Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.950353
First hailed as a hero for his dramatic water rescue of a little boy, thirteen-year-old Brady Parks soon makes a discovery that puts him at the heart of an enormous tragedy. Alone with his dark secret, Brady is ultimately forced to choose between loyalty to his lifelong friends and doing what he knows in his heart is right. Priscilla Cummings weaves a suspenseful, multilayered tale of three teenage boys caught in a wicked web of their own making.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on September 27, 2004 by Dutton Juvenile
ISBN-10: 0525473173
ISBN-13: 9780525473176
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • izzyblue
    izzyblueFriday, May 24, 2019 at 11:08 am55 stars
    OMG my teacher is reading this book to the class it is so good i want to read it by myself but this is so good but there is a sad part witch is that ben dies but there is a reason but i recamond you guys go read it plus we are half way throw the book and it is SO SO SO good read it
    • applebutter8Friday, May 24, 2019 at 10:16 am
      I have not read this book yet but it sounds wonderful. I read A Face First by Priscilla Cummings and it left me in tears. such a good author love her
      • selo4
        selo4Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 9:15 am55 stars
        Red kayak is a great great GREAT book! My class is currently reading this book so I'm not fully finished which means I can't give a whole entire review. One day a family went kayaking, It was very rainy and windy. While the family was on the kayak it broke down and sank down. But everyone survived accept.. one person. People thing that it was cause of the weather but was it. The main character "Brady" tried to save the person but the next day. The person died. May have it been Brady's idea or some involved with him? Find out by reading the book!
        • JasmineMonday, August 27, 2018 at 5:09 pm
          I honestly did not really like this book. I thought that it was too drawn out and that Brady didn’t have a lot of character.
          • devenitycrystal
            devenitycrystalFriday, June 15, 2018 at 2:12 pm44 stars
            This book is great, loved the plot, twist, and the beautiful settings and events (not all beautiful) that the author has written! Read it!
            • mybooksandi
              mybooksandiMonday, July 10, 2017 at 4:42 am33 stars
              The Red Kayak, let's do this- The Red Kayak was a novel that brought me to tears, literally. Spoiler- It was so sad cause half of the characters either die or suffer. Ok, calm down, the spoilers in this review are done. To be honest, I didn't pick this book, it was a summer reading for my grade level. And I thought, people want my review, i'm forced to read a book, why not? I thought Brady was a good kid, I liked his POV. As I character, he was excellent. But, when Brady discovers an UNKNOWN secret, he feels conflicted to do the right thing. And I was screaming backstage, JUST DO IT! I mean, boy you never heard of Nike? ( This review is not sponsored) Anyway, this novel got a three star rating from me, but read it for yourself, and tell me what you think.
              • jaimalThursday, October 27, 2016 at 9:48 am
                What is it about
                • isaac2169
                  isaac2169Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 9:40 am
                  this book looks good
                  • cdog13Sunday, October 16, 2016 at 12:07 pm
                    we had to read part of this book for school. then we had to right about it. I haven't read the whole thing but i want to.
                    • amouse18
                      amouse18Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 8:52 am55 starsFeatured
                      One day, a red kayak sinks in a river. People think that it was just an accident, or was it? I rate the realistic fiction book Red Kayak by Priscilla Cummings five stars. I couldn't put the book down. This book is about is about a boy named Brady who sees a red kayak on the river on a really windy and rainy day, and later regrets not yelling to tell them to come back, even if they didn't hear him. Then, he gets pulled out of school so he can help his dad look for the boat that had sunk a few hours earlier. They find out soon that there was a lot of damage done. Brady works for the lady that was in the boat during the summer and one day finds a clue that might lead to cause of why the boat had sunk. This story takes place in Maryland during an entire year. Brady and the other main characters really develop during this story. Brady starts to realize really important things in life and how important it is to tell the truth. This book is a really good book because it shows readers how important is is to go with your gut feeling. In the beginning of the book, Brady makes a decision to not follow his gut feeling and it impacts the rest of the book. This book is nothing like anything else I have every read or watched. This book is meant for people of all ages and genders. I enjoy reading many books a month and think about many key points in the book like characters, setting, and plot. Priscilla Cummings had written at least 23 books including The Journey Back, Blindsided, and A Face First. Overall, this book was so good.
                      • gavspe1617
                        gavspe1617Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 8:19 am
                        Great review i would really like to read this book
                        • gavspe1617
                          gavspe1617Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 8:17 am
                          great review i would really like to read this book