Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.68270
Raina Telgemeier's #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir based on her childhood!

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
3291 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • llllllllFriday, September 20, 2019 at 1:18 pm
    I love that book it's amazing and i got all questions right on all the quizzes after period of time
    • bella89893
      bella89893Friday, September 20, 2019 at 8:36 am55 stars
      its a awesome book comic to i recomend :)
      • tonyhawk3124
        tonyhawk3124Wednesday, September 18, 2019 at 7:55 am55 stars
        I would like to recommend it for 6-8 graders.
        • heyFriday, September 13, 2019 at 7:59 am
          this book is amazing
          • sports_star
            sports_starSaturday, August 31, 2019 at 6:27 pm55 stars
            Smile is one of the best comic books I have ever read. I might even go as far as to say it's the best comic book I've ever read (except for maybe Sisters, which is by the same author) Raina is in 6th grade when she falls, and damages her front teeth. The book is about her dealing with her teeth, friend drama, crushes, and more. I also think it's really cool that it's a true story. I highly recommend this book.
            • Alanna Wednesday, August 28, 2019 at 9:22 am
              Thisnook is the best you might want to read. It is about a girl and she gets in alot of drama .
              • annagirl26
                annagirl26Saturday, August 17, 2019 at 5:44 pm55 stars
                I Just love this book! I read it all the time. it's about Raina . and when raina comes home from girl scout's one night her whole life changes from one fall . and after that day she spends half of her life in the orthodontist chair.
                • stellaluna
                  stellalunaFriday, August 16, 2019 at 7:51 pm55 stars
                  Raina is just trying to live a normal life, but she had already started with friend issues, but then the teeth. One night, after a girl scout meeting with her "friends", she raced home with this one girl. One little misplace in your foots position lead to a nightmare. Braces, headgear, a lot of stuff that ends with dontist and more. This creates a lively true story with fun pictures, and a great book 10 and up. I highly recommend this book to others, since I have read it countless times. Great book, and over five stars.
                  • SashleyYTWednesday, August 14, 2019 at 8:24 am
                    i'm im 5th grade and i love these books! <3
                    • shayshaygirl25
                      shayshaygirl25Sunday, August 11, 2019 at 4:16 am55 stars
                      I own the collectors edition and read it almost every night! this is an amazing book. when raina is in middle school, she goes through lots of drama. dental drama (from loseing her front teeth at the begining), friend drama( mean friends) , a bit of crush drama ( tiny tot 6th grader!!!), and more that you can find out by reading it!!!!

                      Summer Reading 2019 has ended!

                      May 14 - August 18, 2019
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2019 Stats

                      Books read:3952
                      Books reviewed:1906
                      Schools participating:117

                      Top Summer Readers

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      ajg16
                      ajg16
                      ccswishingstar
                      ccswishingstar
                      spacepenguin
                      spacepenguin
                      kgautam
                      kgautam
                      adino123
                      adino123
                      sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555
                      applemango
                      applemango
                      zzayumi
                      zzayumi