Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 14, 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375969020
ISBN-13: 9780375869020
3698 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sylvie55555
    sylvie55555Monday, July 15, 2019 at 6:29 am44 stars
    This is a wonderful book, read it to follow Auggie as he copes to deal with his birth defect when finally attending school for the first time. I love this book and highly recommend it.
    • selife
      selifeSunday, July 14, 2019 at 1:48 pm55 stars
      😢 beautiful! I love this book because I proves that anything is possible even if you are different! I hope all ages will read this beautiful book about a boy named August who has a face difference and starts Middle school. He faces billy's and hard times but always gets back up! Auggie is my hero! This was Selife age 11!
      • skylar_slay_34
        skylar_slay_34Saturday, July 13, 2019 at 2:26 pm55 stars
        The book has a meaning to not judge what's in front of you but whats Important to you , i just love this book
        • rina123aaa
          rina123aaaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 10:44 am55 stars
          This book is great! I recommend it because it shows what some people have to go through. It shows that you should respect differences and treat everyone equally. It may be hard to make friends if you have a disability or something like that.
          • kgautam
            kgautamThursday, July 11, 2019 at 9:38 am44 stars
            very sweet book. i read this one after many many years and it reminded me of my younger days haha . i really liked how the friends were supportive of the main character.
            • dolbit07
              dolbit07Friday, July 5, 2019 at 12:25 pm55 stars
              this book is about a boy how was born different and has been home schooled till middle school. entering middle school was a different experience for auggie pullman. But he made friends with jack and summer.
              • abrawishingstar
                abrawishingstarThursday, July 4, 2019 at 11:58 pm33 stars
                I love this bokkkkkkk
                • eledoggy
                  eledoggyThursday, July 4, 2019 at 7:05 pm33 stars
                  Wonder is an inspiring story about a boy named August Pullman ("Auggie" for short) was born with a facial condition leaving deformation on his face causing him to be homeschooled for the whole fourth grade. He started going to school when he was in fifth grade. He gets bullied by countless people on his first day but, the main bully is named Julien Albans. This is an amazing book I totally recommend it. (WARNING, you will cry buckets)
                  • hedgeguin2
                    hedgeguin2Thursday, July 4, 2019 at 4:48 pm55 stars
                    This book is awesome! Probably most of you guys have read it already, but if you haven’t, you definitely should! It is about a boy named August, who was born with a facial problem. He just started public school. At first, people stare and point, but Julian, might be the word of them all. He teases August a lot. But, August learns to be brave and stand up for each other, which might be the most important thing of all.
                    • ksm813Thursday, July 4, 2019 at 2:48 pm
                      This book is my favorite book of all time! It is such a sweet book and I love how you don't see it from just Auggie's point of view, but from his sister's and friends. Everyone should read this!

                      Summer Reading 2017 has ended!

                      May 26 - September 15, 2017
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2017 Stats

                      Books read:3509
                      Books reviewed:1148
                      Schools participating:113

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      annette
                      annette
                      georgiasilver
                      georgiasilver
                      callie_b
                      callie_b
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonder
                      swirlycool
                      swirlycool
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      belle252
                      belle252