P.S. Be Eleven (Ala Notable Children's Books. Middle Readers)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.653593

In this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel and sequel to the New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, the Gaither sisters return to Brooklyn and find that changes large and small have come to their home. This extraordinary novel earned five starred reviews, with Publishers Weekly calling it "historical fiction that's as full of heart as it is of heartbreak" and The Horn Book considering it "funny, wise, poignant, and thought-provoking."

After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. The sisters aren't the only ones who have changed. Now Pa has a girlfriend. Uncle Darnell returns from Vietnam a different man. But Big Ma still expects Delphine to keep her sisters in line. That's much harder now that Vonetta and Fern refuse to be bossed around. Besides her sisters, Delphine's got plenty of other things to worry about—like starting sixth grade, being the tallest girl in her class, and dreading the upcoming school dance. The one person she confides in is her mother, Cecile. Through letters, Delphine pours her heart out and receives some constant advice: to be eleven while she can.

This extraordinary novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Paperback, 304 pages
Published on January 27, 2015 by Amistad
ISBN-10: 0061938645
ISBN-13: 9780061938641
25 Book Reviews
  • gold3nglare
    gold3nglareTuesday, November 10, 2020 at 7:58 am44 stars
    The next book in the Gaither Sisters series. The sisters return to Brooklyn with a newfound sense of independence. big Ma is not happy about this. The girls learn that their father has found a new girlfriend, and they got married! Delphine is not happy. Also, the girls are getting reading to head back to school here Delphine learns that the woman who was supposed to be her teacher, Ms. Honeywell, had been replaced with a transfer teacher from Africa. And he is strict. Can she survive 6th grade? But that's not the only problem she faces. There is boy and friend drama, and there's something off about Uncle Darnel...
    • lilabug
      lilabugWednesday, September 2, 2020 at 10:23 am55 stars
      I love it!
      • spiritstalker43
        spiritstalker43Friday, May 24, 2019 at 12:01 pm55 stars
        This book is very good. They don't get to get to jackson five.
        • TehyaFriday, May 24, 2019 at 11:47 am
          I loved this book!! I would totally recommend it to a student or adult it is an awesome book.
          • candyexpress
            candyexpressSaturday, April 4, 2015 at 3:33 pm55 stars
            This was super great! SPOILER ALERT: It's somewhat sad that Uncle Darnell (Delphine's uncle) was on drugs.
            • yaya35223
              yaya35223Sunday, January 4, 2015 at 5:13 pm55 stars
              I loved this book. I didn't want to put this book down! I loved the three sisters in this book. The writer really made them come alive! I would definitely recommend this book.
              • cupcakeSunday, January 4, 2015 at 4:29 pm
                I already read the book this is a really good book and in 6 grade is good but I really hope they don't have a dance
                • yellowcake
                  yellowcakeTuesday, September 30, 2014 at 4:59 am44 stars
                  Is being in 6th grade good, or not so good. Fun, or not so fun or is it both. find it out in this book.
                  • asma234
                    asma234Monday, September 29, 2014 at 4:43 pm55 stars
                    I haven't read this book yet,but I'm looking forward to it.I got it for one of my summer reading prizes,and I read the first book before this.The first book was in the setting of when the black panthers where around which was the time of racism i believe.It was a interesting factual book that I enjoyed very much.So I can't wait to read this one.
                    • doglover2079
                      doglover2079Monday, September 8, 2014 at 5:48 pm55 stars
                      It is is really great and I hope that The author will make another book related to it