Beauty and the Beast fans: satisfy your fairy tale cravings with the New York Times bestseller RED, a spellbinding adventure that features a brave heroine, plenty of pixies, a beast like no other, and a beauty too!

Red is not afraid of the big bad wolf. She’s not afraid of anything . . . except magic.
But when Red’s granny falls ill, it seems that only magic can save her, and fearless Red is forced to confront her one weakness.

With the help of a blond, porridge-sampling nuisance called Goldie, Red goes on a quest to cure Granny. Her journey takes her through dwarves’ caverns to a haunted well and a beast’s castle. All the while, Red and Goldie are followed by a wolf and a huntsman—two mortal enemies who seek the girls’ help to defeat each other. And one of them just might have the magical solution Red is looking for. . . .

Liesl Shurtliff weaves a spellbinding tale, shining the spotlight on a beloved character from her award-winning debut, Rump.

"Red is the most wonder-filled fairy tale of them all!” -- Chris Grabenstein, New York Times Bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

"Moving and filled with hope . . . the charm of Shurtliff's retelling is how she imbues the storybook tropes with vibrant humanity."—Shelf Awareness, starred review

And don't miss Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk, "a delightful story of family, perseverance and courage" (Booklist).

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0385755864
ISBN-13: 9780385755863
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • brandonMonday, April 24, 2017 at 9:56 am
    i seen this book
    • destunyThursday, April 20, 2017 at 12:29 pm
      o my good
      • fatman200000000
        fatman200000000Tuesday, April 18, 2017 at 12:25 pm
        cool i like it
        • vvMonday, April 17, 2017 at 8:39 pm
          loved it
          • goldeenMonday, April 10, 2017 at 7:17 am
            this book is funny and I love it.
            • lildee08
              lildee08Wednesday, June 1, 2016 at 10:17 am55 stars
              I wanted to read the book Red because it looked very interesting. I found out the only thing Red was afraid of was magic, which pops up just about everywhere in the book. This book is for people who like magic and fairytales.
              • madimin05
                madimin05Tuesday, April 18, 2017 at 7:18 pm
                i love magic books so this would be good for me
              • fuzzle
                fuzzleMonday, April 18, 2016 at 3:01 pm
                M e too! I read the first few pages at my library, but another kid took it out! And never returned it!
                • hollowitz
                  hollowitzTuesday, March 22, 2016 at 6:57 pm
                  I want to read it!

                  Recent Kids Book Reviews

                  sassymuffin

                  I love the whole series. It is s...
                  Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows

                  sassymuffin

                  I love the whole series. It is s...
                  Harry Potter and the Half-Blood ...

                  sassymuffin

                  I love the whole series. It is s...
                  Harry Potter and the Order of th...

                  sassymuffin

                  I love the whole series. It is s...
                  Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...