Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 10n/a6.2134462

Oversized illustrated hardback edition of the final part of JRR Tolkien's epic masterpiece, The Lord of the Rings, fully reset and featuring full-page watercolour paintings by award-winning artist, Alan Lee. The climactic volume of the trilogy, wherein the little hobbit and his trusty companions make a terrible journey to the heart of the land of the Shadow in a final reckoning with the power of Sauron. Impossible to describe in a few words, JRR Tolkien's great work of imaginative fiction has been labelled both a heroic romance and a classic fantasy fiction. By turns comic and homely, epic and diabolic, the narrative moves through countless changes of scene and character in an imaginary world which is totally convincing in its detail. Tolkien created a vast new mythology in an invented world which has proved timeless in its appeal.

Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on September 16, 2002 by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN-10: 0007136579
ISBN-13: 9780007136575
14 Book Reviews
  • liapie
    liapieWednesday, September 9, 2015 at 2:06 pm55 stars
    The last book in the amazing literary series The lord of the rings. The book is fantastic. READ ITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • snakedog88
      snakedog88Wednesday, September 9, 2015 at 12:08 pm
      Favorite book series, last book of the trilogy, Lord of The Rings Series. Full of suspense and danger. Will the hobbits be able to destroy the ring?
      • LeroyTuesday, June 2, 2015 at 9:20 am
        After befriending the skulking Gollum, Frodo finds himself on a secret passage to Mordor. After abandoning Sam in a cruel trick, Frodo enters a dark tunnel, without Gollum! After a long an intense battle with a gigantic spider named Shellob, Frodo and Sam reunite to destroy the Ring once and for all. But there's a catch. Sauron already knows they're here. With the remaining members of the Fellowship at the Black Gate, Sauron must defend his land before he can destroy the pair. With Aragorn buying Frodo and Sam some time, Frodo and Sam climb to the top of Mount Doom. But, Frodo ends up becoming swayed by the Rings' evil power. Will Frodo be able to destroy the Ring? or will he betray everyone, and give it to Sauron?
        • matcor1718
          matcor1718Thursday, September 28, 2017 at 7:42 am
          Wow very good summary of the book! have you read the entire series yet?
        • Girl gamer Tuesday, June 2, 2015 at 7:31 am
          sooooooooo i loved it
          • tauriel
            taurielMonday, June 1, 2015 at 1:09 pm55 stars
            THIS IS MY FAVORITE BOOK IN MY FAVORITE SERIS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Action filled and nerving, Frodo finally destroys the ring. The war is over. Sauron falls. HORRAY. And best of all, Bilbo sees his nephew again.
            • smarkitusb
              smarkitusbTuesday, March 24, 2015 at 2:06 pmFeatured
              So far, this has been an extremely interesting book. It has been very exciting with many interesting events. I chose to read this book because I have already read the first 2 books (The fellowship of the ring and the two towers) which have been very interesting so I thought I would like to read this one. It has not disappointed me. I would highly recommend this book.
              • braydencreekside
                braydencreeksideFriday, November 8, 2013 at 12:56 pm
                This is an awesome book
                • immlibb
                  immlibbWednesday, September 23, 2015 at 8:22 am55 stars
                  Yes it is.
                • braydencreekside
                  braydencreeksideFriday, September 27, 2013 at 9:33 am
                  This book is so good but violent, well sometimes! I love the book anyway
                  • katofallyra21
                    katofallyra21Friday, May 10, 2013 at 6:02 am
                    I want to read this so bad!
                    • roxydog1717
                      roxydog1717Saturday, April 6, 2013 at 8:48 am55 stars
                      I want to reed it because my brother read it. It is supposed to be a good book thank you