The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.787223

Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. No matter how hard he tries, he can't seem to stay out of trouble. But can he really be expected to stand by and watch while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself against his pre-algebra teacher when she turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Of course, no one believes Percy about the monster incident; he's not even sure he believes himself. Until the Minotaur chases him to summer camp. Suddenly, mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. The gods of Mount Olympus, he's coming to realize, are very much alive in the twenty-first century. And worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Now Percy has just ten days to find and return Zeus's stolen property, and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. On a daring road trip from their summer camp in New York to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, Percy and his friends -- one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena -- will face a host of enemies determined to stop them. To succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of failure and betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

Paperback, 416 pages
Published on March 21, 2006 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 9780786838653
1364 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • books_forever1
    books_forever1Tuesday, September 17, 2019 at 6:25 am55 stars
    I Love this book me and my class are reading it and other students think it is boring but i LOVE this book.
    • iamfanofbears
      iamfanofbearsSunday, September 15, 2019 at 10:49 am55 stars
      This is a really fun book. Everybody should read it.
      • dory2003
        dory2003Friday, September 13, 2019 at 4:54 pm
        I like the book its going to be a great book
        • straitk2
          straitk2Monday, September 9, 2019 at 5:58 am55 stars
          great book. its so awesome. it has treachery, courage, determination, and all out craziness. it has my like! i recommend this book.
          • thatpersonMonday, September 2, 2019 at 6:33 pm
            #HAVETOREADITOVERANDOVER!!! This was the best book ever!! Amazing for Harry Potter Lovers!! I just found it in the library at school and I FELL IN LOVE!! I read it OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER (100 more over and overs) AGAIN!! (just being dramatic btw did not actually read it that many times,) AMAZING BOOK!
            • 13iamgroot
              13iamgrootSaturday, August 24, 2019 at 1:48 pm55 stars
              This is an awesome book for fans of Harry Potter, I loved it so much and I couldn't put it down. In this fast-paced novel weird things keep happening to the main character, Percy Jackson , that he can't explain. His best friend Grover and his mom seem to know something he doesn't, so when a monster starts chasing them, Percy can't say that he is surprised. He finds himself at a very unusual summer camp for half-bloods, or demigods. Percy still doesn't know who his long lost father is, but an unusual game of capture the flag will reveal the truth. The chapter titles are hilarious, as well as the whole book. I can't wait to read the rest of the series, and all of the companion series also. I definitely want this book in my collection .
              • cue
                cueWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 1:43 pm
                Hands down, better than harry potter. I mean it was awesome! I love that this book makes the old stuff from myths fun and easier to get now a days. It really made me want to read the old stuff for once. I totally liked this book a lot.
                • habs4lif
                  habs4lifTuesday, July 30, 2019 at 1:56 pm55 stars
                  Best book ever
                  • sylvie55555
                    sylvie55555Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 8:33 am55 stars
                    Alex and Conner Bailey have always loved fairy tales, but when they mysteriously travel into the fairy tale world through a portal in a storybook, they are not sure what to think. They decide to try to find the objects needed to create the wishing spell, a spell that will grant you any one wish, and wish to go back to their home. However the spell can be created only once more, and another creature, desperately in need of the spell, is hunting for ot to. Will Alex and Conner be able to create the wishing spell and return home? Read this book to find out!
                    • xeta
                      xetaMonday, July 8, 2019 at 2:49 pm55 stars
                      This book was wonderfully and hilariously told. The characters were wacky, whimsical, humorous and unforgettable. I was introduced to classic mythology through this series and I've learned so much from it. I've read the first book more times than I can remember. And I find myself laughing every single time. ;) ~Xeta <3

                      Summer Reading 2019 has ended!

                      May 14 - August 18, 2019
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2019 Stats

                      Books read:3952
                      Books reviewed:1906
                      Schools participating:117

                      Top Summer Readers

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      ajg16
                      ajg16
                      ccswishingstar
                      ccswishingstar
                      spacepenguin
                      spacepenguin
                      kgautam
                      kgautam
                      adino123
                      adino123
                      sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555
                      applemango
                      applemango
                      zzayumi
                      zzayumi