Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5T2.45068
Raina Telgemeier’s #1 New York Times bestselling, Eisner Award-winning companion to Smile!

Raina can't wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren't quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she's also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn't improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn't seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They are sisters, after all.

Raina uses her signature humor and charm in both present-day narrative and perfectly placed flashbacks to tell the story of her relationship with her sister, which unfolds during the course of a road trip from their home in San Francisco to a family reunion in Colorado.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545540593
ISBN-13: 9780545540599
1182 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tonyhawk3124
    tonyhawk3124Wednesday, September 18, 2019 at 7:54 am55 stars
    I would like to read it because I have never read this book before.
    • cheese1
      cheese1Sunday, September 8, 2019 at 12:07 pm
      I like this book
      • pizzagirl1
        pizzagirl1Sunday, September 1, 2019 at 8:37 am55 stars
        I liked it when they made up
        • sports_star
          sports_starSaturday, August 31, 2019 at 6:29 pm55 stars
          This is the best comic book I have ever read! It's relatable and funny. I've read it many times. When Raina is little, she wants a little sister, and later, she finally gets one! But having a sister is like what she thought it would be like. Her sister doesn't want to play with her, likes to be alone, and - cries a lot. When Raina, her mom, her sister, and their baby brother go on a long roadtrip, chaos ensues!
          • lillybug395Friday, August 23, 2019 at 11:54 am
            this book i read this book for the first time in 2nd grade and i loved it then and so my mother decided to by it for me and i still love it and now i am in 6th grade
            • princessroyal03Thursday, August 22, 2019 at 10:05 am
              this book is so good like i own all the book but eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!! five star #team sisters
              • moongirl1579
                moongirl1579Monday, August 12, 2019 at 12:38 pm55 stars
                This is a GREAT book. It shows how hard it is to get along with you siblings! This is a MUST read! 5 stars!
                • shayshaygirl25
                  shayshaygirl25Saturday, August 3, 2019 at 2:22 pm55 stars
                  this is so funny!!!! they go on a long car trip and get in lots of fights!!!
                  • cupcakeq
                    cupcakeqWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 10:05 pm44 stars
                    I loved this book! Graphic Novels are great but Raina Telgemeier's are wonderful! This book showed me that I'm not the only one who can't get along with my siblings!
                    • Bmw lover. BenMonday, July 22, 2019 at 1:00 am
                      I think it is an amazing book but it's just not big enough for me.

                      Summer Reading 2019 has ended!

                      May 14 - August 18, 2019
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2019 Stats

                      Books read:3952
                      Books reviewed:1906
                      Schools participating:117

                      Top Summer Readers

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      ajg16
                      ajg16
                      ccswishingstar
                      ccswishingstar
                      spacepenguin
                      spacepenguin
                      kgautam
                      kgautam
                      adino123
                      adino123
                      sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555
                      applemango
                      applemango
                      zzayumi
                      zzayumi