The Boxcar Children (The Boxcar Children Mysteries)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 2 - 5Grades 1 - 5O3.917087

Orphaned and alone but determined to stay together, Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden set off on their own and turned an abandoned boxcar into their home. The Boxcar Children, published over sixty-five years ago in 1942, has captured the imaginations of generations of readers. This Collector's Edition features the original artwork plus additional information about Gertrude Chandler Warner's life and work as it appeared in the 60th Anniversary Edition.

Paperback, 154 pages
Published on June 1, 1989 by Albert Whitman & Company
ISBN-10: 0807508527
ISBN-13: 9780807508527
153 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • belle10
    belle10Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 12:22 pm55 stars
    I LOVED IT READ IT 17 TIMES!!!!!πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ˜„πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜πŸ˜†πŸ˜πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‹πŸ˜˜
    • Sofia LongThursday, February 13, 2020 at 1:05 pm
      Sharkboy and Lavagirl
      • ghost_dk_diemx
        ghost_dk_diemxFriday, December 20, 2019 at 6:28 pm55 stars
        (Review for Toono) So I saw one of my followers had wrote a review on the boxcar children and series and I started reading this series a few years ago. I am really enjoying and my followed is right it is a good series and there's so many. She said "You will never run out" which is absolutely true. Although some of the parts can be sad and a lot exciting I just think it's a good series for any ages and I think all the big mystery ones are my favorite. Thanks for writing that review toono and the idea. Read on!
        • toono
          toonoWednesday, December 18, 2019 at 8:31 pm55 stars
          I could never find a good book until I found these I totally recommend the whole series. there are about 200 of them so you will never run out. you can find them at almost all libraries. hope this helped!
          • lmhewlett
            lmhewlettFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:52 am55 stars
            This book is about Henry, Violet, Benny, and Jessie - they are orphans. These kids are working in the bakery, but they are forced to find somewhere else to go. They find a boxcar to live in and they learn to take care of themselves. This book is awesome because it’s surprising and full of excitement. It keeps you wanting more.
            • herinixikakezu
              herinixikakezuThursday, December 20, 2018 at 7:41 am55 stars
              The Boxcar Children By Gertrud Chandler Werner Four children walked by a bakery. They were on an adventure and a few mystery along the way. If you’re an orphan, you might like this book because you can relate to it. They have a Grandfather but they think he is mean. They have lots of fun in there new home. [ I won't tell were or wot they live in] They are very independent in the next book they sleep on an island all by them self. I’ll bet you'll love this book.
              • dragonk1ll3r
                dragonk1ll3rFriday, October 26, 2018 at 10:14 am55 stars
                like best book EVER : )
                • readytoread
                  readytoreadThursday, August 30, 2018 at 4:41 pm55 stars
                  The book the Boxcar Children is about 4 siblings- Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny. They are orphans who one day find a boxcar in the woods. They make it there home. Along the road, they find a dog, a job, and most importantly- a happy ending! This is a great classic full of family love and caring children.
                  • fossilfury
                    fossilfuryWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                    This is a great book! I loved it. It adds the perfect amount of action, suspense, and excitement. The boxcar children is a big hit for readers. This book leaves the reader satisfied
                    • cobrazeus10
                      cobrazeus10Monday, August 27, 2018 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                      I love how the Boxcar Children doesn't start out as a mystery series. The characters are very relatable. It definitely is a must read for anyone. The only problem I have with the series, is that there are so many, that its impossible to read them all.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3809
                      Books reviewed:1775
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:93

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      applemango
                      belle252
                      belle252
                      jwarne
                      jwarne
                      eybook2018
                      eybook2018
                      lumos
                      lumos
                      auntieb
                      auntieb
                      jso6
                      jso6
                      spykitten
                      spykitten
                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb