Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.2111948
The #1 New York Times Bestseller

Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard's sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king's palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood--those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard--a growing Red rebellion--even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.
Hardcover, 388 pages
Published on February 10, 2015 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062310631
ISBN-13: 9780062310637
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • MapleqSunday, November 29, 2020 at 9:05 am
    This looks great! Never heard of it, but it seems a bit like Hunger Games, a huge fave of mine......Can’t wait to read!
    • satwikagejara
      satwikagejaraSunday, October 4, 2020 at 7:17 pm55 stars
      Mare lives in a world were people with silver blood have magical powers and people with red blood are normal. The Silvers look down upon the Reds and treat them as peasants. Mare lives in a Red village with her family until Cal gets her a job in the palace to avoid being put in the army. Somehow, her electrical powers appear, almost killing Evangeline Samos. The royal family hides her identity to find out how this is possible. She is now Mareena Titanos and she is the daughter of a Silver general who died on the battlefield and was adopted by the Reds in the war zone. She is betrothed to Maven, Cal's step-brother. This book explores her journey as a Red in Silver company and her relation to the Scarlet Guard. I wanted to read more of Mare because of her situation and the special circumstances that put her in a major dilemma (Read the book to find out!). This also brings up a possibility that she had never thought of. Will Mare betray the royal family or will the royal family betray her? I loved the book for all the hidden morals the author is trying to tell us. Please read this book; you are going to love it. - We will rise Red as the dawn.
      • queenofthedark
        queenofthedarkSaturday, September 26, 2020 at 10:05 pm55 stars
        Red Queen is a young adult fantasy novel by Victoria Aveyard which follows how seventeen-year-old Mare Barrow's discovery that she, a peasant-born Red, has the special powers of the elite ruling Silvers and changes the course of her country's future. I highly suggest this book!
        • roxanne3
          roxanne3Sunday, September 20, 2020 at 12:21 pm
          I have never read it but this sounds a lot like a mix of the Hunger Games and the Selection series. Thise are two if my favorites, so I'm looking forward to reading this!
          • squirrelflight
            squirrelflightSaturday, September 19, 2020 at 9:30 am44 starsFeatured
            In a world divided by war and inequality, survival is hard. But seventeen-year-old Mare Barrow, a thief who’s from a poor family, knows exactly how to survive in the Stilts, her small town which is just outside the royal palace. She is a Red, with no special abilities, no money, and no education—the complete opposite of the elite Silvers who rule their country and created a centuries-old war that every Red must be conscripted to by the age of eighteen. But when Mare’s friend Kilorn is about to be taken away for the war, and she meets a group of rebels called the Scarlet Guard, her world is turned upside down—and survival isn’t as easy as she thought. Saddened and angry, she goes back to the Stilts, trying to pickpocket enough money to save Kilorn from his conscription. Then, it happens: she meets a stranger named Cal who’s intentions she doesn’t know, but the next day, Silver officers arrive at her door...to take her away to the royal palace. In a torrent of confusion, Mare finds herself in a Silver arena, fighting for her life...and discovers something impossible. She is both Red and Silver, with abilities stronger than any of them—and any mistake she makes will be the end of her story. Can she survive? Read this book to find out! Overall, I enjoyed this book, and rate it 4/5 stars. I recommend it to readers who like action, fantasy, and romance, all combined in an amazing way!
            • swirlycool
              swirlycoolFriday, July 10, 2020 at 11:26 am55 starsFeatured
              "Rise, red as the dawn"- There are Reds, and there are Silvers. That was all Mare Barrow knew. However, when she goes to get some air at night, she meets a stranger. Something urges her to spill all her worries to this stranger, even the secrets that could get her in serious trouble. The next day, people come at her door, and she assumes she is being taken for war. But instead, she is hired and now works for the king. When something happens at a pageant, instead of being burned she discovers she has powers, and she uses them, creating a giant hole. She soon learns she is not only Red, but she is also Silver. Stronger than both, she is taken into a cell, kept by the king and queen. She now has a new identity, which means she is no longer Mare Barrow. She is Mareena, raised as a Red but truly a Silver, now finding where she truly belongs. She is also scheduled to marry Maven Calore. When she and Cal go to visit her family secretly, she joins the Scarlet Guard, a rebel group against the Silvers. During the secret meet, to Mare's surprise and shock, they have another new recruit- Maven Calore. Maven is in the shadow of his brother, Cal. Mare can relate to this as she is in the shadow of her sister, Gisa. However, when the rebel plans do not go as expected, Maven and Mare are at risk of being exposed as being part of the Scarlet Guard, the most wanted group and hated amongst the royals around them. Little does Mare Barrow know that amongst her is a traitor, and things are not what they seem. Overall, I enjoyed this book and it had plot twists that made me want to read more and more. I recommend this book to people who enjoy dystopian and romance books, or people who enjoy The Selection series. I rate this book 5/5.
              • girlpower4ever
                girlpower4everMonday, June 29, 2020 at 9:33 am55 stars
                A beautiful, suspenseful, winding story from the coveted Victoria Aveyard, Mare Barrow stars as just another Red citizen with red blood and no powers. She lives a perfectly normal life: trembling under the Silvers' control, thieving when necessary, et cetera, et cetera. But conscription is around the corner, and everyone knows that when you get drafted for the war, you don't ever come back. Mare isn't too worked up about it; after all, her brothers were in the war, and she feels desolate enough not to find a job, which will oust her of the drafting process. Yet, when her best friend Kilorn loses his job, she is suddenly afraid for him. One thing leads to another...Red rebels, traitors, and secrets are suddenly very real to Mare. And when a mistake leads her to show deeply-secreted powers that only Silvers should have to the entire Silver court, Mare's and her loved ones' lives depend on her ability to act like a long-lost Silver.
                • starsinthenight
                  starsinthenightTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 7:12 pm55 stars
                  This book is a little more mature and hard to read than some other books for teens, I love the characters and also the plot has so many twists and turns and ends you wanting more.
                  • armcginn
                    armcginnWednesday, February 5, 2020 at 1:29 pm55 stars
                    Mare Barrow was just another Red girl, living crushed beneath the iron fist of the silvers, trying to piece together her family, her mother, and sister, and father who lost a lung and leg to the war, and her three conscripted brothers, shattered by a silver war, forced to make a living for her family, only seventeen, pickpocketing. Until age 18 when she will be inevitably conscripted to the Nortan-Lakelander war- a centuries-old war, a bloodbath. Until her childhood friend loses his job and is left with mere days before his conscription. Until she pickpockets a mysterious stranger. Until she suddenly finds a job in the silver palace as a maid. Until the day of Queenstrial, the choosing of the most powerful, young, silver girl, who shall be destined to produce the finest possible heir to the throne of Norta, and marry Tiberias Calore the Seventh, Flame of the North, Heir to the Crown of Norta. Until by some twisted fate she falls, her world shattering around her, falling into oblivion, falling headfirst into her future, falling into the Queenstrial arena. Death seemed inevitable as she spiraled through the air, down toward the lightning shield of the arena, and suddenly her whole world changes. "I feel the heat of the sparks, running up and down my body, setting every nerve on fire. It isn't a bad feeling though. In fact, I feel, well, alive. Like I've been living my whole life blind and now I've opened my eyes. Something moves beneath my skin, but it's not the sparks, I look at my hands, my arms, marveling at the lightning as it glides over me. cloth burns away, charred black by the heat, but my skin doesn't change. The shield keeps trying to kill me, but it can't. Everything is wrong. I am alive." as her power unfolds, engulfing her in the life and lies of the silvers she is forced to pose as the long-lost daughter of a dead silver war general Ethan Titanos, her mother the long dead Nolle Titanos also murdered on the battlefront, now betrothed to Maven Calore, younger brother of Tiberias Calore the Seventh, Flame of the North, Heir to the Crown of Norta, she must find a way to survive in this new world, in a court of snakes, with a crown of daggers upon her head. Red Queen- Victoria Aveyard -armcginn
                    • redqueenlol21
                      redqueenlol21Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 2:06 pm
                      I love this book so much! I read it because the description was similar to books I enjoy.