Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R6.056903
A wonderfully whimsical debut that proves ordinary people can do extraordinary things

In the mountain town of Remarkable, everyone is extraordinarily talented, extraordinarily gifted, or just plain extraordinary. Everyone, that is, except Jane Doe, the most average ten-year-old who ever lived. But everything changes when the mischievous, downright criminal Grimlet twins enroll in Jane's school and a strange pirate captain appears in town.

Thus begins a series of adventures that put some of Remarkable's most infamous inhabitants and their long-held secrets in danger. It's up to Jane, in her own modest style, to come to the rescue and prove that she is capable of some rather exceptional things.

With a page-turning mystery and larger-than-life cast of characters, Lizzie K. Foley's debut is nothing short of remarkable.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 12, 2012 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803737068
ISBN-13: 9780803737068
12 Book Reviews
  • hogwartsexpress
    hogwartsexpressTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 10:51 am55 stars
    I really liked this book and would definetly say it was one of my favorites to read. I esspecialy like jane (the main character).
    • elli1032
      elli1032Monday, July 2, 2018 at 4:30 pm55 stars
      There is a town called Remarkable and what would you guess, everything inside it is remarkable. Except one girl named Jane who was just an ordinary girl. Jane goes to an ordinary school, and she’s the only one that goes there. Other kids go to a gifted school called Remarkables school for the Remarkably Gifted. Her brother is gifted at painting, her sister is good at math. But, a lot of things change when the two Grimlet twins get into Jane’s school and cause tons of havoc. It all starts when a pirate named Captain Rojo Herring comes to live in the Town of Remarkable. He plays the fiddle one night with Jane’s grandpa and out comes Remarkable’s greatest attribute, they're Lucky! Lucky is a ‘’Sea Dragon’’, if you don’t really know what that is, look up Nessie the Loch Ness Monster. Well I wouldn’t like to call it a monster but you know…This is a big, big deal. The city would tell everyone and people would try putting her in a museum. Now, the people of Remarkable were creating a bell tower that made amazing music. While all this was happening the Grimlet twins asked their teacher, Ms. Schnabel, to teach them to be pirates. When this happened, the twins deeply regretted it, Ms. Schnabel turned into a mean pirate and made them do all the work that a real pirate would do. Jane and the twins weren’t able to tie any of the knots because they were too big. So, she asked her Grandfather if he could get her some knots and he did. Grandpa (Jane’s) didn’t know what to do because if Lucky hears the music from the bell tower then she will get seen. So, he took the ropes that made the music and gave them to Jane. When the city heard this, they put him in prison. Just before that, Jane was talking to Ms. Schnabel’s sister and found out that Ms. Schnabel was really the mean an ferocious Captain Penzing the Horrific. Jane’s grandpa got out of jail because there was no more room for him. Ms. Schnabel left, and left a package for Jane on the way there. It was a tiny puppy named Dirt! I really liked this book and hope I’m as Remarkable as Jane.
      • lemonade11
        lemonade11Tuesday, January 24, 2017 at 5:21 pm44 stars
        This book really is pretty "REMARKABLE." though is was little confusing. My neighbor was reading it for a book report, and I asked her if I could read it once she was done. It is about this girl named Jane, who has no talent, or so she thinks. Jane lives in a family where everyone in it has some sort of talent, leaving out her grandpa. Her grandpa is like her, no talent at all. The only talent he has is that he got Jane's grandma to love him and so they are obviously married. (Jane's grandma is the mayor). Jane is the only on in Remarkable's normal no talent school. She sometimes doesn't even have a teacher because they are in the teacher's lounge drinking coffee. In fact, Jane is the only one there until the Grimlet twins get in trouble at the prissy school for talented kids. The two have to come down to plain Jane's school for their punishment. The twins make a very bad mistake, and ask their teacher to teach them to be pirates instead of "behaving children" (like the Grimlet twins even behave!) Everything in the classroom is switched around to be "more pirate like." Read the book to see what happens when they ask their teacher to become pirates, and all the other exiting and adventurous parts in the book. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did! HAPPY READING!!!
        • drewransomwixon
          drewransomwixonTuesday, January 24, 2017 at 3:08 pm
          very good book one of my favorite books
          • potterhead614
            potterhead614Saturday, December 13, 2014 at 7:47 am33 stars
            Pretty good. I could recommend it, but not highly.
            • laughlikeme
              laughlikemeTuesday, September 2, 2014 at 2:03 pm55 stars
              This book is amazing. It truly is 'remarkable'. This book shows that if you thin you are plain and ordinary, you might be remarkable in a way or two. This book is awesome. Definitely read it.
              • doglover3618
                doglover3618Sunday, February 2, 2014 at 2:07 pm
                I decided to read it because my cousin bought it for me saying that it was really good. But so far, it actually is not that good. It is okay!!!!
                • currenteventv
                  currenteventvSunday, October 20, 2013 at 8:52 am
                  Did it for a book report, fun yet predictable
                  • rozeb
                    rozebSaturday, September 14, 2013 at 3:38 pm55 stars
                    I really liked it. It was one of those books that makes you think a lot about the book afterwards a lot, like "Why did she do this," or "Why did he do that." I really did like it.
                    • lovemolly3
                      lovemolly3Tuesday, April 9, 2013 at 2:31 pm11 star
                      I thought that this book started off a little blah. It was confusing and not very well written. I would suggest it if u are a high lever reader, because my sister is a sophomore and she liked it.
                      • rozeb
                        rozebSaturday, September 14, 2013 at 3:39 pm55 stars
                        I was in 4th grade when I read it and I loved it. Then again, I'm at a pretty high reading level.
                        • brielle-smiles
                          brielle-smilesThursday, December 11, 2014 at 7:59 pm
                          The same for me.