Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5T4.224994

Leo's papa stood in the doorway, gazing down at him. "Leo, you make gold from pebbles," and the way he said it, Leo could tell that this was a good thing.

He may have been given a bit part in the school play ... but Leo dreams he is the biggest star on Broadway.

Sure, his big, noisy family makes him feel like a sardine squashed in a tin ... but in his fantasy he gets all the attention he wants.

Yes, his papa seems sad and distracted ... but Leo imagines him as a boy, tap-dancing and singing with delight.

That's why they call Leo "fog boy." He's always dreaming, always replaying things in his brain. He fantasizes about who he is in order to discover who he will become. As an actor in the school play, he is poised and ready for the curtain to open. But in the play that is his life, Leo is eager to discover what part will be his.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 27, 2005 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060540192
ISBN-13: 9780060540197
10 Book Reviews
  • demosthenes
    demosthenesSaturday, December 3, 2016 at 7:30 am55 stars
    i just finished this book and loved it. it is about a boy named Leonardo but people call him Fog Boy and Sardine. when things get crazy in life Leo likes to daydream about different ways life could get better. sometimes he feels invisable in his crazy family, but hes always observing. through Leos eyes we see how Leos brothers and sister injure themselves, and when he learns about his Aunt and reading his father journal as a kid. touching and inspiring, Sharon Creech brings another masterpiece!
    • angelh20
      angelh20Wednesday, February 24, 2016 at 4:32 am44 stars
      This is a special book. I think it’s not that attractive at the beginning, but the story turns out to be more and more interesting. This is a story about a boy named Leo and his interactive with his family. Everyone thinks Leo is annoying, but things changed when his brother and sister got hurt. They think he is a very nice because he cares about them. From this, we can know that only when something unusual happens, will people cherish the people that are close to them. One day, Leo found a book that his father wrote when he was young. His father seems to be very happy in the book, but he isn’t now. Things had changed that cause him to be different. I learned that there is always a reason that causes people to change. I think the title is meaningful. It seems to be the name of a play of the whole world, but I think the story is named this way because when something not so good happened, Leo will replay that part again in his brain and change it into what he wish would happen. After finishing this book, I realize that sometimes the book may seem boring, but when we read it we will find something that is interesting.
      • fourv
        fourvMonday, February 23, 2015 at 10:01 am
        Replay is a amazing book. It has humor but also some reality. The author wrote a awesome book. After all the amazing things it could get a little confusing. MB
        • fourv
          fourvFriday, January 23, 2015 at 8:59 am
          An awesome book that reals you in to read more! JG
          • fourv
            fourvMonday, February 23, 2015 at 9:46 am
            Thanks so much for the review!! I agree. Our reading group couldn't put it down.
          • fourv
            fourvFriday, January 23, 2015 at 7:59 am
            We read this book in our class. It was great. FV
            • fourv
              fourvFriday, January 23, 2015 at 7:55 am
              this book was awesome! There was no shortage of fun, i couldn't wait to read it again every time i had to stop for something. EG :)
              • fourv
                fourvFriday, January 23, 2015 at 7:53 am
                I loved this book a lot! But I have to be honest, sometimes it was confusing and sometimes it got boring. Most of the times it was a really great book, though! I would recommend it!
                • gum98
                  gum98Saturday, December 3, 2011 at 5:50 pm
                  I love these books and Sharon Creech is an amazing author. This book was touching and I highly recommend it!
                  • fourv
                    fourvFriday, January 23, 2015 at 7:51 am
                    I agree gum98, this book was amazing. There was no shortage of fun and amazement.In fact my group is doing a play on Rompopo's Porch. :)