Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W4.355689
Beauty and the Beast fans: satisfy your fairy tale cravings with the New York Times bestseller RED, a spellbinding adventure that features a brave heroine, plenty of pixies, a beast like no other, and a beauty too!

Red is not afraid of the big bad wolf. She’s not afraid of anything . . . except magic. But when Red’s granny falls ill, it seems that only magic can save her, and fearless Red is forced to confront her one weakness.

With the help of a blond, porridge-sampling nuisance called Goldie, Red goes on a quest to cure Granny. Her journey takes her through dwarves’ caverns to a haunted well and a beast’s castle. All the while, Red and Goldie are followed by a wolf and a huntsman—two mortal enemies who seek the girls’ help to defeat each other. And one of them just might have the magical solution Red is looking for. . . .

Liesl Shurtliff weaves a spellbinding tale, shining the spotlight on a beloved character from her award-winning debut, Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin.


"Moving and filled with hope . . . the charm of Shurtliff's retelling is how she imbues the storybook tropes with vibrant humanity."—Shelf Awareness, starred review

And don't miss Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk, "a delightful story of family, perseverance and courage" (Booklist).

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0385755864
ISBN-13: 9780385755863
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Book LoverThursday, May 31, 2018 at 12:39 pm
    I think this is a great book.
    • honeyandsugar
      honeyandsugarThursday, May 31, 2018 at 12:17 pm
      I wanna get this book
      • brandonMonday, April 24, 2017 at 9:56 am
        i seen this book
        • destunyThursday, April 20, 2017 at 12:29 pm
          o my good
          • fatman200000000
            fatman200000000Tuesday, April 18, 2017 at 12:25 pm
            cool i like it
            • vvMonday, April 17, 2017 at 8:39 pm
              loved it
              • goldeenMonday, April 10, 2017 at 7:17 am
                this book is funny and I love it.
                • lildee08
                  lildee08Wednesday, June 1, 2016 at 10:17 am55 stars
                  I wanted to read the book Red because it looked very interesting. I found out the only thing Red was afraid of was magic, which pops up just about everywhere in the book. This book is for people who like magic and fairytales.
                  • xxlittleduckxx
                    xxlittleduckxxTuesday, April 18, 2017 at 7:18 pm
                    i love magic books so this would be good for me
                  • fuzzle
                    fuzzleMonday, April 18, 2016 at 3:01 pm
                    M e too! I read the first few pages at my library, but another kid took it out! And never returned it!
                    • hollowitz
                      hollowitzTuesday, March 22, 2016 at 6:57 pm
                      I want to read it!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      hiyaworld14

                      There's a book? On Netflix there...
                      Miraculous: Tales of Ladybug and...

                      harrise562
                      harrise562 wrote:

                      It's a great book. It is also funny
                      Demon Dentist

                      LucasRobson wrote:

                      it so cool every oneshould read it
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid Rodrick Rules