Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.233384

A 2016 National Book Award Finalist!

Two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving, masterful story of an unforgettable summer friendship.

Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father, who left town two days ago with a dental hygienist, will see Raymie's picture in the paper and (maybe) come home. To win, not only does Raymie have to do good deeds and learn how to twirl a baton; she also has to contend with the wispy, frequently fainting Louisiana Elefante, who has a show-business background, and the fiery, stubborn Beverly Tapinski, who’s determined to sabotage the contest. But as the competition approaches, loneliness, loss, and unanswerable questions draw the three girls into an unlikely friendship — and challenge each of them to come to the rescue in unexpected ways.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on April 12, 2016 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763681172
ISBN-13: 9780763681173
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • applebutter
    applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 9:09 am44 stars
    I am in the process of reading this book right now, so far it is really good. The author is one of my favorites, (she wrote Because of Winn Dixie which if you have not read you must read it) A girl encounters the lose of her father and she meats two strange and some times scary girls. however she overcomes it and learns several things in the end.
    • auntieb
      auntiebWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 3:23 pm55 stars
      I re-read this book a couple of weeks ago, and after re-reading it it is just as good as the first time I read it, and the first time I read it it became one of my favorite books (and I have read LOTS) This book is about Raymie Clarke, who must win The Little Miss Central Florida Tire contest. Why? Because her father ran away with a dental hygenist and Raymie has a plan to get him back. Raymie's plan is to win The Little Miss Central Florida Tire Contest and be in the newspaper and then her father will see her and be so proud and come back for her. But Raymie's plan has a minor hiccup when she discovers that the two girls she is taking baton twirling lessons with also have plans for the contest, Lousiana intends to win while Beverly intends to sabotage the contest so Raymie must re-adjust and determine what's more important, for her to win and get her father back- or for somebody else to win and get their cat back?
      • zzayumi
        zzayumiThursday, May 23, 2019 at 5:14 pm55 stars
        This book is really good. It is about a girl named Raymie, and she wants to learn baton twirling because her father ran away from home with a dental hygienist. She wants her father back, so she decided to attend a contest of baton twirling to get her father back. Will Raymie ever get her father back home?
        • auntieb
          auntiebMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:20 am55 stars
          Two- two days ago Raymie's father left - for a dental hygienist. But it's okay, Raymie has a plan. Raymie's plan is to win The Little Miss Central Florida Tire Contest. And in order to do so she must learn to twirl a baton. Raymie starts taking lessons with two other girls - Lousiana Elephante and Beverly Tapinski. Both of whom also have plans for The Little Miss Central Florida Tire Contest. Louisana must win to save her cat Archie, whom she has betrayed. Beverly wants to sabotage the contest. And Raymie? All Raymie wants is for her father to come home. As the three girls set out on a journey of sabotage, cats, and friendship the three rancheros learn that friendship can get you through anything! I just finished reading this book a second time and it was just as enjoyable as the first time I read it! This is one of my favorite books and I am excited to say that the author has made this book into part of a series! Each of the books in the series being about a different ranchero! (This book being the first).
          • stellaluna
            stellalunaWednesday, January 23, 2019 at 12:30 pmFeatured
            This book I read a couple months ago. I read that book another couple months ago. I read it again and again because it was so truly magical. I got the same amount of charm every time. It was full of several emotions. You wanted to cry at times. You got an excitement that could make you scared. You could relate to all characters and fall into the book. It was a truly heartwarming read (most likely reads) and I hope you will learn to love it as much as I do. This is my favorite book and I am quite a reader. Thank you Kate DiCamillo for this life changing book that makes you look at this things a different way, and sculpts a life inside of pages of paper. Just thank you Kate, just thank you.
            • pumpkin40107
              pumpkin40107Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 5:49 pm55 stars
              I love this book and I read the whole thing.my cusion give this book to me and it was the best.kate dicomillo is my favorite author and she is now making a book about raymies friend.
              • auntieb
                auntiebSunday, August 26, 2018 at 1:58 pm55 stars
                Raymie Nightingale I read this book last summer and it has been one of my favorite books, and I have read quite a few books! This is such a heart warming story I would recommend it to everyone!
                • art3mis
                  art3misThursday, June 28, 2018 at 6:33 pm55 stars
                  A unlikely friendship, and a beautiful story. Enjoy heartfelt stories with a touch of sadness? Meet Raymie Clarke and enjoy the beginning of a special friendship as she deals with her dad who's abandoned her and goes on crazy adventures to try to get him back. These crazy adventures will sure to put a smile, frown, or laugh on your face. 5 Stars :)
                  • snowybooks
                    snowybooksMonday, November 6, 2017 at 8:43 pm44 stars
                    This book is good for readers who love advanced books about family and friends. In this story, friendships are built, which you see from Raymie's point of view as she goes on adventures with Louisiana and Beverly.
                    • hollowitz
                      hollowitzFriday, May 12, 2017 at 8:55 am
                      I got the book can't wait to read it.