Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.397881
Featured on Entertainment Weekly's MUST-LIST!

The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu's New York Times bestseller, LEGEND—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!


June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on January 29, 2013 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399256768
ISBN-13: 9780399256769
24 Book Reviews
  • buru_kishi
    buru_kishiabout 8 years
    Great story AMAZING JUNE AND DAY ARE boss all hail the republic. I SWEAR ITS A GOOD BOOK TO READ IF YOU ARE BORED
    • sweetpicks
      sweetpicksover 8 years55 stars
      oh my gosh when I read the ending I was all like CLIFFHANGER !!!!! then I read the third book and was dissapointed
      • goldeneagle
        goldeneagleover 8 years55 stars
        really good!
        • scarlettrose
          scarlettrosealmost 9 years55 stars
          kaede was one of the most amazing characters I've ever read about. I wish the whole book was about her. *SPOILERS* rest in peace.
        • sushilover55
          sushilover55about 9 years
          Getting it son can't wait
          • mulan
            mulanabout 9 years55 stars
            This is one of the best book i have ever read!
            • dxterminater
              dxterminaterover 9 years55 stars
              This is better than the first one. Can't wait till the third one: Champion.
              • akaneoncityligh
                akaneoncitylighover 9 years55 stars
                Loved it! It is the epic sequel to Legend. This book is a continuation of what happens to June and Day. Also, Tess changes into more of a mean character.
                • edmodo-gyjnbf6nmq
                  edmodo-gyjnbf6nmqover 9 years
                  i read the first one and thought it was cool so i saw the next one and got it
                  • imdabomb
                    imdabombalmost 10 years55 starsFeatured
                    This was a great book! So after Day and June manage to escape the Capitol, the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. June and Day then team up with the Patriots and their suspicious leader. For joining, the Patriots fix Day's leg and promise to help him locate his brother Eden, and in return are forced to kill the new Elector: Anden. So while Day is looking for his younger brother Eden, June is sent to the Capitol to spy on Anden.