mariat
        mariatWednesday, October 17, 2012 at 10:56 am
        Book Review Revolting Rhymes Written by:Roald Dahl Reviewed by:Maria.T (I recommend this book for children of 10 and more) This book has many stories in it, like: Cinderella , Jack and the Beanstalk , The Three Little Pigs , Red Riding Hood and the Wolf and many famous stories but the stories are not the same as the traditional ones, for example little Red Riding hood is naughty and the prince of Cinderella too. This book is called Revolting Rhymes because it has ryhmes in the story . My favorite story of Revolting Rhymes is Cinderella. Cinderella is about a beautiful girl who has 2 mean stepsisters that ruin her life. Poor Cinderella!!!!!!! One day comes a little angel and helps Cinderella to go to the dance. She gets the most beautiful dress in the whole world. Then Cindy went to the dance and her stepsisters and her stepmother are there. Something very very very very very very very very funny happens in the danc. If you want to know what happens READ THIS BOOK!!!!! IT is different to the real story! I liked Revolting Rhymes because it was very very funny. The characters are funny and well described.The illustration by Quentin Blake are amazing. I recommend his book to anyone who likes funny stories. Read this book it is the best book!!
        • felim
          felimWednesday, October 10, 2012 at 10:39 am55 stars
          This book it has a lot of stories in it: Cinderella ,The Three Little Pigs, Jack and the Beanstalk, Goldilocks and The Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood and The Wolf, and Snow White and The Seven Drafts. This is my favorite book because when I read it I said: “Wow!” because it is bloody. In Cinderella, for example, they cut the heads to the stepsisters, or in The Three Little Pigs many of the characters died... There is a special visitor in this fantastic story... you won't believe your eyes, if you want to know who visited The three little pigs in their story, read this book. Revolting Rhymes is the best but there are others that are as good as this one. So read this book, I think you are going to like this book as much as I did. I recommend this book to the people that are between 7 and 14 years old because it is bloody, with action, fiction, and lots of humour. Read it!!!!!!!!!!
          • margal
            margalWednesday, October 10, 2012 at 10:25 am55 stars
            BOOK REVIEW REVOLTING RHYMES Author: Roald Dahl Illustrator: Quentin Blake Reviewer: Margarita.L Recommended to 10 years old Revolting Rhymes is a book that has different stories like: Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk, Snow-White and the Seven Dwarfs, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf or The Three Little Pigs. Your father or mother surely always told you the same old fantasy story, but these ones have nothing to do with those. These stories are much more fun than the stories you know. The stories your parents told you are BORING! If you want to have fun just read this book. This book is amazing because they are fairy tales... but stranger. My favourite story is Cinderella, where the prince cuts off the head of the two step sisters. Is Cindy going to marry the prince? In Jack and the Beanstalk, for example, the giant eats Jack’s mother! If you want to know more, you'll have to read it. Roald Dahl entertains the reader by exaggerating everything and he is always on children’s side. The illustrations are interesting and help you imagine the settings and the characters. If you like the crazy books you have to read it! I recommend this book to children of 9 years old.
            • solu
              soluWednesday, October 10, 2012 at 9:48 am55 stars
              This book has a lot of revolting fairy tales in it. Roald Dahl writes them in a different way from the traditional tales. He uses rhymes and words that are very surprising. “That’s wrong!!!!!!!!cried the wolf. ‘Have you forgot to tell me what big teeth I’ve got????” This book includes: The Three Little Pigs, Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Snow-White and the Seven Dwarfs and Little Red Riding Hood. The stories I liked the most were: “The Three Little Pigs” because I didn’t know what was going to happen in the end and “Cinderella” because it has a lot of chopping-heads-off! This book, for example, has rhymes and blood all over: “Off with her head !!! the Prince roared back. They chopped it off in one big whack.” If you want to know what happened next, just go on to the second step. Read it!!!The other stories are also special.Read them.They are extremely funny. Roald Dahl is super funny,he rights with a lot of adjectives. I love this book, because I love bloody stories and rhymes.I recommend this book to brave boys and girls, but if you don’t like blood and rhymes or any of the two,this book is not for you.
              • mary10
                mary10Monday, June 11, 2012 at 5:04 pm55 stars
                I love this book so much I cant stop reading them! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !