Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.6112418
Cassia’s journey began with an error, a momentary glitch in the otherwise perfect façade of the Society. After crossing canyons to break free, she waits, silk and paper smuggled against her skin, ready for the final chapter.

The wait is over.

One young woman has raged against those who threaten to keep away what matters most—family, love, choice. Her quiet revolution is about to explode into full-scale rebellion.

With exquisite prose, the emotionally gripping conclusion to the international–bestselling Matched trilogy returns Cassia, Ky, and Xander to the Society to save the one thing they have been denied for so long, the power to choose.
Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on November 13, 2012 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525423664
ISBN-13: 9780525423669
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everThursday, July 9, 2020 at 9:55 am55 stars
    The bomb drops in the electrifying last book of the Matched trilogy by Ally Condie. Narrated by Cassia, Ky, and Xander, who are all now working with the rebellion nicknamed the Rising, the Society's position is more dangerous than ever. A Plague is spreading throughout the Society's cities, and the Rising has the cure. All seems well for the Rising: the cure is the perfect way to win citizens over. But what no one foresees is the Plague's mutation. Suddenly, a concrete cure is nonexistent, and the entire world is thrown into chaos. The Plague spreads like wildfire. The Rising and the Society race to find a cure. People of the Outer Provinces spill back into society. Meanwhile, the main protagonists of the novel are more separated than ever. Ky has fallen deathly ill from the mutated Plague. Battling heartbreak and duty, Xander helps to find a cure for the boyfriend of the girl he loves. And Cassia is a mess. Trying to balance her morals, Ky's life, and hopelessness in the palm of her hand, Cassia must realize that once again, there is more than meets the eye. In the riveting finale to Ally Condie's trilogy, readers will be again amazed at the beauty and shattered glass of this Society-distorted dystopian world.
    • lovetoread26
      lovetoread26Thursday, June 25, 2020 at 7:28 am55 stars
      I read the first two books in the series about 2 months ago, when libraries weren’t open. I had accessed them online, but this one wasn’t there! I waited for 2 months to read this book, and I was wondering if it was even worth it. Boy was I shocked! This book is probably my favorite in the Matched series. It is told from the perspectives of Cassia, Ky, and Xander. They are all working for the Rising now, undercover in the Provinces. Then it is the Rising’s time to strike. A Plague has spread throughout the Society, and the Rising has the cure. But not for long. Everything is going well and people are recovering until there is a mutation. No one can find the cure. Cassia, Ky, and Xander search for the cure in the village of Endstone when Ky falls ill with the deadly mutation. Will Cassia and Xander be able to save him? Find out in this thrilling conclusion to the Matched trilogy!
      • OOFMonday, September 16, 2019 at 11:27 am
        I want to read this so bad
        • fira
          firaThursday, February 7, 2019 at 6:22 am55 starsFeatured
          I have already read the first two books in the series "Matched" and "Crossed". Now I am about three fourths of the way through the last book. Ally Condie is a really great author and has amazing character developement. As I read this book, I find that I start to really feel what the characters are feeling. However, because of that, I would probably not recomend this book to someone with anxiety or depression because the book can be extremely stressful at times. Ohterwise, I think that everyonw should read this book. It is an amazing distopian story with complicated love. There are so many lessons that can be learned from this book that could help us to not make mistakes in the future. Anyone who has read "The Hunger Games" series and enjoyed it, would love this series and should definitely read it.
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 1:05 pm55 stars
            It's worth reading. Awesome. And even thought there were somethings I didn't really like it is enjoyable and it was worth my time. I do not regret reading this book at all. I loved the ending and I was kind of sad that the world of Cassia, Ky, and Xander was over. And I also think that there should have been a fourth book. I mean, we got to see Cassia and Ky's love story. What about Xanders?
            • kaate
              kaateFriday, June 10, 2016 at 10:17 am55 stars
              I love this book! I read the whole book and its awesome! Love the ending too. I read the whole series and its very good, thank you author for writing this book!
              • 30av
                30avMonday, November 16, 2015 at 10:01 am55 stars
                it is a really good book it is the third book out of three books it is good but i didn't like the ending it needed more but other than that it is a really good book and a really good series.
                • jw
                  jwSaturday, December 27, 2014 at 2:26 pm
                  i LOVE this book it's awesome!!
                  • foodluver
                    foodluverWednesday, November 26, 2014 at 11:04 am
                    I absolutely love this book. It had adventure and romance.
                    • mandapanda1118
                      mandapanda1118Sunday, November 9, 2014 at 5:11 pm44 starsFeatured
                      One of my favorites. I couldn't put it down. I read the entire trilogy on vacation, and refused to go on a Disney ride to read it. Yep, you read that right.