Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.397881
Featured on Entertainment Weekly's MUST-LIST!

The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu's New York Times bestseller, LEGEND—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!


June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on January 29, 2013 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399256768
ISBN-13: 9780399256769
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sweetpicks
    sweetpicksTuesday, September 9, 2014 at 5:11 pm55 stars
    oh my gosh when I read the ending I was all like CLIFFHANGER !!!!! then I read the third book and was dissapointed
    • goldeneagle
      goldeneagleFriday, May 9, 2014 at 1:45 pm55 stars
      really good!
      • scarlettrose
        scarlettroseSunday, March 30, 2014 at 1:34 pm55 stars
        kaede was one of the most amazing characters I've ever read about. I wish the whole book was about her. *SPOILERS* rest in peace.
        • spinnypeeps
          spinnypeepsSaturday, December 5, 2015 at 5:54 pm
          So true *three finger salute*
        • sushilover55
          sushilover55Wednesday, December 25, 2013 at 7:14 pm
          Getting it son can't wait
          • mulan
            mulanSaturday, November 9, 2013 at 11:18 am55 stars
            This is one of the best book i have ever read!
            • dxterminater
              dxterminaterTuesday, September 17, 2013 at 1:59 pm55 stars
              This is better than the first one. Can't wait till the third one: Champion.
              • akaneoncityligh
                akaneoncitylighMonday, July 1, 2013 at 10:07 am55 stars
                Loved it! It is the epic sequel to Legend. This book is a continuation of what happens to June and Day. Also, Tess changes into more of a mean character.
                • edmodo-gyjnbf6nmq
                  edmodo-gyjnbf6nmqThursday, May 23, 2013 at 1:56 pm
                  i read the first one and thought it was cool so i saw the next one and got it
                  • imdabomb
                    imdabombThursday, May 2, 2013 at 2:48 pm55 starsFeatured
                    This was a great book! So after Day and June manage to escape the Capitol, the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. June and Day then team up with the Patriots and their suspicious leader. For joining, the Patriots fix Day's leg and promise to help him locate his brother Eden, and in return are forced to kill the new Elector: Anden. So while Day is looking for his younger brother Eden, June is sent to the Capitol to spy on Anden.
                    • abercrombiegurl
                      abercrombiegurlWednesday, May 1, 2013 at 3:52 pm55 stars
                      The ending to this book is really sad...Day and June break up. Also, Day is dying....No!!!! :)