Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.950353
First hailed as a hero for his dramatic water rescue of a little boy, thirteen-year-old Brady Parks soon makes a discovery that puts him at the heart of an enormous tragedy. Alone with his dark secret, Brady is ultimately forced to choose between loyalty to his lifelong friends and doing what he knows in his heart is right. Priscilla Cummings weaves a suspenseful, multilayered tale of three teenage boys caught in a wicked web of their own making.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on September 27, 2004 by Dutton Juvenile
ISBN-10: 0525473173
ISBN-13: 9780525473176
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • dino shotWednesday, March 11, 2020 at 8:42 am
    i read this book and loved it their is some bad words in it but other than that it was a great book
    • izzyblue
      izzyblueFriday, May 24, 2019 at 11:08 am55 stars
      OMG my teacher is reading this book to the class it is so good i want to read it by myself but this is so good but there is a sad part witch is that ben dies but there is a reason but i recamond you guys go read it plus we are half way throw the book and it is SO SO SO good read it
      • applebutter8Friday, May 24, 2019 at 10:16 am
        I have not read this book yet but it sounds wonderful. I read A Face First by Priscilla Cummings and it left me in tears. such a good author love her
        • selo4
          selo4Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 9:15 am55 stars
          Red kayak is a great great GREAT book! My class is currently reading this book so I'm not fully finished which means I can't give a whole entire review. One day a family went kayaking, It was very rainy and windy. While the family was on the kayak it broke down and sank down. But everyone survived accept.. one person. People thing that it was cause of the weather but was it. The main character "Brady" tried to save the person but the next day. The person died. May have it been Brady's idea or some involved with him? Find out by reading the book!
          • JasmineMonday, August 27, 2018 at 5:09 pm
            I honestly did not really like this book. I thought that it was too drawn out and that Brady didn’t have a lot of character.
            • devenitycrystal
              devenitycrystalFriday, June 15, 2018 at 2:12 pm44 stars
              This book is great, loved the plot, twist, and the beautiful settings and events (not all beautiful) that the author has written! Read it!
              • mybooksandi
                mybooksandiMonday, July 10, 2017 at 4:42 am33 stars
                The Red Kayak, let's do this- The Red Kayak was a novel that brought me to tears, literally. Spoiler- It was so sad cause half of the characters either die or suffer. Ok, calm down, the spoilers in this review are done. To be honest, I didn't pick this book, it was a summer reading for my grade level. And I thought, people want my review, i'm forced to read a book, why not? I thought Brady was a good kid, I liked his POV. As I character, he was excellent. But, when Brady discovers an UNKNOWN secret, he feels conflicted to do the right thing. And I was screaming backstage, JUST DO IT! I mean, boy you never heard of Nike? ( This review is not sponsored) Anyway, this novel got a three star rating from me, but read it for yourself, and tell me what you think.
                • jaimalThursday, October 27, 2016 at 9:48 am
                  What is it about
                  • isaac2169
                    isaac2169Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 9:40 am
                    this book looks good
                    • cdog13Sunday, October 16, 2016 at 12:07 pm
                      we had to read part of this book for school. then we had to right about it. I haven't read the whole thing but i want to.