Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on August 8, 2017 by Amulet Books
ISBN-10: 1419729454
ISBN-13: 9781419729454
905 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • battyboo
    battybooSunday, September 1, 2019 at 12:51 pm22 stars
    If you like funny books..........then this is th book for you! I have not read all of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books yet!
    • rw5
      rw5Wednesday, August 21, 2019 at 8:47 am
      because it is the last one I need to read even though I am not reading them in order but when I am don reading this book I will read them in order and then I will know everything about the books an I want to get done with the books before I watch all of the movies before my siblings do and they are my favorite books ever.
      • GregboyTuesday, August 20, 2019 at 11:25 am
        It is a nice Story
        • jaden07
          jaden07Sunday, August 11, 2019 at 8:28 pm11 star
          Honestly this doesn’t even deserve a star, This is a terrible book. It’s so easy to read and yet it’s so popular. It leads people to lower reading standards. I wouldn’t read this at all. I’d rant on and on but I’ll end it here DON’T READ THIS BOOK
          • cue
            cueWednesday, August 7, 2019 at 1:37 pm
            A very cool book. It made me laugh out loud. I think a lot of people can relate to the story. Everyone will enjoy this book.
            • adino123
              adino123Friday, July 26, 2019 at 6:18 am44 stars
              Diary of a Wimpy Kid is super, super funny. I love relating to the characters. I especially like the older brother Rodrick. He is always playing tricks.
              • keaperSunday, July 21, 2019 at 9:50 pm
                its ok not to bad
                • eledoggy
                  eledoggySaturday, July 6, 2019 at 10:57 am33 stars
                  Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a funny book about a boy named Greg and his family. His mom, his dad, his older brother Rodrick and his younger brother Manny. Greg is afraid of going to middle school because he thinks middle school is a place for weirdos. At school, Greg meets a boy named Rowley, who is soon Greg's friend. Greg's older brother Rodrick, is in a band called "The Loded Diper" (yes, it is spelled like that) causes trouble in the family.
                  • Raven paw Tuesday, June 25, 2019 at 4:42 pm
                    Great funny I have all the books I love them I read them sense grade 1 and they say it’s for grade 5 really? Anywoo great book you can read them really fast I read a book in about 20mins recommend for people who read fast and want to get to the end of the series and catchy up fast (unlike warriors Cat but I love them more then wimpy kid ) recommend
                    • 3bears
                      3bearsTuesday, June 25, 2019 at 2:48 pm44 stars
                      Of course, this is NOT a DIARY. It is simply a JOURNAL. Plus, Greg is only keeping a JOURNAL because he knows FOR SURE that he WILL be famous one day, and when reporters ask him how his childhood was like, he will need the JOURNAL to recall.

                      Summer Reading 2019 has ended!

                      May 14 - August 18, 2019
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2019 Stats

                      Books read:3952
                      Books reviewed:1906
                      Schools participating:117

                      Top Summer Readers

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      inmemoryofcpr
                      ajg16
                      ajg16
                      ccswishingstar
                      ccswishingstar
                      spacepenguin
                      spacepenguin
                      kgautam
                      kgautam
                      adino123
                      adino123
                      sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555
                      applemango
                      applemango
                      zzayumi
                      zzayumi