Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.945937
10 concentration camps.

10 different places where you are starved, tortured, and worked mercilessly.

It's something no one could imagine surviving.

But it is what Yanek Gruener has to face.

As a Jewish boy in 1930s Poland, Yanek is at the mercy of the Nazis who have taken over. Everything he has, and everyone he loves, have been snatched brutally from him. And then Yanek himself is taken prisoner -- his arm tattooed with the words PRISONER B-3087.

He is forced from one nightmarish concentration camp to another, as World War II rages all around him. He encounters evil he could have never imagined, but also sees surprising glimpses of hope amid the horror. He just barely escapes death, only to confront it again seconds later.

Can Yanek make it through the terror without losing his hope, his will -- and, most of all, his sense of who he really is inside?


Based on an astonishing true story.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on March 1, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 054545901X
ISBN-13: 9780545459013
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • willow123goma
    willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 9:29 am
    I was amazed that the character in this book suffered through so much hatred and terror but was determined to survive. I hope that our world will never go through anything like this again. I loved this book. It really touched my heart.
    • russellolchawa
      russellolchawaWednesday, March 11, 2020 at 9:14 am55 stars
      As a Jewish boy in 1930s Poland, Yanek is at the mercy of the Nazis who have taken over. Everything he has, and everyone he loves, have been snatched brutally from him. I made a connection to this book by having a hard time in life. I gave this book 5 stars because how amazing it was its hook was good and I kept wanting to read it.
      • emersondoughnut
        emersondoughnutMonday, November 11, 2019 at 6:55 am55 stars
        This book is really good book and tells what could of happened back then. This made me so upset that this had actually happened. This book I thought i wouldn't read ever, but now historical fiction is my thing. I would recommend to read this if you like to know what happens in history or what could happen.
        • megnog
          megnogThursday, October 17, 2019 at 2:01 pm55 stars
          This is a historical fiction book and is, by far, amazing. It truly reeled me in and had me attached to its story and I liked the wording. I was astonished to find out that the story of Yanek Gruener was true and it also made me quite upset to know that something so terrible actually happened to someone that was innocent. I think it is amazing how Yanek still had hope amid the horror and made it out alive. Prisoner B-3087 is a book I never thought I would like for I usually don’t read in the historical fiction genre but this is one of very few books that were said genre and it is , by far, my favorite.
          • cmansell
            cmansellThursday, October 10, 2019 at 11:39 am44 stars
            I like this book. I'm in sixth grade and I think this book only for mature people.
            • Anonymous Sunday, July 21, 2019 at 10:03 am
              This book is full of emotion you can almost feel what the charecter is going through. You fell like your there you understand everything as almost it is in front of you. I couldnt put the book down till I was finsished it was a superb read loved it!!
              • AustinThursday, May 2, 2019 at 12:24 pm
                this book was a book was the first book that I wanted to keep reading and pick it back up again. It really puts the Holocaust into perspective for me. When o read this book I feel bad because I am sitting in a cozy bed with food and a family, and now knowing that all of these poor people didn't have any of that.
                • dwightschrute
                  dwightschruteMonday, November 5, 2018 at 2:05 pm55 stars
                  This book is amazing it puts the holocaust into perspective and gives you a new appreciation for everything you have by seeing what happens to Jack when it is stripped away. This is not only a book that I think you should read, but one that you need to read.
                  • SageWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 4:27 pm
                    This was an amazing book. It really helped me understand and get a little bit of how he felt in these concentration camps.
                    • Mr.RickyWednesday, April 11, 2018 at 8:52 am
                      BEST BOOK AROUND TOWN BOYS!!!!!!!!!!!!